Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lady Gaga ArtPop
Well it's different, it's strange and yet after many repeat plays I find it compelling listening.
Vocally i hear flashbacks to such vocals as far back as Lene Lovitch and Hazel O'Connor,(Applause).
Fashion is a pure Madonna 'Holiday' , Artpop is just the best track, Aura the second. The only track I avoid is 'Jewels and Drugs', just not my thing.
Genius or...
Published 18 months ago by james rowell

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Next Stop Celebrity Big Brother!
If i could give this 0 stars i would! She's done what every artist should never do, take her manufactured persona too seriously! If working with R Kelly (he served time for something vile!) wasnt bad enough, the drab narcissistic tracks are just the icing on this fecal loaded cake! She started out so well, but then resorted to leafing off and directly from the one woman...
Published 4 months ago by Mad Fan


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lady Gaga ArtPop, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Well it's different, it's strange and yet after many repeat plays I find it compelling listening.
Vocally i hear flashbacks to such vocals as far back as Lene Lovitch and Hazel O'Connor,(Applause).
Fashion is a pure Madonna 'Holiday' , Artpop is just the best track, Aura the second. The only track I avoid is 'Jewels and Drugs', just not my thing.
Genius or a complete loon I don't know! However it's better than most the squeaky dull pop that is around. Enjoy it, it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Synth based pop music this is as good as it gets., 3 Aug. 2014
This review is from: ARTPOP (Audio CD)
This is easily Lady Gaga's most complex and satisfying release to date, that came as a total surprise to me because like many others I considered that "Born this way" was dreadful.

Things do not start off well as the album has a messy feel that feels overtly familiar to Madonna's dreadful MDNA album. In fact, it was this belief that put me off buying this album until almost a year after release. Even then it took many listens to appreciate the hooks and the album as a whole creation.

The songs Aura and Venus are taken individually sound quirky but not particularly catchy or well written. GaGa herself claimed this was designed to be a more immature, lighter and more hedonistic album, so while this is true it does lack any meaningful substance in the song writing.

What makes this album a winner though is that is manages to take the fairly tired genre of synth driven pop music to some very interesting new places. G.U.Y has a similar synth beat to "Bad Romance" but has an oriental, exotic feel to it. Her vocals are on top form here, straddling the fine line between aggressive and bouncy without sounding harsh.

The most instantly appealing song remains the fantastic "Do what you want" with a song stealing performance from R Kelly, who is simply on superb form. Again, the synth baseline is infectious and really bounces the song along. Same goes for "Sexxx dreams" that uses a Prince style Korg synth to great effect.

I never liked lead single applause, that is simply GAGA at her self indulgent worst with droning vocals that never stimulate any interest. It is as bad as the album gets in my view, "Jewels n drugs" is perhaps the blandest song on the album but is tolerable as a welcome turn into hip hop.

Overall it is a fine album that may not have as many blockbuster singles as her earlier work, but as an album it is far more challenging and diverse in styles, if not themes, than anything she has done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of art; a masterpiece of pop, 23 Aug. 2014
By 
TechBajan (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artpop [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
While I've always listened to Lady Gaga's tunes on the radio, I'd never felt compelled to buy any of her albums... until now.

I first heard Venus whilst listening to a streaming service and heard Applause a few times on the radio so I decided to check out some of the other songs on the album to see if they were any good. I instantly fell in love with Do What You Want, Aura and G.U.Y. The album was recently on special so I bought it. Since then, I've listened to the whole album multiples times, sometimes on repeat and love all, except Jewels N Drugs.

Overall, I can't fault this album. I think it really shows Lady Gaga is not just a musician who can make chart-topping hits but who can create art, whether it charts or not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make my art pop..., 9 Feb. 2014
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP (Audio CD)
ARTPOP is the third studio album by Lady Gaga, and was released in November 2013. Planning for the project goes way back to 2011 [shortly after the launch of her second studio album Born This Way]. The majority of the song writing and recording took place over 2012, and into 2013, after Gaga was forced to cancel her Born This Way Ball after breaking her hip. During her recovery from surgery Gaga became addicted to drugs, which helped her get relief from the pain of surgery and also to cope with her depression stemming from her forced sabbatical and other personal issues, so there is a bit of darkness in ARTPOP too.

Lady Gaga, and her long-time friend Paul "DJ White Shadow" Blair are the main writers and producers on the album. Other track producers and writers include Zedd Hugo, Leclercq, Nick Monson, Rick Rubin, Giorgio Tuinfort, Dino Zisis, Infected Mushroom, will.i.am, and David Guetta. The lyrical themes revolve around her personal views of fame, love, sex, feminism, self-empowerment, overcoming addiction, and reactions to media scrutiny.

_

I struggled to decide what rating to give ARTPOP; for me it isn't quite as strong as The Fame Monster (I class this as a separate album, rather then a expanded version of The Fame) or Born This Way, but is removing a star a bit too harsh for an album where I can say that I like 13 out of 15 tracks to verifying degrees? Plus this album does have more variation in music styles, so it does beat The Fame as far as I'm concerned, and the album sale figures show that the album is far from the flop that some like to call it.

In the end I felt as though a star had to go, for two reasons; Lady Gaga wrote and recorded ARTPOP during a period of stress and depression for her, so even the happier tracks have a heavy air hanging over them, which in turn can actually make me feel down too. Plus the experimental button has been pressed a few too many times for my tastes; there's no major influence for me to put my finger on after the first two tracks, and nothing that outright spoils the later tracks, but there is a mysterious something that niggles me.

_

At the end of the day ARTPOP does have solid tracks, with both some new directions such as pop-lite [Gypsy], dipping her toes into hip hop [Jewels N' Drugs], and R&B [Do What You Want], as well as the usual piano-lead ballad [Dope], and huge selection of classic ''Gaga'' electric pop energy and beats [everything else]. She has a good voice and is a strong song writer, so these creative extras are just unneeded all of the time as her work is very good and can stand up on it''s own without all of the bells and whistles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album of 2013, 18 Jan. 2014
By 
S. Halbert "Stephen H" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Artpop [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Lady Gaga was a bit tedious with this album. Anyone who follows her on Twitter/Facebook will be familiar with her vexatious posts to the tune of "I sung the songs until they became me and then I started recording" and propagandising ArtPop all over the shop like it was the revelation we had all been waiting for and the second coming of music. Whatever, Gaga, whatever. At the end of the day, you're only making music, you're not finding the cure for cancer.

That being said, the album is bloody fabulous. Whilst Gaga herself would have you believe that this is the most historical piece of music ever to stroke the world's ears, her fans would nod along "ok love, you tell yourself that" and see it for exactly what it is; a great pop album. Nothing more, nothing less.

You have to give it a few listens. When I first listened to it, it seemed clunky. There was a huge mish-mash of instruments, music, and vocals and I felt quite overwhelmed. But the more you listen to it the more the songs start to separate and become their own pieces of pop music and then, all of a sudden after about 4 listens, the album as a whole does its Mother Monster proud and showcases song after song of pure pop genius.

The weakest songs for me are the singles Applause and Venus (was that even a single? She spoke about it being a single for ages but I can't recall it ever being one). Venus is a bit baby-ish. It doesn't have the same sophisticated production as the rest of the album. It's Lady Gaga's first attempt at producing something completely on her own and it shows. It's a good effort though. Applause is a great song, but it's the pretentious lyrics that absolutely nobody could ever relate to other than Gaga herself. The pointless dropping of the German word "Kunst" (meaning "Art") seems silly to me, as it is a much uglier word that simply saying it in English. It's almost as if she learned the word and wanted to show off irrespective of the consequences.

I'm not sure that I can pick out standout tracks, as there are so many. The album really is fantastic. I've been listening to it non-stop (along with Cher Closer To The Truth... another great album!)

Buy this. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it a chance to work its magic on you!, 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
This album took a long time to grow on me, at first I didn't really like any tracks and was disappointed but I'm glad I persevered with it. Some tunes are so catchy and I find myself randomly humming and quietly singing them ("Venus" being one!) There are one or two tracks that I still can't seem to get into, but that's not bad for an album with 15 tunes, and at the price I paid for it. The album is very well produced as one would expect and still sounds pretty 'fresh' considering it's 2 years old at time of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars musical equivalent of a radox bath!, 29 Oct. 2014
This review is from: ARTPOP [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Wow what a fantastic listen and experience this is! I really don't listen to this type of music much, I am more of a metal fan but I just kept hearing it out and about and now can't stop playing it. Aura kicks of the cd in an odd kind of way but crank up the volume and it takes you on a journey your not expecting what a great track the more you listen the more addictive it becomes. Other highlights are the rather odd title track art pop, best listened too with the headphones and the musical equivalent of a radox bath.... Leaves you all warm and relaxed. Lots of deep lyrics some a bit dark some just plain odd the whole thing if you take the time to get to know it really is a piece of art. I can't wait to see what crazy stuff on gaga makes next... Her best album to date it will take some beating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moroder fans will love it!, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
State of the art electropop and as accomplished as Roisin Murphy`s "Overpowered", La Roux`s debut or Empire of the Sun`s first album. I could`ve lived without the rap track but it`s a minor flaw in a remarkably assured piece of pop genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Next Stop Celebrity Big Brother!, 23 Mar. 2015
By 
This review is from: ARTPOP (Audio CD)
If i could give this 0 stars i would! She's done what every artist should never do, take her manufactured persona too seriously! If working with R Kelly (he served time for something vile!) wasnt bad enough, the drab narcissistic tracks are just the icing on this fecal loaded cake! She started out so well, but then resorted to leafing off and directly from the one woman in pop you just dont touch, Madonna. Admire her as Kylie, Britney and Rihanna do, but dont steal from her! I seriously cant see any future for this one in pop, she was living on a wing and a prayer 5 years into her career, with this? I reckon reality TV wont be that far away! Avoid!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Out with the X-factor ... in with Lady Gaga, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
If you are sick and tired of listening to the same old sounds that the X-factor produces ... then this is the CD for you. It's a breath of fresh air as Lady Gaga pushes the boundaries once again to bring new music from the planet Venus. Ok some people might not get it but after seeing her live on the Born This Way tour in 2012- I certainly do. Listening to the tracks I can almost imagine her on stage for the Art Pop tour. Lady Gaga is a very visual artist, a true musician, singer and performer. Just on the second listen I'm already getting to know the songs in places - it goes from whacky to seriously good ballads. Buy it - you'll love it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ARTPOP [VINYL]
ARTPOP [VINYL] by Lady Gaga (Vinyl - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews