Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2014
Caught the movie on bbc4 one night and the music involved was amazing. Tracked the cd down and was certainly not disappointed. This wee bolt hole in Alabama has produced some of the finest records of all time and this album catches only a small percentage of the best. From Paul Simon to Alicia keys via Lynard Skynard this should be a purchase for anyone who either detests what Cowell and co has done to the music industry or has tired the dying state it lies in. Who would have thought that some of the most recognisable sounds of african american soul music had a group of white nerds playing the backing tunes......and rocking it. During a time of stupidity, racism and segregation great musicians got into a studio ignored the skin colour, creed, race and politics and funked. This is sheer brilliance and includes a fantastic Beatles cover by Wilson Pickett during a jamming session with an Allman brother. In addition you should also get hold of the DVD movie that tells the story of this Mecca for music. FIVE STARS!!!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
After seeing the film I bought the soundtrack because there's just so much quality. The only disappointment of course is that it was only one CD!
A few friends and I watched around the same time and each one of us was blown away by the sheer quality and diversity of music that came out of Muscle Shoals.
Just buy it. I can do no better than that!
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
I went to see the film, Muscle Shoals - The Documentary, of which this is the official soundtrack. The Film is a 'must-see' and this music, which I have always loved, seems now to have even more resonance, somehow.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
Growing up hearing these songs (I'm now 57)..I had no idea or interest that they were all recorded in the same studio and normally with the house band..It was the sound and "feel" that mattered and this collection,bought by me after seeing the film on TV is a great starter for people who want to get into the music of the artists featured.
In the Film Clarence Carter says people still think he wrote the song "Patches"..rather that the white cowboy looking owner of the studio.
I was also amazed to see that the house band who I thought would resemble an older version of Earth Wind & Fire were a bunch of white dudes,who wouldn't look out of place if they turned up to install a kitchen for you..Great music,even better film.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Great movie: an eye-opener for anyone who loved this music and era. It makes you want to know even more about that style of music and the people who made it happen.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 March 2014
The songs on this album are classics, however there simply isn't enough of it. Barely anything at all from Fame Records (thankfully there is a great box set on Kent Records and the singles are now being issued sequentially on CDs). This could have a been a wonderful 2 or 3 CD set easily and the CD doesn't do justice to a wonderful film.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
Great soundtrack, each track is a classic. If you have not watched the Film, I urge you to do so.
Then purchasing this is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Absolutely wonderful - bought the CD on the back of watching the film. Every track is a jem so just sit back and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
Item delivered on time and as described. Happy to recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
very good quality and music is great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)