Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful album
This millennium in his albums (if not some side projects) Elton has been intent on re-establishing himself as a musical artist to be taken seriously, rather than a declining purveyor of plastic pop and inconsistent albums. He has made good progress; with The Diving Board he has arrived. That is not to say it will suit all Elton fans. Amid the exciting buzz of praise,...
Published 9 months ago by John C. Davies

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not his best!
Published 2 days ago by Gary S.


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful album, 16 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: The Diving Board (Audio CD)
This millennium in his albums (if not some side projects) Elton has been intent on re-establishing himself as a musical artist to be taken seriously, rather than a declining purveyor of plastic pop and inconsistent albums. He has made good progress; with The Diving Board he has arrived. That is not to say it will suit all Elton fans. Amid the exciting buzz of praise, there have been some dissenting voices. But my own doubts when underwhelmed by first impressions of lead single Home Again and a live version of upbeat Mexican Vacation have been well and truly laid to rest.

Don't expect an album full of spectacular tracks, catchy pop, instant classic singles or a return to hard-driving 70s rock. Pared back to piano-bass-drum trio, with striking piano to the fore, The Diving Board's strength comes from its cohesive mix of consistent, at times surprising, pleasures and tracks that grow. I certainly won't be skipping any.

The Diving Board is a labour of love, which gathers r&b, gospel, jazz and classical influences, with sumptuous or tender ballads, a few upbeat numbers and three brief "Dream" piano interludes acting like palate cleansers between tasty courses. It may remind at times of the early Elton John and Tumbleweed Connection albums, Blue Moves, Songs from the West Coast and even (superior) hints of Lestat, or what that musical might have been. Yet while it's familiar it's also bold and intriguing- a tremendous cumulative experience for me, rounded off by a sublime title track, that lifted me to places Elton's music hasn't taken me since Captain Fantastic.

Yes, this is the Elton album I've waited 38 long years for. It's deep, warm, dark, rich and wonderful. I hope you enjoy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This time you can believe the hype..., 16 Sep 2013
By 
When the news broke that Elton John's next album would be a return to the early days of his recording career I thought to myself where have I heard that before. Oh yes I remember. On just about all of Elton's post 2000 albums something similar has been said about those albums. So when I heard that this album would feature primarily piano, bass and drums with guitar thrown in here and there, which is a return to Elton's early band of himself, Dee Murray on bass and Nigel Olsson on drums, I was not going to let myself get sucked in to the same hype we've heard for the last 12 years or so.

And then I got a hold of a pre-release of the album. I have been listening for a solid week and I am thoroughly enjoying "The Diving Board". What surprises me the most is how well the songs work with the band configuration of a trio. There is an energy that has been lacking on some of Elton's recent work but it is back on this newest album, his first solo album since 2006.

Anyone expecting to hear "The Bitch Is Back" or "Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting" or are comparing this album to the "classic years" that's just silly and a mistake. Oh he still rocks out in concert but you're not going to get that on new Elton albums these days. That's just not where he is these days.

What I will say is that this album is the best thing he's done since "Songs From The West Coast" and it can stand on its own next to Elton's best work. The up tempo tunes all work. They all pass the skip test. The ballads are what Elton has always done best and he does not disappoint here. "Oceans Away" and "Voyeur" are the standouts for me as well as the single "Home Again". But's it's the up tempo tunes that are what surprised me the most. They carry the album in my opinion. For once the hype is justified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Diving Board, 12 Oct 2013
In the last few years every new studio album released by Elton John has been hailed by both critics and fans as his best work in decades. The Diving Board has done exactly that, even surpassing it's recent predecessors! It's been well documented that Elton had a lot of time to live with the finished body of work and had returned to studio to improve upon it. This payed off as we are left with an outstanding body of music!

The star tracks are the bluesy country flavoured Can't Stay Alone Tonight; the previous title track Voyeur, of which could easily have been released as a single with it's beautiful harmonies and unique bass section; and The New Fever Waltz with it's somber tune and piano keys reminiscent of Carla Etude. The songs are all a very beautiful and melodic that cross a range of genre from piano rock and roll, blues, country and jazz . This mixed bag of genres are married together by three short instrumentals that divide the album and gives the listener a break before the next selection plays.

Of all the versions out there, I prefer the double cd with all the bonus material on the second disc as I find it demanding to listen to a lengthy album with numerous songs.

