Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic back in print !
James Hilton (Goodbye Mr Chips, Lost Horizon) described "The Devil Rides Out" as "The best tale of its kind since Dracula" and I don't think he was far wrong. Many believe it to be Wheatley's finest work and it's a classic of its kind. I first read the book many years ago and on reading it again, it has lost none of its power to grip.

The book is the second,...
Published on 21 April 2007 by Charles B

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This needs to be viewed as a product of the time, and a product of its genre.
I'll be honest, I was was quite disappointed with this book, because I was expecting a fairly nuanced take on satanism, and while Wheatley does shed some light on some really interesting occult concepts (notable numerology), most of this novel's plot is heavily tied up with the politics of the time (casual racism and sexism abound).

Those issues in themselves I...
Published 24 days ago by O. J. Higgins


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The Devil rides out., 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Rides Out (Black Magic Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I first read this book years and years ago in my mid teens and wanted to read it again for old times sake. It is still a good story but probably a bit old fashioned for some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Attitudes change..., 17 Dec. 2013
By 
Steve Craftman (Neath) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Rides Out (Black Magic Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A book I first read and enjoyed in the seventies, when I saw it was available for Kindle I thought "why not?". Although the prose is of the time, and therefore consistent, easy to read and occasionally elegant, the casual vicious racism on display (and I'm quite well aware that it was acceptable at the time of writing) is distracting and offensive, getting in the way of a what was once a damn good story. I don't think I'll bother with the other Wheatley titles that have been re-published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Devil Rides Out, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Rides Out. (Hardcover)
The book arrived within the timescale indicated and is exactly as described. I would happily use this settler in future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant to read again - I read Wheatley constantly as ..., 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Rides Out (Black Magic Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant to read again - I read Wheatley constantly as a child and it was fun to revisit the scariest book on my shelves as a young boy. A perfect balance between thriller and occult adventure - nice details and descriptive writing - certainly the best of the occult series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Black Magic at it's best., 28 Sept. 2014
By 
R. D. Mayles (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Rides Out (Black Magic Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Dennis Wheatley is a first class author and the stories roll along nicely. The Black Magic thread is written with authority, however, despite this being a good tale it is extremely dated now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good yarn all the, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Rides Out (Black Magic Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A classic Black Magic novel.. slightly dated nowadays but then it is a classic. A lot of Wheatley's theories have all been re-worked by Dan Brown in recent decades. A good yarn all the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Devil Rides Out, 24 Aug. 2014
By 
Thomas Harold (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Rides Out (Black Magic Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Have having read this book some considerable years ago I was delighted to reread it again. However l was disappointed by the number of typographical errors throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read it 40 years ago, still as good., 16 Jan. 2015
By 
Lesley McGill (POOLE, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Rides Out (Black Magic Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Read it 40 years ago, still as good. The film from 1965 misses almost a whole chapter from the book which explains why Simon turns to the dark side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On of the all time great writer's a most enjoyable book, 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Rides Out (Black Magic Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
On of the all time great writer's a most enjoyable book, a book I read many years ago and reread again recently and found it just as enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping occult thriller classic, 28 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil Rides Out (Paperback)
This is a classy occult thriller from a writer who forged a new genre of thriller somewhere between Buchannan and Stoker. He mixes the thrill factor and pace from best sellers like The 39 Steps with themes from the supernatural. Little elements are undoubtedly inspired by Dracula but the general theme and tone owe more to historic tales of witchcraft and the then recent reimergence of interest in it due to notorious 'disciples' and self publiscists such as Crowley and Rasputin.

It may seem quite dated and holky now to hardened modern thriller readers, but it's not fair to judge the writing style by today's standards. Written in the early 30s and feeling every bit of it, you have to give it its period context and not expect it to be hard and streetwise like a modern thriller, and I think some of the critical comments about its old fashionedness are crazy and unjust. That's how they wrote then, before the likes of DHL helped change all that.

That's not to say it doesn't falter a little at crucial periods though, mainly with Wheatley wanting to embelish the story with more second hand tales of weirdness when he'd have been far better off, imo, in just letting the narrative flow. If he'd wanted to flesh out what would have naturally been a shorter, 39 Steps length, then I think he should have just added a new chapter or two instead of holding up crucial chapters with artificial looking dialogue designed to add more occult knowledge to bolster its black magic authenticity. You feel Wheatley knows a lot about this subject but wonder if he shouldn't just get on with the story instead. That said, it's a captivating thriller about the dark side, spells and witchcraft, all of which still fascinates us today, as a browse through the internet proves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Devil Rides Out (Black Magic Book 1)
£3.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews