Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
93
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2013
Elton John returns from the wilderness pantomime years. After all those wishy washy albums and soundtracks Reginald Dwight has released something worth listening to which is refreshing to the ears. I have heard tracks from the forthcoming cd 'The Diving Board' which hark back to the superb Americana years particularly the album 'Tumbleweed Connection'. This track '5th Avenue' frustratingly is not available on the UK release of 'The Diving Board' either on Deluxe or Super Deluxe Editions why? The American version released by Target includes '5th Avenue' plus another exclusive track. Come on Amazon snidge that track aswell and make it available to download free.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
In more recent years, Elton John has strayed away from the Pop/Rock hits of his hayday, and after the release of 'The Captain And The Kid', he stated he felt he no longer felt the need to write pop songs. This was a fantastic decision, because its allowed him to explore (and excuse the pun) more avenues. This song was initially due for 'The Diving Board', but dropped. If this was because the rest of the album is better, then I cannot wait, because this song is phenomenal. The piano and vocals, and the stripped back instrumentation (organ, minimal percussion, etc), just makes the song feel so intimate, so graceful, and the song itself is beautifully written. Possibly the best free song I've ever downloaded, I wish it had made the album, but so grateful it was free.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
Love it or hate it?

It hits with me - and on a FREE MP3 download (at the time of writing).

5th Avenue : a bonus track on some versions of The Diving Board

'I stumbled down 5th Avenue
In the winter time - 1982
No heavy coat, thin pair of shoes
In the rush hour crowd, on 5th Avenue

I thought I saw someone I knew
Turned out to be no one but you
Something borrowed, something blue
Ducked in a doorway on 5th Avenue

Chorus:
All my crimes come back to haunt me
Every building seems to judge
Standing tall and looking down
Like fingers pointing from above
On 5th Avenue, on 5th Avenue
The party's over on 5th Avenue

Fortune finds the chosen few
Fools just find someone like you
Build a bank, or you buy a zoo
Monkeys and money on 5th Avenue

Snow falls on 5th Avenue
Your old man is on the evening news
Hard to believe how far he flew
Down, all the way down to 5th Avenue'

(Chorus x 2 )
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a promo track from Elton John's new album 'The Diving Board', which is released later this month (the 16th, I believe). It is a bit slow moving but you can instantly tell this is an Elton song. Although I must admit I did enjoy this it isn't one of his 'great' type tracks. It is worth listening to though, especially whilst at the moment this is being given away.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
You would believe on first hearing that you know this song backwards, same piano, arrangement, phraseology, sentiment and message.....listen again. This is a deeper, mellower "Reg" slowed and matured like a fine wine (or cheese) by age. His voice is deeper and it is clear that the changes in his lifestyle are reflected here.....in my view for the better. No more Crocodile Rock-ing and Fighting on Saturday nights for Mr John. He simply has nothing to kick out about now and probably doesn't have the energy......it shows but still it has charm and the wisdom of the sage....I like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
This fits in well with the rest of the album (which is excellent). Not sure why this track is not included in the main release. As a free taster there's no point - you can listen to bits of all the tracks on Amazon or iTunes. 5th Avenue is openly available to everyone on Amazon and not limited just to reward to people who bought the album. I don't get the marketing, but thanks for the track.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
I am a huge Elton John fan and there are always a classic or two amongst the tracks on his latter albums. This could be one such track. Have given it a few listens - needs a couple more - that alone suggests that it is worth it so not a bad song. And as a free download can one really complain ?

It grew on me and I can't understand why this is not on the Diving Board album. It certainly stands up amongst the other tracks there and would have certainly enhanced it further.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Elton is a great Pianist, Composer & Singer. Why don't they put CD's in Jewel Cases any longer, it is a much sturdier way to store CD's than the cardboard mounts. It would not be so bad if the Cardboard mounts could be displayed in a Plastic Case!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 September 2013
This is a good song from the wonderful Elton John nice tune with real depth,i just love Elton he is a fantastic ability to write songs that hit the right notes,i think the album which this song is on is a good sound from a brilliant musician and writer well worth the buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
I've always looked forward to his new lp's (showing my age!) this suggests the new release is going to be good.
In soite of being a life long fan I've been dissapointed in some of his live performances of late this sounds like a welcome return to form
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.