Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars93
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2013
Elton John returns from the wilderness pantomime years. After all those wishy washy albums and soundtracks Reginald Dwight has released something worth listening to which is refreshing to the ears. I have heard tracks from the forthcoming cd 'The Diving Board' which hark back to the superb Americana years particularly the album 'Tumbleweed Connection'. This track '5th Avenue' frustratingly is not available on the UK release of 'The Diving Board' either on Deluxe or Super Deluxe Editions why? The American version released by Target includes '5th Avenue' plus another exclusive track. Come on Amazon snidge that track aswell and make it available to download free.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
In more recent years, Elton John has strayed away from the Pop/Rock hits of his hayday, and after the release of 'The Captain And The Kid', he stated he felt he no longer felt the need to write pop songs. This was a fantastic decision, because its allowed him to explore (and excuse the pun) more avenues. This song was initially due for 'The Diving Board', but dropped. If this was because the rest of the album is better, then I cannot wait, because this song is phenomenal. The piano and vocals, and the stripped back instrumentation (organ, minimal percussion, etc), just makes the song feel so intimate, so graceful, and the song itself is beautifully written. Possibly the best free song I've ever downloaded, I wish it had made the album, but so grateful it was free.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
Love it or hate it?

It hits with me - and on a FREE MP3 download (at the time of writing).

5th Avenue : a bonus track on some versions of The Diving Board

'I stumbled down 5th Avenue
In the winter time - 1982
No heavy coat, thin pair of shoes
In the rush hour crowd, on 5th Avenue

I thought I saw someone I knew
Turned out to be no one but you
Something borrowed, something blue
Ducked in a doorway on 5th Avenue

Chorus:
All my crimes come back to haunt me
Every building seems to judge
Standing tall and looking down
Like fingers pointing from above
On 5th Avenue, on 5th Avenue
The party's over on 5th Avenue

Fortune finds the chosen few
Fools just find someone like you
Build a bank, or you buy a zoo
Monkeys and money on 5th Avenue

Snow falls on 5th Avenue
Your old man is on the evening news
Hard to believe how far he flew
Down, all the way down to 5th Avenue'

(Chorus x 2 )
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a promo track from Elton John's new album 'The Diving Board', which is released later this month (the 16th, I believe). It is a bit slow moving but you can instantly tell this is an Elton song. Although I must admit I did enjoy this it isn't one of his 'great' type tracks. It is worth listening to though, especially whilst at the moment this is being given away.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
"5th Avenue" was originally part of "The Diving Board", then dropped, and is listed here as a bonus track. I predict it will be remembered by Elton John fans as a song as memorable as "The Retreat" from "The Fox" recording sessions, which, like "5th Avenue" should have been included in the album. The lyrics penned by Bernie Taupin are among the best he's written for "The Diving Board", with a chorus that may remind some listeners of "Burning Buildings" from the "Breaking Hearts" album. This little gem of a ballad would have worked quite well too on "The Captain and The Kid". Needless to say, Elton offers a fine performance here on piano and vocals. Had this been included in "The Diving Board" album, I would rank it alongside "Oscar Wilde Gets Out", "Home Again", "My Quicksand" and "The New Fever Waltz" as among the album's best songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
You would believe on first hearing that you know this song backwards, same piano, arrangement, phraseology, sentiment and message.....listen again. This is a deeper, mellower "Reg" slowed and matured like a fine wine (or cheese) by age. His voice is deeper and it is clear that the changes in his lifestyle are reflected here.....in my view for the better. No more Crocodile Rock-ing and Fighting on Saturday nights for Mr John. He simply has nothing to kick out about now and probably doesn't have the energy......it shows but still it has charm and the wisdom of the sage....I like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Elton back to what he does best... simple production.

Great lyrics from Bernie coupled with a typical Elton melody.

Top class
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
I'm sure Elton's new album is going to rocket (man) to the top of the charts! This track is quality and hopefully a taster of what's to come!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
This fits in well with the rest of the album (which is excellent). Not sure why this track is not included in the main release. As a free taster there's no point - you can listen to bits of all the tracks on Amazon or iTunes. 5th Avenue is openly available to everyone on Amazon and not limited just to reward to people who bought the album. I don't get the marketing, but thanks for the track.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
I enjoyed this a great deal and now am looking forward to hearing the full album, reviews of which seem to be polarised - it is either outstanding or dire. I can't see how it can be the latter on the strength of this outing - it is good to see that Elton still has the desire to make music and it shows in the quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.