Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for a trip to sardinia!
Superb guide book, made planning the holiday straightforward. Lots of photos, well laid out, and some great recommendations for accommodation and places to eat
Published 17 months ago by William Hack

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Banal guidance
A poor imitation of a rough guide. I read reviews stating that the earlier edition was sketchy and unhelpful but hoped this latest edition would have taken these concerns on board. In my view it hadn't. The descriptions of some of the places were clearly based on much earlier visits - one small resort was seriously derelict with squatters occupying some key buildings on...
Published 3 months ago by Jezza


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for a trip to sardinia!, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb guide book, made planning the holiday straightforward. Lots of photos, well laid out, and some great recommendations for accommodation and places to eat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Banal guidance, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A poor imitation of a rough guide. I read reviews stating that the earlier edition was sketchy and unhelpful but hoped this latest edition would have taken these concerns on board. In my view it hadn't. The descriptions of some of the places were clearly based on much earlier visits - one small resort was seriously derelict with squatters occupying some key buildings on our visit but this was not mentioned. Comments are often banal such as stating that the place is lively in summer but quiet out of season or that a church has a fine façade. Much of it could have been written using a combination of Google Street View and a lively imagination. Considering that one only buys these overpriced regional guides because the area can't be covered in enough detail in a full national guide, one would expect full coverage of any place of interest, but so often reasonably large places were simply not mentioned or mentioned in passing only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So far, so good ..., 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We are due to visit the island later in the year but the book provides much useful information so we should be prepared before we depart.

I have bought Rough Guide books before and for me, never been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Up to date guide., 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We used this guide for a recent cycling tour around the island. Found it to be very useful.Must say the Lonely Plant Guide Book to Sardinia is equally as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Why can't they get the maps to work, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Sardinia (Rough Guide to...) (Kindle Edition)
I really resent having to pay nearly full price for a kindle edition of a guide book when the maps don't work at all. I love my kindle because it is lighter than taking loads of books and good for reading in sunlight but seriously people sort out the maps, layout and photos or charge a lot less for your guide books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best guide book for Sardinia, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this last minute and it arrived the day we left for Sardinia, great timing!! Relatively thorough and bang up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, as always, 26 Sep 2014
By 
T. Wilson (Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband & I always end up taking both the DK and Rough Guide guides to wherever we're going. He loves the Rough Guide layout and style and hasn't yet been disappointed when on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rough guide to Sardinia., 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had these Guides before & they are good but should be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gen Gem, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A guide that should serve me well in Sardinia - as all other Lonely Planet and Rough guides have in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews