Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aida in 3D
Excellent picture, very good 3D, not gimmicky, female singers good, Aida very good, male singers OK, nothing special.

3D was excellent, I do recommend buy the expensive connecting leads, I bought three the difference was amazing, I did not realize
leads could make so much difference, it is worth spending out.
Published 2 months ago by charles w slater

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars FOR 3D FANATICS ONLY
The camera direction is simply awful and so distracting that you lose interest. Anyone who has seen the numerous DVDs directed for video by Brian Large will know how it should be done. I assume moving the camera sideways, as well as panning, is to demonstrate the 3D effect. Even for 3D viewers this will become irritating. The performances are OK, although there are...
Published 3 months ago by R. Cheesman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aida in 3D, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aida 3D (Verona) [Hui Je, Marco Berti, Andrea Ulbrich, Gianfranco De Bosio] [Opus Arte: OABD7122D] [Blu-ray] [2013] [NTSC] (Blu-ray)
Excellent picture, very good 3D, not gimmicky, female singers good, Aida very good, male singers OK, nothing special.

3D was excellent, I do recommend buy the expensive connecting leads, I bought three the difference was amazing, I did not realize
leads could make so much difference, it is worth spending out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3D on an Epic Scale., 2 Jan 2014
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Aida 3D (Verona) [Hui Je, Marco Berti, Andrea Ulbrich, Gianfranco De Bosio] [Opus Arte: OABD7122D] [Blu-ray] [2013] [NTSC] (Blu-ray)
The Roman Arena at Verona, provides an endlessly fascinating backdrop in 3D, to this lavish production; which is presumably just as Verdi intended it to be. In 3D you can see how the vast cast fill this unique "stage", with people and horses entering from every angle - you can see the depth of the circular bowl behind the stage line and characters can be seen behind the main action, like the guards patrolling the walls.

The picture quality is excellent throughout and the 3D effect makes it feel like you are amongst the audience - although it is often a high perspective, when the stage starts to fill out with large numbers. In arias with fewer participants, then the camera does zoom in for close-ups on the singers - but generally the director goes for the spectacular shots which emphasise how big this production really is. This is probably more naturalistic and what most of the audience would have actually seen on the night.

Sound is also pretty good in DTS-HD Master Audio, surround. At times it can be a bit "flat" with a lack of natural reverberation, which is inevitable with an outdoor performance - but it sounds like a faithful reproduction of what was actually happening and the main singers come through very well and are never drowned out by the orchestra or chorus. The chorus are not as clear as the soloists, but then it would have been impossible to mic up every singer in the large chorus.

Overall it can seem a bit static, but given the huge logistical challenges, getting this all together was an impressive achievement and certainly worth a look in 3D. There aren't that many operas available in 3D, so this is a good addition to the list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars FOR 3D FANATICS ONLY, 19 Dec 2013
By 
R. Cheesman (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The camera direction is simply awful and so distracting that you lose interest. Anyone who has seen the numerous DVDs directed for video by Brian Large will know how it should be done. I assume moving the camera sideways, as well as panning, is to demonstrate the 3D effect. Even for 3D viewers this will become irritating. The performances are OK, although there are several better options available. Of the several I have seen the Zeffirelli La Scala production with Violetta Urmana and Roberto Alagna is my choice. I could only recommend this one for people who saw the production live in Verona and will appreciate a souvenir of the experience. I did see it and was struck then by the rather naff Grand March with what seemed like majorettes going through their routine and the horses performing dressage bows to the audience. Watching this brought it home to me. Despite the souvenir aspect, my copy will find its way to the charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FINE PRODUCTION, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aida 3D (Verona) [Hui Je, Marco Berti, Andrea Ulbrich, Gianfranco De Bosio] [Opus Arte: OABD7122D] [Blu-ray] [2013] [NTSC] (Blu-ray)
I'm very familiar with this opera as I've seen it live a few times and also owned various DVDs and Blu Ray versions. I also had the pleasure of watching a live production in Verona in the 90's.
I bought this disc because I wanted to see how it worked in 3D and I wasn't disappointed. The sets come out at you and you feel the depth.
It's an open air production staged in the 3000+ years old Roman arena, however the sound is respectable. You notice the line of mics at the front of the stage used to record this. I thought the choir's sound was a bit muffled but the principals were spot on. I recommend listening in DTS mode.
At the beginning of Act 1 a white stray cat can be seen backstage but he makes a noiseless exit, unperturbed by Aida and Radames singing to each other. Luckily the singers were not distracted as the feline was behind them!
All in all an enjoyable live production filmed in glorious 3D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality, 11 Dec 2013
By 
M. P. Hoberman (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with Sixtus Beckmesser. This is a terrible production and NOT in 3D as per the product description.
If you have not got the Metropolitan Production on DVD Starring Aprile Millo, Dolora Zajick, Plácido Domingo, get it you will find this one more acceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very below par singing, 1 Feb 2014
By 
L. T. Chaffer "Teatro Corelli" (Beaumaris Anglesey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aida 3D (Verona) [Hui Je, Marco Berti, Andrea Ulbrich, Gianfranco De Bosio] [Opus Arte: OABD7122D] [Blu-ray] [2013] [NTSC] (Blu-ray)
3D AIDA what is there to say Visually stunning but the singing was very below par. A very poor cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic spectacle but soloists could have been better, 12 Dec 2013
By 
John Chandler (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aida 3D (Verona) [Hui Je, Marco Berti, Andrea Ulbrich, Gianfranco De Bosio] [Opus Arte: OABD7122D] [Blu-ray] [2013] [NTSC] (Blu-ray)
Aida is a hell of an opera to stage: Enormous sets?? massive sound stage? huge cast, expensive costumes and it needs a decent set of soloists. Recent Blu-ray releases have been lamentable so this new release faces little competition. That is not to deride it before I start but I found it a bit of a mixed bag. It is an attempt to recreate the original staging in 1913 under Tullio Serafin and it would appear to achieve this remarkably well. The only other mega stage Aida is the SD release from St Margarethen and I have compared them in part. St Margarethen is even bigger than Verona and obviously suffers from massive sound issues from the head mics and the huge distances but it is still quite impressive.
Here the sound is better managed with a battery of fixed mics along the front of the stage and no head mics were visible if they were used at all. It worked quite well and one could not expect much better considering the nature of the arena. The staging was spectacular with an enormous cast of dancers and soldiers, even dancing horses that bowed and a cat that failed to turn up at the end for his bow! The camera work was good with one regret: There were no close ups of any of the dancers, many of whom were beautifully turned out and put on a rip-roaring show. They deserved more exposure and as the audience I wanted it too. Many were Africans as far as I could see, including children, and they were given no credits which is a shame. The costumes and general staging were magnificent and although the bit rate was a bit low (18-20 Mbps) it all looked very good. The soloists were adequate but not in my view anything to really shout about. The Met soloists were grossly overweight and this is a bit of an issue here. As cameras on Blu-ray recordings get better the appearance of the soloists DOES matter and age and fitness do influence the audience's perception. I remember Marco Berti as an indifferent Calaf in Turandot in the Forbidden City and he has not added much lustre in my view. Neither of the ladies were particularly well cast but sang quite well.
I do not like 3D and have not tested this disc under 3D conditions. All in all this must be the best Aida on disc right now and we may never get a more spectacular setting but there is certainly room for improvement in the soloists. The Israeli conductor did a great job and the orchestra played beautifully
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnifico!, 19 Oct 2013
By 
scotraven (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aida 3D (Verona) [Hui Je, Marco Berti, Andrea Ulbrich, Gianfranco De Bosio] [Opus Arte: OABD7122D] [Blu-ray] [2013] [NTSC] (Blu-ray)
I will start by saying I am not an opera buff, but purchased this because of a holiday we had in Italy. We visited Verona and saw the arena with parts of the Egyptian theatre sets stacked outside. Unfortunately we were unable to see the opera itself. Now this 3D blu ray disk has given us the chance to experience it. The 3D effect is excellent and one of the best I own, giving lots of depth to the picture. It is a magnificent production and will make you wish you had a bigger TV to fully appreciate the grand scale of it. In act one you can play spot the cat too! Well worth having!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The quality is terrible, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aida 3D (Verona) [Hui Je, Marco Berti, Andrea Ulbrich, Gianfranco De Bosio] [Opus Arte: OABD7122D] [Blu-ray] [2013] [NTSC] (Blu-ray)
It may say blu-ray, but the quality is about the same as a VHS to VHS copy. Avoid.
The actual performance is fine. A like of paint to the props would have been nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa11f5aec)

This product

Only search this product's reviews