The piano, drums and bass themed album is well structured and Elton John reminds us what a great musician and artist he is by stripping down the music to show it has substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 16 Nov 2013
This has been reviewed many times but I noticed a few detrimental remarks which I fail to understand. Elton was criticised as singing out of key by one particular reviewer. Well, Elton's voice may not be in its zenith now but he has never sung out of key before so why would he start now?? I found the production on this to be really thoughtful and bordering on minimalistic but the overall effect was spot on. Some of his previous albums like The Big Picture and even as far back as Elton John have maybe suffered from over production, yet we now have detractors saying that this latest offering is bland. It is unrealistic to expect something like Goodbye Yellow Brick Road 40 years on and besides, things have moved on. However, I regard this as one of his career best but for totally different reasons than his 70's output. I think we should stop trying to make comparisons and just enjoy this for what it is which is a superbly well written album. The Captain and The Kid was a return to form, this is even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elton still has it, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Adrian Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Why did I buy this. I still have a great respect for Elton and his music. I thought I would give it a try following the decent Leon Russell joint venture. This album contains few outstanding tracks but the standard is consistently good. The piano playing is probably the best it has ever been. It sounds as if Elton is still enjoying creating and playing music. Bernie Taupin still has something relevant to say. The whole package continues to grow in an unassuming way. Very enjoyable. He won't necessarily attract new fans but he will delight long standing fans with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Piano is simply outstanding on great songs, 22 Oct 2013
The Piano on this album is simply sublime as track after track opens with some memorable piano tunes. Add good lyrics and decent songs and this ranks as one of EJ's and BT's finest moments.

I confess to being a "semi" Elton fan. For all his classic albums like Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, Sleeping With The Past and Too Low For Zero (I'm Still Standing) there has often followed two or three frustrating albums perhaps memorable only for the odd single. So his greatest hits is the next best option! But after reading positive reviews in the media I decided to buy it and am glad I did.

This album ranks up there with his best work and along with Macca this week EJ is showing age is no barrier when you have supreme musical talent.

Its hard to single out specific tracks because the standard here is so consistent and is almost a greatest hits part 3 on its own. Just enjoy Piano man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elton John - On a another timeless flight, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The narrative around Elton John's new album "Diving Board" is about a return to a stripped down, sparse piano and lyric-driven sensibility of his early days. Go back to 2001 and the same claims were also being made for the excellent "Songs from the West Coast". But on this album Elton John has again enlisted the producing "gun for hire" T Bone Burnett, fresh from work with Diana Krall, Steve Earle, Gregg Allman and of course rekindling the link with Elton forged on 2011's "The Union". The Burnett and John link up adds new dimensions not least with Bernie Taupin firing on all lyrical cylinders and the producer essentially dismissing band support. The result is that "The Diving Board" is a fine album recalling the wonders of the early Elton which got lost over the years in "Tantrums and Tiaras". So it back to a proper emphasis on songs and all the better for it. Opener "Oceans Away" sets the tone with Elton singing better than ever as and where he opens with the confession that "I hung out with the old folks/ in the hope that I'd get wise/I was trying to bridge the gap, between the great divide". Other great songs follow not least the haunting "Town called jubilee" and the brilliant standout "My Quicksand" which is one of the better songs he has written in years. The album is punctuated with 3 "Dream" piano interludes and the sumptuous third of these is also Keith Jarrett like in composition.

Songs like "Can I stay alone tonight" hark back to that vintage era of "Tumbleweed Connection" as does the splendid "Take This Dirty Water" where Elton sings sagely "If you break some bones on landing/ You'll know you're built to last". It is three of the darker songs here however which impress most. "Oscar Wilde gets out" charting the writers sad departure to France post Reading Jail is an automatic start for downloads. The "New Fever Waltz" would not go amiss on a Tom Waits album while the highly reflective almost Randy Newman style song "Home Again" is pure class.

"The Diving Board" is a master class in song writing and sees Elton John at his most intimate and introspective. Perhaps it is not sardine packed with obvious hits but taken as a whole it is his most solid and worthwhile album in a decade. The old Rocket Man has got back into groove, and achieved lift off. Part of this stems from the fact that he is clearly enjoying himself greatly not least on the evidence of "Mexican Vacation (Kids in Candlelight)" and the excellent bluesy title track. This reviewer would not claim to be a fully paid up member of the Elton John fan club but this is one record of his that you really need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elton at his very best., 29 Nov 2013
By 
David C. Oldroyd "Madhatter" (Henlow,Beds, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diving Board (Audio CD)
Love this album. Voice is more controlled and assured. He seems to have rediscovered a zest for music that he lost a touch. Such a gifted musician on top form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elton John back to 70s Classic Form, 1 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: The Diving Board (Audio CD)
For those of you who think that Elton John was at his peak with the likes of Madman Across The Water, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road then this album is a must buy. Too early to say if the lyrics will become classics like Tiny Dancer, but the performances are in a class of their own. Stripped back to a simple band, and then recorded with minimal studio magic has resulted in John's vocals and piano work to the for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Diving Board, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I went off Elton a few years ago having been repeatedly disappointed with the quality of his later albums. However, having read a few reviews here I gave the Diving Board listen and was very happy indeed. This is the Elton I loved - great melodies, the piano to the fore. This deluxe album is well worth the money and I highly recommend it for newcomers or older fans like me. This has been well described by others here so no need to go over it again , Just listen and enjoy - Reg still has it! MOC - DUBLIN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diving Board
The Diving Board by Elton John
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews