Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's actually a good tablet and very good value
The Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7" model seems to have been extremely popular with my friends and relatives recently. Thanks to the good name associated with the brand and keen pricing it appears to have become the model of choice for those looking for a good all-rounder tablet without spending a small fortune and it's certainly why I ended up ordering this one. Mine is the...
Published 6 months ago by Whatchamacallit

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice bit of kit at a great price, but faulty.
I bought this from Amazon themselves at the stunning price of £89.99, but when it arrived, the touch screen was faulty. From time to time it would either not work at all, or it would go absolutely mental! I tried to arrange a replacement from Amazon, but that option was not available due to lack of stock (seriously Amazon?). I therefore got a full refund, and was...
Published 6 months ago by BDW Ashley


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's actually a good tablet and very good value, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Whatchamacallit (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7-inch - (Golden Brown, Wi-Fi) (Personal Computers)
The Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7" model seems to have been extremely popular with my friends and relatives recently. Thanks to the good name associated with the brand and keen pricing it appears to have become the model of choice for those looking for a good all-rounder tablet without spending a small fortune and it's certainly why I ended up ordering this one. Mine is the golden brown coloured version which looks a lot nicer than it sounds, and I bought it direct from Amazon. It's physically a little smaller than the Tab2 model it replaces and is comfortable to hold in the hand. It now features a micro USB connection rather than the Samsung connector which featured on the earlier models which makes it far simpler to connect to other equipment and also to recharge it since that connector also features on most modern mobile phones.

Set-up is pretty easy even for those new to Android, but anyone with an Android smartphone will be familiar with the way it works. It helps if you already have a Google account but that can be done online beforehand if preferred, or even ignored altogether (that's what one friend of mine has done). Battery life has been very good so far and I've found the tablet performs well at most things - even for some of the tasks that are more demanding of its technical capabilities such as watching films, and although the screen isn't as high-resolution as some of its more expensive competitors it does still look good. This model is also likely to benefit from upgrades to the Android software in the future; they're issued free of charge by Samsung and the much talked about `KitKat' update is expected at some point in 2014. One thing I've noticed to be missing from the Tab 3 is the Samsung SmartStay feature which detects when you're looking at the screen and keeps it on. Although the system isn't perfect it does seem to be a backward step not to offer it any more on what's supposed to be an upgraded model.

For protection I bought the IVSO® Slim-fit Stand Cover Case for Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7.0 Tablet (Black) which is actually a newer version of the one I'd bought for my old tablet. That has proven to be very good which is why I was happy to get another. As for the tablet there's actually little change over the old Tab 2, and I don't think it's worth buying this one if you already have the old one. However, for newcomers I think that it works well as a simple tablet and it would make a great introduction to anyone looking for their first one. I'm not new to tablets or to Android but can still say that as a simple, small tablet it's just right for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A safe rather leading edge proposition, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Paul Madge (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7-inch - (Golden Brown, Wi-Fi) (Personal Computers)
I am a keen iPad user and when the opportunity came to get one of these Galaxy Tab 3 (7") models I thought I'd try it as it's more compact than a full size iPad and much cheaper than an iPad Mini.

As I see it these are the pros and cons of this latest model, the Tab 3, 7 inch tablet from Samsung;

Pros

- Samsung build quality and pedigree - it looks stylish and feels well made.
- The size is ideal to hold in one hand (size = 111.1 x 188 x 9.9mm and it weighs in at 300g) - the bezel around the display is slimmer than the previous model.
- The 1024 x 600 pixel (WSVGA), 16M colour, TFT display offers a reasonably sharp image even when magnifying a web page or text but it's certainly no retina display - colours are good, although, not as vibrant as the AMOLED screens on some Galaxy products or certain competitors such as the Nexus 7.
- The Tab 3 sports a dual core 1.2GHz processor plus 1GB RAM and 8GB of built in storage expandable by 32GB through use of the Micro SD slot. I am using a 32Gb Micro SD card and the Samsung site says 32GB max but other sites suggest you can use 64GB. The SD card can be encrypted to make the data unreadable if it is removed.
- The overall speed of the device is adequate and it keeps pace with demands but performance is more Ford Focus than Ferrari.
- It has front and rear cameras - the front is 1.5MP for video calling via Skype etc. and the rear one is 3MP - their quality is okay but particularly the rear camera is modest by contemporary standards.
- You can lock and unlock the device using facial recognition or a PIN if you wish. If you face isn't recognised or light levels are too low you can unlock the tablet using the PIN - this system works well.
- The twin (stereo) speakers are quite effective considering the size of the unit plus it has a earphone socket.
- Battery life is reasonable - around 6 hours on average and the tablet can charge from a USB port or mains charger.
- Good range of connectivity - USB support (via micro USB socket), Bluetooth, DLNA support plus it has an accelerometer, geo-magnetic and light sensor support as well as GPS/GLONASS location finding technology. Also, it supports both 2.4 and 5 Ghz WiFi.

Cons

- Comes loaded with the older Android Jelly Bean 4.1 OS overlayed with a Samsung interface (the 8" model runs Android version 4.2.2) - I don't get why there's a step down from the latest iteration of Android in a product that is just being launched.
- The Android/Samsung interface is not as intuitive or as slick as the iPad in my opinion (but it is just that, an opinion).
- Considering Samsung have made their name through their expertise in screens the resolution of this screen is not by any means "leading edge" compared, for example, to the Google Nexus 7 although it is certainly adequate.
- No flash on the rear facing camera.
- No SIM slot for mobile data on this model.
- No iPad style automatic cover lock.
- Quite pricey for the spec on offer especially with only 8Gb of built in storage.
- Samsung's Kies connectivity software is quite basic and can be temperamental.
- Nothing else obvious as yet.

This is one of those devices that works fine and delivers what it claims, but it lacks the emotional appeal of some other gadgets I own. I also think given that this is a brand new model, the specifications are modest by contemporary standards, delivering adequate but not outstanding performance. However, the Samsung pedigree ensures quality, support and immunity from the dangers of buying an unknown tablet plus, the size strikes an ideal balance between being portable, usable and viewable.

As my old schoolmaster used to say "he'll pass but could do better" - that's exactly where I am with this latest offering from Samsung. Finally, consider the 8" version of the Galaxy Tab which offers a step up in both screen size and specification (faster processor & more memory), although at present, the price is a fair step up too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7-inch - (Golden Brown, Wi-Fi) (Personal Computers)
Very classy, great price. My son was over the moon with it. I already have an older model and the touch screen is better on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good handy tablet, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7-inch - (Golden Brown, Wi-Fi) (Personal Computers)
This is a really good, handy sized tablet. It occasionally can be a little slow but on the whole it is great for streaming, checking emails and using the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7-inch - (Golden Brown, Wi-Fi) (Personal Computers)
i like this tablet . i bought it as convenience for when i am not taking my Ipad . Some apps do cause this to crash/freeze which is a bit frustrating but for a general use tablet its great and i am not dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7-inch - (Golden Brown, Wi-Fi) (Personal Computers)
Fab tablet at fab price. I wanted to get a tablet for my 12 year old for Xmas but didn't want to spend a fortune, was thrilled when this arrived. I love the fact it is a mini tablet and fits neatly in your hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smart and handy, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7-inch - (Golden Brown, Wi-Fi) (Personal Computers)
It's very smart and easy to personalize device.I loved it handy size and unusual colour ;)
Great screen, a lot of apps and the price is perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars samsung tablet..., 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7-inch - (Golden Brown, Wi-Fi) (Personal Computers)
I love it!!!first I paid an Amazing price , best price in the market, children love it i would really love to buy another but still paying xmas gift lol....I would really recommended to anyone who does not care to showing off an Ipad!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tablet, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7-inch - (Golden Brown, Wi-Fi) (Personal Computers)
This is a really handy item. I can check emails and use the web easily. Good price. I Recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samsung Galaxy tab, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7-inch - (Golden Brown, Wi-Fi) (Personal Computers)
Absolutely brilliant! Bought as a gift for my husband and he loves it. Small enough to take anywhere but big enough to see screen easily...... I have been replaced ;0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews