Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
More please. Direct, lucid and easy to read. If you're in marketing or a complete beginner this should point you in the right direction.
Published 4 months ago by Joshua Pittman

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious
I didn't think it was possible in such a short book for the author to repeat himself so many times.

It's apparently possible for any business to adopt growth hacker tactics: However all the examples were of B2C online traders, mainly of digital products, and even then no real insight. I feel like I've read a book that could have been a 3 minute conversation or...
Published 11 months ago by GaryMac


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars For the price; very good. However, not a new paradigm., 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growth Hacker Marketing: A Primer on the Future of PR, Marketing and Advertising (Kindle Edition)
This is a very interesting and thought provoking little book. There are a lot of good techniques and examples of how to launch a new product without much budget. In fact, the book suggests actively avoiding large conventional advertising campaigns and budgets. It won't take up a lot of your time or money, so definitely worth a read. As with many of these types of books it glosses over two things.

1) The danger of subscribing to a Whiggish interpretation of history, where every action is an inevitable step towards enlightenment and progress. Saying "these 20 companies used these techniques and are now worth billions" ignores the possible thousands of companies who used the same methods and failed. Remember, someone has to win; that doesn't mean that everything they did meant they would inevitably win.

2) Describing as "industry changing" a method that is applicable for a very narrow set of problems. If you have a great new product, with little competition, in an un-established market, this is great. However, I'd suggest that your marketing isn't super important if you have all of those things to begin with.

That's just nitpicking though - if this was 300 pages long and cost twenty pounds you could sniff at it, but at about a quid and readable on a short commute, there's nothing to get bothered about.

If you liked this, you'd probably enjoy ReWork: Change the Way You Work Forever - although I note, the price of this hasn't gone down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Short, useful overview - light on detail,repetitive, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growth Hacker Marketing: A Primer on the Future of PR, Marketing and Advertising (Kindle Edition)
This is one of those (very short) books that, if you don't know much about the subject is a good intro. But if you do, you'll be asking, '"Where's the beef?"

Ryan is a convert to Growth Hacking and explains how it challenges conventional marketing. He briefly introduces the concept and then breaks it down into its component stages.

Again, if you haven't read any of the books in the Lean Startup movement (search for Lean Startup and dig around the tons of resources now online) you might appreciate this chatty and light read.

Unfortunately for me, I wanted a few more tricks, tips and ideas. I wanted more of a 'How To' guide than a 'this is what Growth Hacking means' ebook.

I admit, Ryan doesn't claim that this book is an instruction guide.

Nevertheless, his examples are very obvious and known to many in the marketing/digital marketing world e.g. how Hotmail gained traction by encouraging Word of Mouth.

In conclusion, I'd give this book 3.5 stars if I could.

Buy it if you need the intro level stuff. It will get you on your way. But, even though it's a cheap and quick read, don't expect a huge amount of value in return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Well-Written, 19 Sep 2013
By 
L. C. Pollitt (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growth Hacker Marketing: A Primer on the Future of PR, Marketing and Advertising (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed reading this book, it offers a new perspective on marketing and is easy to read. Although, as another reviewer has said, most of the ideas covered are not new they are put together in a fresh, accessible way. Personally I'd never heard the term Growth Hacker before picking up this book, and now I'm keen to learn more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growth Hacker Marketing: A Primer on the Future of PR, Marketing and Advertising (Kindle Edition)
I am currently doing some research about growth hacking and came across this book. It is an ideal starting point into the topic and gives plenty of additional resources to increase ones knowledge about Growth Hacking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this book adds more weight to why we need to change how we market products, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growth Hacker Marketing: A Primer on the Future of PR, Marketing and Advertising (Kindle Edition)
It's a short read but better for it. It felt like a growth hack itself, testing ideas than will blossom into a more fully explored piece later. It certainly inspires you and as I'm starting my first growth hack it feeds the mind a little more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great simple introduction, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really liked this book. It is short and quick to read, while also covering all the basics needed to introduce the subject. Since reading it, I have spent quite a few weeks doing further research, and so far found nothing that wasn't covered. However, it is worth noting that it is only an introduction book really, you will need to do more research after reading it, but at least you will 'know' the subject well enough to choice where to put your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book with ideas I never thought possible, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growth Hacker Marketing: A Primer on the Future of PR, Marketing and Advertising (Kindle Edition)
Ryan has done it again - in his latest book, Growth Hacker Marketing he explains how companies can grow exponentially with virtually no money at all.

Ryan is SO ahead of the game presenting a new concept that I wasn't ever aware of.

I wish it was a longer read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good quick read, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Amber Parkin (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growth Hacker Marketing: A Primer on the Future of PR, Marketing and Advertising (Kindle Edition)
Interesting, if not very brief guide to the subject. I'd have liked to have seen more practical guidance on applying these ideas,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new way forward for marketing., 2 Oct 2013
By 
Steven Aitchison "Steven Aitchison" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growth Hacker Marketing: A Primer on the Future of PR, Marketing and Advertising (Kindle Edition)
This short, and to the point, book is a great insight into a new world of marketing. I see it as an introduction to the topic and I came away with a few ideas which I've already implemented to great effect. However, it could have been made better with more case studies and could have gone into greater detail about the campaigns that were mentioned. Having said that, it has really opened my eyes to a new way of marketing and for that alone I have given it five stars.

The author also gives some great resources in the last few pages.

All in all a great few hours read and it has given me a real shift in my mindset with regards to marketing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for Today's Startup, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Growth Hacker Marketing: A Primer on the Future of PR, Marketing and Advertising (Kindle Edition)
The Marketer is dead. Long live the Growth Hacker. Finally, a discipline already engrained in many of the most successful startups gets its own Job Title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews