Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return of Reg
Elton John returns from the wilderness pantomime years. After all those wishy washy albums and soundtracks Reginald Dwight has released something worth listening to which is refreshing to the ears. I have heard tracks from the forthcoming cd 'The Diving Board' which hark back to the superb Americana years particularly the album 'Tumbleweed Connection'. This track '5th...
Published 20 months ago by Mr Jelly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good song
A pleasant song to listen to. Very like some of his other work but all in all I might be tempted to buy the album
Published 18 months ago by Mrs. Ann Millar


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return of Reg, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5th Avenue (MP3 Download)
Elton John returns from the wilderness pantomime years. After all those wishy washy albums and soundtracks Reginald Dwight has released something worth listening to which is refreshing to the ears. I have heard tracks from the forthcoming cd 'The Diving Board' which hark back to the superb Americana years particularly the album 'Tumbleweed Connection'. This track '5th Avenue' frustratingly is not available on the UK release of 'The Diving Board' either on Deluxe or Super Deluxe Editions why? The American version released by Target includes '5th Avenue' plus another exclusive track. Come on Amazon snidge that track aswell and make it available to download free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5th Avenue Review, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5th Avenue (MP3 Download)
In more recent years, Elton John has strayed away from the Pop/Rock hits of his hayday, and after the release of 'The Captain And The Kid', he stated he felt he no longer felt the need to write pop songs. This was a fantastic decision, because its allowed him to explore (and excuse the pun) more avenues. This song was initially due for 'The Diving Board', but dropped. If this was because the rest of the album is better, then I cannot wait, because this song is phenomenal. The piano and vocals, and the stripped back instrumentation (organ, minimal percussion, etc), just makes the song feel so intimate, so graceful, and the song itself is beautifully written. Possibly the best free song I've ever downloaded, I wish it had made the album, but so grateful it was free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New Track, 3 Sept. 2013
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5th Avenue (MP3 Download)
This is a promo track from Elton John's new album 'The Diving Board', which is released later this month (the 16th, I believe). It is a bit slow moving but you can instantly tell this is an Elton song. Although I must admit I did enjoy this it isn't one of his 'great' type tracks. It is worth listening to though, especially whilst at the moment this is being given away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MARMITE moment?, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5th Avenue (MP3 Download)
Love it or hate it?

It hits with me - and on a FREE MP3 download (at the time of writing).

5th Avenue : a bonus track on some versions of The Diving Board

'I stumbled down 5th Avenue
In the winter time - 1982
No heavy coat, thin pair of shoes
In the rush hour crowd, on 5th Avenue

I thought I saw someone I knew
Turned out to be no one but you
Something borrowed, something blue
Ducked in a doorway on 5th Avenue

Chorus:
All my crimes come back to haunt me
Every building seems to judge
Standing tall and looking down
Like fingers pointing from above
On 5th Avenue, on 5th Avenue
The party's over on 5th Avenue

Fortune finds the chosen few
Fools just find someone like you
Build a bank, or you buy a zoo
Monkeys and money on 5th Avenue

Snow falls on 5th Avenue
Your old man is on the evening news
Hard to believe how far he flew
Down, all the way down to 5th Avenue'

(Chorus x 2 )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to basics & back to his best, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5th Avenue (MP3 Download)
Elton back to what he does best... simple production.

Great lyrics from Bernie coupled with a typical Elton melody.

Top class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 8 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5th Avenue (MP3 Download)
I'm sure Elton's new album is going to rocket (man) to the top of the charts! This track is quality and hopefully a taster of what's to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5th Avenue (MP3 Download)
Great song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Elton John, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5th Avenue (MP3 Download)
excellant recording love it and have had hours of pleasant listening and will go back for more music very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of his albums so far, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5th Avenue (MP3 Download)
Loved the mellow tones and thoughtful prose of these songs . The view from the diving board and Oscar Wilde gets out were two tracks I liked also a Town called Jubilee in fact there wasn't really an ordinary song on the album they were all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elton John's best song in a long time..., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5th Avenue (MP3 Download)
...and strangely, not on The Diving Board album. This was cut from the original mix, and although I'm satisfied with the new album, I think this should have been included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

5th Avenue
5th Avenue by Elton John
Buy MP3 Song£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews