Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspector Calls: York Notes for GCSE 2010
This is an excellent buy for GCSE English students. Everything is clearly explained and is invaluable for writing essays on 'An Inspector Calls'.
Published on 11 Oct. 2011 by Heidi

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK... for a general overview!
I am sitting the GCSE AQA 2010 English Literature Course and this is one of the available options. I ordered this book as they are known to aid the reader through the analysis. I was a bit disappointed when I bought the book as it was quite basic. It seemed to be quite childish, focusing on aesthetics and colour as oppose to content. The book itself is good at aiding your...
Published on 15 Jan. 2012 by Momanium


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK... for a general overview!, 15 Jan. 2012
I am sitting the GCSE AQA 2010 English Literature Course and this is one of the available options. I ordered this book as they are known to aid the reader through the analysis. I was a bit disappointed when I bought the book as it was quite basic. It seemed to be quite childish, focusing on aesthetics and colour as oppose to content. The book itself is good at aiding your revision and gives a general overview but not specific analysis. York Notes Advanced are much more appropriate as they are designed for A- level but are great, even for GCSE. Though there is not an advanced version for this book... so this will have to do!

Generally: 3 Stars(It'll do the job... just)
Aesthetics: Nice
Content: Fairly basic but good for a general overview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspector Calls: York Notes for GCSE 2010, 11 Oct. 2011
This is an excellent buy for GCSE English students. Everything is clearly explained and is invaluable for writing essays on 'An Inspector Calls'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 May 2011
I brought this book for my 15 year old daughter who was studying an Inspector calls for her GCSE.

I am pleased to say she got an A*! SHE LOVED THE BOOK AND RECOMMENDS IT!

I am a happy mummy! Buy buy buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 30 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this book in preperation for my GCSE English literature exam.

It is a very good book and has helped my greatly. It was very useful to have to use alongside class notes.

However, the words do go into the binding of the book (especially on the right pages) meaning you have bend the pages outwards whilst pushing the spine towards you to read the first words of each line.

Apart from this setback which can get very annoying at times, the quality of the content is very good. I would recommend but do be aware of the issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pretty much perfect, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm 16 and currently using this book to help me with my English Literature GCSE. Time will tell for my result but I do believe this book has helped me boost my grade dramatically. Although the characterisation section lacks, there is a detailed step by step analysis of the entire play and details on themes and how to boost my grade as well as background information. It makes 'An Inspector Calls' more interesting and I prefer this revision to the other ones because this book makes a lot of sense and opens up my own ideas which come in very useful during practice essays. I'm achieving high As/low A*s in the practice questions and doubt I would be without this book! A great purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars York Notes 'An Inspector Calls', 16 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This larger version of York Notes took me by surprise and to begin with I wasn't too sure. This was augmented becasue the text is extremely close to the spine of the book on the inside which makes it difficult to read.

However, the book itself is very good. It's useful for GCSE because it has information presented in an accessible way and ranging across the assessment objectives that are required for the new GCSE Literature and Language exams. The addition of some colour and more visuals together with the updated layout make this a useful and helpful resource for teachers and students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money!, 30 Jun. 2014
Helped me do much during my exams and actually helped me learn information about each character in depth, well worth getting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for revision, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book helps you understand the characters, plot and story of the book. Great for my sons English Lit exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars York Notes on "An Inspector Calls"., 25 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my grandson who has found them to be very helpful in squeezing the highest grades out of his English Lit. coursework.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and concise explanation, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book covers the key areas of the novel "heroes". The explanations are clear, though often seem too basic. The book should be used to base revision around, as it is not very good for referencing particular themes. May be well used in conjunction with
http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/gcsebitesize/english_literature/dramainspectorcalls/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews