Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sexy,dark,funny and brilliant!
This is a must see show! Although not a massive amount of action takes place in series one its still must see as its a kind of "set the scene" and establish a few of the important characters ready for an out and out action packed series 2 which is about to End on Sky One.
These characters are: Cassie, shy quiet and reserved untill the death of her best friend and the...
Published on 13 Dec. 2005 by Beefer28

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I have mixed feellings about this show
first of all what do I think works about this show, well all the charaters are pretty good, espeically Thelma who has to be one of the most interesting and indeph charaters that has graced cult tv in a long time and its great that the show has got a gay main charater in it right from the start, that being said about the charaters, I like Cassie a lot, but I really wish...
Published on 22 Feb. 2006 by sam


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sexy,dark,funny and brilliant!, 13 Dec. 2005
By 
Beefer28 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hex: Season 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a must see show! Although not a massive amount of action takes place in series one its still must see as its a kind of "set the scene" and establish a few of the important characters ready for an out and out action packed series 2 which is about to End on Sky One.
These characters are: Cassie, shy quiet and reserved untill the death of her best friend and the release of a Fallen Angel who sets out to corrupt and inpregnate her as she turns out to be a witch that desends a long line of them!
Thelma: Cassies lesbien best friend who is used as a sacrifice and then returns as a ghost as one of the best chracters of the show..seriously!
Troy: Cassies love interest...very boring undeveloped character who doesnt return in season 2.
Roxanne: The sly, sexy viper bitch with a great dress sense and a icy cool attitiude has it in for cassie after she discovers her affair with the art teacher...watch out cassie!
Gemma: Roxannes equally bitchy but airheaded best friend...i liked Gemma and wished she had more development.
David Tyrall and Jo Watkins: the main teachers of the boardin school...both a bit under-used, but this eventually changes
Leon: Undersused class joker and best friend of Troy, this very much changes in season 2..one of the best charcters along with Roxanne and Thelma!
Azazeal: the deadly fallen angel who needs cassie to have his baby so that all of his 200 Nephelim (Demonic fallen angels) can walk the earth again.
Does he succeed? Watch and find out!!!!!!! Its great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars moody gothic horror at its best, 21 Jun. 2006
By 
This review is from: Hex: Season 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I liked this series a lot. I loved the plot and the amazing camera work that set a fairly scary mood. There were scenes that were downright spooky. This series worked for a few reasons: (1) interesting characters played by good actors all around; (2) even though the plot was fantastic (fallen angels and witches), they set up a mythology that made it all work; and (3) great dialogue. Firstly, the main characters of Cassie with her demure shyness and Thelma with her brass (fill-in-the-blank) are a perfect pair. Azazeal is the requisite brooding dark male with loads of sex appeal. These three have some of the best dialogues I've heard in a while. The supporting cast is really good too. Leon (resident jerk), Troy (greek god on campus) and the Headmaster are stellar. Secondly, the whole mythology was well crafted and they stayed true throughout. I only had a problem with possession as in one case it was painful (random guy in bar who flirts w/Cassie) and in the other was so peaceful it happened while asleep (Troy). This minor irritation did not detract from the overall experience. Lastly, the dialogue contained within these six episodes are almost Whedon-like (as in Joss Whedon, script writer extradinare) in their beauty. Others have provided great lines that never get tired. As for extras, this set contains deleted scenes (very interesting), commentary by director Brian Grant for the 1st & 2nd episodes and a behind the scenes look. I highly recommend this series. It is very entertaining and stands up well under repeated viewings. I cannot wait for the second season although the creepy ending leaves me with some dread over how the series will progress......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God they made a season two!, 28 Oct. 2012
By 
Callistoangel (Republic of Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hex: Season 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
English television series are so much grittier than US ones. The series is set in a private boarding school where the students head out to clubs at night, drink beer in the local pub and enjoy casual chats with teachers who treat them like equals rather than students. Far-fetched? Maybe, but who cares? The story kicks off with Cassie, the quiet girl who really longs to be in with the popular crowd, finding a strange vase on which she pricks her finger. Cleaning it up, she brings it back to her room where subsequent attempts to handle it result in her seeing flashes of nightmarish past events. Soon she is being stalked by a tall, dark stranger (Fassbender) while she secretly - and not so secretly - moons over the hot boy in school, Troy. Meanwhile her best friend and roommate, Thelma, is hopelessly in love with her.

Suffice to say that having a fallen angel stalking you is not going to lead to a quiet life... Death, telekinesis, pregnancy, ghosts and madness all rear their heads to make Cassie's life just that little bit more exciting than she ever wanted it to be.

Any series with Michael Fassbender as a fallen angel is going to have be worth a look. In this case, the series just kept getting better as it went along. But a word of warning; there are only six episodes in Season 1 and you will be left wanting more.

I have Season 2 ready to go...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the only problem is..., 9 Jan. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hex: Season 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
the first season of hex is an absloute must-see for fans of good english tv with a supernatural theme. the characters are easily-relatable and realistic, despite their supernatural characteristics (we're talking ghosts, fallen angels, telekinetic powers etc here). the only problem with the season is that it is just too short! you won't want it to end for the simple reason that nothing you watch afterwards will be able to top this amazing programme. with just 6 episodes, you havent got much viewing time but the series is very watchable even the second and third times over. the only advantage to its short length is that you can easily watch it all at once! the making of any great programme is its actors, and on this note, the makers havent put a single foot wrong. every actor suits their character perfectly and as such can play them to the highest possible standards. there really arent any faults with this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars, 13 July 2010
This review is from: Hex: Season 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
must admit I only started watching this as a filler between supernatural box sets but quickly realised its a much sexier supernatural feast. apart from the very short first season only six episodes this was very enjoyable and of a much higher stander that I had expected , good story great atmospheric locations and sets yes inded stylish and sexy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars each episode of this season was great and I just wanted to get watching the next one., 23 July 2014
This review is from: Hex - Season 1 (Amazon Instant Video)
I can't believe it took me so long to find this series! I wish I had known about it when it was first broadcast!

I thought that the first season of Hex was great. The acting was good, yeah, okay you might find that it isn't high-class Hollywood budget stuff but it can definitely be appreciated as a good series if you keep that in mind.

If you like Charmed or anything supernatural like, give this a go! I found that it was fast paced- the first season did get to the point quickly in six episodes- thankfully the second is longer! I thought each episode of this season was great and I just wanted to get watching the next one.

And if that hasn't persuaded you, perhaps the promise of a rather gorgeous Mr Fassbender, doing the whole sexy, mysterious stranger act will tempt you to watch!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hex-ceptional, 7 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Hex: Season 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Okay, okay, bad pun. I reviewed this show when it first aired on Sky over a year ago and my opinion hasn't changed since. Hex is, first and foremost, a character piece. The characters of Cassie, Thelma and Azazeal are what drives the story and they aren't over-shadowed by glossy special effects. In fact, I'd say if you want an effects extravaganza, look somewhere else - what sfx are in Hex are very understated - and that adds incredibly to the impact when they are used. Azazeal's unveiling his true form is one such example.
Back to the characters, whilst Cassie and Azazeal are both fantastic and loveable (even the bad guy is likeable in this show - something I haven't seen since the Mayor in season 3 of BtVS), the true heart of the show is Thelma. She drives the story forwards at all times, even when Cassie looses her way. Her love for Cassie is the glue that binds the story together. Her passion is palpable and the acting is first rate. Thelma is a very unique - many would say bizarre - character and it would have been very easy for the wrong actress to spoil the role, but the casting here (and for all characters, especially Azazeal) is bang on and the acting always superb, especially compared to some of the dross we've been getting from across the pond (stand up "Charmed").
All in all, Hex is one of the finest pieces of genre TV ever to come out of Britain. It slipped under the radar last year, but hopefully with the triumphant return of Dr Who, it can gain a wider audience with it's second series currently airing on Sky and this much-welcomed DVD release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phew - darn hot!, 13 Dec. 2004
By 
C. Pollard "pigasussy" (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hex: Season 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
A definite must see. Such a refreshing change to take a crisp bite of drama/sci.fi/mythical TV with a British accent and British sarcasm, style, intelligence, humour and gloriously sexy gothic feel in what has up to now been a monotonous (and somewhat childish) American corner of the market. Watch and learn my friends. This first series has been far superior to any other script of a similar genre with a tight plot and plenty of action to keep any one of us happy... teens to T.O.G.'s (oops! showing a crack in my youthful shell there) and for any and many a reason. The only critisism is the fact that we have to wait a year to get our teeth into the second series. A sneak into my crystal ball shows HEX deservedly taking over the prime slot of Coronation Street. ;o) Yum yum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kind of like Buffy with a hell of a lot more sex & alcohol, 9 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Hex: Season 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
For some bizarre reason, Hex was canned halfway through season 2, leaving the viewers to imagine the outcome of the battle between good and evil at Medenham, the British boarding school where the show was set.

The short season one introduced us to Cassie, a shy teenager whose only friend at Medenham was her lesbian pal Thelma. Thelma died early on and came back as a ghost, happily haunting Cassie who soon found herself stalked by the fallen angel Azazeal, played by none other than Michael Fassbender. Yes ladies, if for no other reason than to see what Mike was up to before Hollywood beckoned, watch this show. Azazeal was a smouldering, devil-like character who sought to impregnate Cassie with his seed.

Season 2 saw the arrival of The Anointed One, Ella Dee, a tough, 500 year old warrior. She basically filled the void left by the departure of Cassie, settling into life at the extremely laid-back Medenham and befriending Thelma and her fellow student Leon. (Side note: The kids at Medenham have no problem heading out to the pub, getting pissed and having sex. Authority is very lax which makes for great entertainment for us viewers).

It's hard to review this show without leaving massive spoilers so I'll just say this. Hex was sassy, sexy, hilarious at times, somewhat violent and brave in its depiction of teen drinking, sex and drugs. It was more daring than most American shows of that time (2004/2005) aimed at the same audience. The plot wasn't amazing but at its core Hex had grace and heart, delivering a great cast of vibrant characters.

Thelma stands out above everyone else. Played by Jemima Cooper, she had the best one-liners and played her role with glee. She was witty and refreshing, a lesbian ghost in love with her best friend, who was basically betrothed to the devil. I found Cassie to be a little anaemic at times but I guess she suited the overall atmosphere of season one, which was the quieter season, the calm before the storm. The arrival of Ella changed the course of Hex from a slow moving supernatural drama to an action hero show.

Each season shone in its own way. Of the two lead characters, I preferred Ella (played by Northern Irish actress Laura Pyper); she was tougher than Cassie, both physically and emotionally, and more fun to watch. Leon' s change from silly schoolboy to a sweet and earnest young man was great to see. I have to mention the theme tune, #1 Crush by Garbage; I've never heard a theme song so suited to a show before. "I would die for you." Quite apt really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A 'Hex' of a watch?, 8 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hex: Season 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Have to say that I found this to be better than I expected. Not a brilliant show, but don't think it's a bad as what people make out.

The story centres on Cassie Hughes, played by Christina Cole, a shy college girl who finds a strange vase which leads to strange things happening, including her best friend Thelma, played by Jemima Rooper, being sacrificed to Azazeal, played by Michael Fassbender, who's the show's main antagonist.

Cassie and Thelma (now roaming around as a ghost) are left alone to fight off Azazeal and prevent evil from coming into our world. Well, that's the idea that they try to get across, but most of the time it's about Cassie trying to stop herself from jumping into bed with Azazeal. Which she fails at.

As a protagonist, Cassie is not the most interesting character. She's a beautiful young girl, and isn't totally convincing as a shy, average 'Jane Eyre' type. On the other hand, Thelma brings comic relief to the show, with Rooper often outshining Hughes, coming across as a very likable character who does her best to keep Cassie away from Azazeal. Which she also fails at.

Fassbender does a good job as the villainous and smoldering Azazeal, though doesn't do much other than seducing Cassie in order to impregnate her with his demon-child. Yes, there is a reason why he's after Cassie! He wants her to have his child, who will bring the destruction of mankind. Will Cassie get pregnant or will she be able to stop the end of the world, eliminating Azazeal's plans? This is where the series ends, setting up an intriguing cliff hanger for the second series.

Behind the camera, the crew do a good job, with witty one-liners, making you like the minor characters who seem more interesting than the main protagonist herself.

All in all, not great but watchable. If you are willing to forgive the show's flaws then 'Hex' is a fun and enjoyable series, a cult show with likable characters and good dialogue. More a guilty pleasure, definitely not the British 'Buffy'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews