Customer Reviews


285 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lady Gaga ArtPop
Well it's different, it's strange and yet after many repeat plays I find it compelling listening.
Vocally i hear flashbacks to such vocals as far back as Lene Lovitch and Hazel O'Connor,(Applause).
Fashion is a pure Madonna 'Holiday' , Artpop is just the best track, Aura the second. The only track I avoid is 'Jewels and Drugs', just not my thing.
Genius or...
Published 6 months ago by james rowell

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointinglu Average
Formulaic pop lacking the originality and inspiration of previous CDs.
Lets hope Gaga returns to her previous quality for her next release, otherwise this fan will cease to be a fan.
Published 5 months ago by tam


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lady Gaga ArtPop, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Well it's different, it's strange and yet after many repeat plays I find it compelling listening.
Vocally i hear flashbacks to such vocals as far back as Lene Lovitch and Hazel O'Connor,(Applause).
Fashion is a pure Madonna 'Holiday' , Artpop is just the best track, Aura the second. The only track I avoid is 'Jewels and Drugs', just not my thing.
Genius or a complete loon I don't know! However it's better than most the squeaky dull pop that is around. Enjoy it, it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make my art pop..., 9 Feb 2014
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP (Audio CD)
ARTPOP is the third studio album by American recording artist Lady Gaga, and was released in November 2013 by Streamline and Interscope Records. It debuted at number one in around ten countries, including the UK and America. It entered the top ten in some twenty other countries.

_

Gaga began planning the project way back in 2011 [shortly after the launch of her second studio album Born This Way]. The majority of the song writing and recording took place over 2012, and into 2013, after Gaga was forced to cancel her Born This Way Ball after breaking her hip. During her recovery from surgery Gaga became addicted to drugs, which helped her get relief from the pain of surgery and also to cope with her depression stemming from her forced sabbatical and other personal issues, so there is a bit of darkness in ARTPOP too.

Artpop has been described by Gaga as "a dance record that begs for soul + creativity during a passionless age. Finding passion in plastic. Putting Art into PopMusic". She has also called ARTPOP a "celebration and a poetic musical journey" and an exploration of the "reverse Warholian" phenomenon in pop culture. Apparently ARTPOP's calling card is that it displays an intentional "lack of maturity and responsibility" in comparison to her previous work.

Lady Gaga, and her long-time friend Paul "DJ White Shadow" Blair are the main writers and producers on the album. Other track producers and writers include Zedd Hugo, Leclercq, Nick Monson, Rick Rubin, Giorgio Tuinfort, Dino Zisis, Infected Mushroom, will.i.am, and David Guetta. The lyrical themes revolve around her personal views of fame, love, sex, feminism, self-empowerment, overcoming addiction, and reactions to media scrutiny.

_

I struggled to decide what rating to give ARTPOP; for me it isn't quite as strong as The Fame Monster (I class this as a separate album, rather then a expanded version of The Fame) or Born This Way, but is removing a star a bit too harsh for an album where I can say that I like 13 out of 15 tracks to verifying degrees? Plus this album does have more variation in music styles, so it does beat The Fame as far as I'm concerned, and the album sale figures show that the album is far from the flop that some like to call it.

In the end I felt as though a star had to go, for two reasons; Lady Gaga wrote and recorded ARTPOP during a period of stress and depression for her, so even the happier tracks have a heavy air hanging over them, which in turn can actually make me feel down too. The experimental button has been pressed a few too many times for my tastes. There's no major influence for me to put my finger on after the first two tracks, and nothing that outright spoils the later tracks, but there is a mysterious something that niggles me.

Oh well, I guess everyone has an off day. I still can't wait to the ARTRave in October - maybe hearing/watching the songs live will banish my niggles.

_

At the end of the day ARTPOP does have solid tracks, with both some new directions and a helping of classic 'Gaga' energy and beats. She has a good voice and is a strong song writer, so these creative extras are just unneeded all of the time as her work is very good and can stand up on it's own without all of the bells and whistles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointinglu Average, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Formulaic pop lacking the originality and inspiration of previous CDs.
Lets hope Gaga returns to her previous quality for her next release, otherwise this fan will cease to be a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a grower, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
unlike the last album which i loved instantly then grew tired of, this album takes several plays to start the tracks worming their way into your head, certainly worth the time investment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ARTPOP or CHARTFLOP?, 17 May 2014
By 
cue (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP (Audio CD)
After an underperforming previous album with Born This Way and a cancelled tour with the Born This Way Ball, Lady Gaga's ARTPOP should have been treated by her team as a comeback album, as it is what she needed.

Ever playing the misunderstood artist, Lady Gaga seems to take pleasure in her incomprehensible and disjointed lyrics. The verses of Venus are absolutely dreadful (though the song's redeeming feature is its chorus, which is arguably one of Gaga's best), and this is a problem that plagues aspects of almost every song on the album. In a very Jay Z-esque manner, Gaga throws in as many art references as she can in an attempt to put the ART in POP to make ARTPOP, though it always falls flat. Though I'm sure she'd tell me that I just didn't understand her art.

01 AURA: I'm not sure what Gaga was going for with this. The instrumental is a direct rip-off from Infected Mushroom and whilst it is good, it seems a bit uncreative to take an entire beat without making any changes at all. I would blame Zedd for this, but as Gaga is a co-producer I should hope that she would stop and say "I won't violate my artistic integrity by not changing this at all". The lyrics of this song are good, the chorus is tremendous. I don't understand the sudden Burqa references though. Gaga's vocals on this song are warbled like she had been stung by bees on her way to the studio.

02 VENUS: This song has an amazing chorus, as I said previously. The verses are awful and clunky.

03 GUY: A great intro but a terribly repetitive chorus. I'm certain that world governments could use this song's chorus as a torture method.

04 SEXXX DREAMS: This is a great song! I like everything about this song, and it is one of the highlights of the album.

05 JEWELS AND DRUGS: The first thing you hear on this track is a cough, and that pretty much sums up the entire song.

06 MANICURE: As if Lady Gaga wasn't a wannabe queen of gays, this song (along with Donatella) seems to be baiting the more flamboyant members of the public. The song starts with a non-existent intro, but other than that, it's rather good. It's not much of a standout though.

07 DO WHAT U WANT (FT R KELLY): I would just like to start this by condemning the R Kelly collaboration. Does Gaga view him as a tragically flawed, misunderstood artist too? Because every criticism of him is valid, based on what he has done in the past. The song is quite good though, even if the song feels extremely disjointed. Gaga's criticism of the press is valid, though the song's lyrics are questionable.

08 ARTPOP: The title track is good! I love the Michael Jackson-esque vocals over a Bjork-reminiscent beat. It's a shame that the lyrics are trash and that the title 'ARTPOP' is totally worthless. It makes no sense. But I don't have a degree in modern art like all of Gaga's fans do, so maybe that's why I don't understand.

09 SWINE: I won't hither-hather. This song has so much potential to be good, but it somehow ends up being utterly awful.

10 DONATELLA: Awful.

11 FASHION!: When I listened to this song, I couldn't help but sing along to Madonna's early hit 'Holiday', which shares an almost identical chord progression to Fashion!. I imagine this song will be a drag queen favourite.

12 MARY JANE HOLLAND: I cannot fault this song. It is easily the best on the album.

13 DOPE: A travesty of a song. You can easily see how Gaga was aiming for an Adele-esque power ballad, but this song falls flat. Putting the pro-drug message aside, this song is sung as if Gaga's mouth is full of water or marbles. The lyrics are contrived and do not portray a 'heartfelt' message as much as an 'addict desperately in need of an intervention'.

14 GYPSY: A fun song that would fit perfectly on a Katy Perry album. It's nice to see Gaga be inspired by her contemporaries rather than stealing from decades-old songs.

15 APPLAUSE: A bit of an anti-climatic album closer, but otherwise a good song! *clap*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good., 23 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP (Audio CD)
This album is nowhere near as good as her earlier work. Witness the fact that she has tried to distance herself from responsibility for it by saying she was "badly advised"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
played it all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album from GAGA, 12 July 2014
This review is from: ARTPOP (Audio CD)
The latest album by Gaga (2013). Another album was due out this year, though I get the impression it could be covers from the crooners (but of course I could be totally wrong). So making the most of this album while everything on it is still relatively new - and it's also very listenable! (Did I just make a new word??)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP (Audio CD)
Great quality. Delivered quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the album becomes better and better, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ARTPOP [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
For those who say she has come down in making music... Listen to this one... Every time I listen to it, the album becomes better and better!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ARTPOP [VINYL]
ARTPOP [VINYL] by Lady Gaga (Vinyl - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews