Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars257
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2015
Easy listening as always
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
elton john is a genius as is bernie taupin two of the best song writers ever not a duff track
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
I really like this. Cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Nearly worn out now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
Let's say that: this album divides Elton Fans. Well, it's uncomparable with 90's album like The One and Big Picture, where music and voice sounds over-produced. Here we have an intimate and cohesive approach between Elton , legendary producer T-Bone and extra-legendary liricist Bernie Taupin. A 3-piece-band (piano, bass, drums), a voice that sounds live, with lonely touches of guitars, brass and strings. AND A PIANO UPFRONT in all the songs.
SOMETIMES the MUSIC SPEACK for ITSELF, and REACH the POINT!
MY QUICKSAND is intense, deepest vocal of a man speaking of a decadent poet, DIVING BOARD is Nina Simone-esque (as described by the faboulous 5-star "THE INDIPEDWNT REVIEW") and takes you in a space where's there's no time.. Elton's voice sounds warmer and Over-Confidential than EVER.
OSCAR WILDE GETS OUT seems the simplest way to go back to origins, musically, sounding new and fresh at the same time, while THE BALLAD of BLIND TOM sounds raucous and direct.

A very BRAVE Album from Elton John, not just the Star, but The Man who LOVES and LIVES with MUSIC.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
There are a number of artists from the '60s and '70's who are past their peak and this includes Rod Stewart, Paul McCartney and David Bowie, Kate Bush and of course Elton. They all struggled in the late '80s and '90s but have re-established themselves solidly and consistently in this new century, churning out musical product with a quality that puts newer artists to shame. The big hits are missing but the albums are wonderful. Maybe I am only fired up by nostalgia but when these people put new albums out I am always there downloading them on the day of release. This album fits right in there, well done Elton, keep it up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
it was good thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Elton at his best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
After the brilliance of his last album The Captain & The Kid, there was much hope this would continue on what has been a fine run of recent albums for Elton. Sadly though much of this album is instantly forgettable, bland and lacks the craft and poignancy of so much of his work. The album starts well enough with for me the best song Oceans Away, a beautiful emotive ballad that tugs at the heart strings, but after that apart from the decent Home Again and a Town Called Jubilee, the rest just is all much of a very dull muchness. A shame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
gift - for me :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)