Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a haunting gorgeous outing from the MSP
Rewind the film - the new album by the Manic Street Preachers. Been listening to it non-stop since I got it. It is a jewel of a record. Gentle, fragile, with emphasis on acoustic guitar. Add in spooky electro-pop and nods to sixties soul. Its themes are childhood memories, loss, nostalgia. Each song has a glorious tune, they snag in the mind. Its haunting but uplifting...
Published 7 months ago by Liam Carson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit disappointed
I suppose I may get to like it better after a few more listens but it didn't strike me as one of their best. Having got older with the Manics, I appreciate the need to do something different but this was too much too quickly.
Published 20 days ago by Siouxsie


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a haunting gorgeous outing from the MSP, 16 Sep 2013
This review is from: Rewind The Film (Audio CD)
Rewind the film - the new album by the Manic Street Preachers. Been listening to it non-stop since I got it. It is a jewel of a record. Gentle, fragile, with emphasis on acoustic guitar. Add in spooky electro-pop and nods to sixties soul. Its themes are childhood memories, loss, nostalgia. Each song has a glorious tune, they snag in the mind. Its haunting but uplifting stuff. They locate the beauty in sadness. Highlights include 'This sullen Welsh Heart' - 'the act of creation saves us from despair' - and title track, 'Rewind the film' ('I want to feel small/lying in my mother's arms/playing my old records/hoping they'll never stop'). Check it out, it is a joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Manics Masterpiece, 17 Sep 2013
By 
J. Roberts "Jinny" (Maryland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rewind The Film (Audio CD)
This is not a rock and roll album. I also maintain that it bears little resemblance to any other Manic Street Preachers album, except perhaps `This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours', and there are still differences.
The album opens with `This Sullen Welsh Heart', and Nicky Wire proclaiming "I don't want my children to grow up like me", setting an immediately reflective tone which is in place for most of the album. This song also features vocals from Lucy Rose, a delicately-voiced, critically-acclaimed singer from Warwickshire whose vocals here perfectly compliments James Dean Bradfield's, whilst also suiting Nicky Wire's soul-searching lyrics, such as "It's not enough to succeed, others must fail". Dissatisfaction, a common Manics theme, is here in abundance.
`Show Me The Wonder', the first single from the album has definitely grown on me. To begin with, I wasn't entirely sure about it, and it is certainly a lot poppier and more upbeat than a lot of Manics singles, there is no denying that when they want to, the Manics can write a catchy song, albeit using lyrics about "the birthplace of the Universe". For this single, they have embraced an old, nostalgic, cabaret style sound, with plenty of trumpets. It works well, after the initial shock of hearing the manics complete departure from anything resembling their rock `n' roll/punk roots.
My personal highlight of the album was the title track. `Rewind the film' contains vocals from Richard Hawley, with James Dean Bradfield joining in approximately halfway through. I consider the song a masterpiece. Richard Hawley plays Hawaiian guitar which begins beautiful, delicately, about thirty seconds in, like some exotic flower opening. The musical arrangement here is stunning, containing viola, violin and cello, and Hawley's voice has scarcely sounded so good, deep, resonant, but also strangely beautiful, with the entire song playing out in a hazy, dreamlike way. This song contains many elements of a piece of music called `A Little Girl Lost' by David Axelrod, but the original version contained no vocals, and in my opinion, Richard Hawley's vocals lift this into classic Manics territory. The title is actually very apt, since this piece of music reminds me of a film soundtrack. It would greatly suit a David Lynch film, or perhaps a Luc Besson film.
`Builder Of Routines' starts with an immediately distinctive intro using what sounds like a Xylophone. This song contains a sad lyric about hating middle-age, and startlingly, the lyric "so tired of being 4 real". Again, this song, in the minor key, and featuring sad-sounding trumpets, conveys many of Wire's favourite themes of disillusionment, dissatisfaction, and the feeling of a man trying to come to terms with getting older - something which crops up frequently on this album.
`Four Lonely Roads' is easily one of the most beautiful songs on the album, featuring vocals entirely from Cate Le Bon, a distinctively voiced Welsh singer who embraces many of the same lyrical themes as the Manics. Here, her voice is understated and pretty, towards the end accompanied by beautiful pianos. The arrangement creates a song which is simultaneously sad/beautiful, a juxtaposition which the Manics have always used to great effect. Wire's lyrics, about being `trapped in skin' and `darker hell' have been softened slightly, by using Cate Le Bon as a vocalist. It works well.
`I Miss The Tokyo Skyline' is another of Nicky Wire's travel stories, featuring a lovely piece of violin music and Wire's Love for the modernity of Tokyo and his fondness for it, encompassing the "non-communication", "emptiness" and silence. Musically, this is one of the more uplifting tracks on the album, mainly due to the enchanting violins which appear throughout.
"Anthem For A Lost Cause" a straightforward acoustic ballad, but with more violins, and more keyboards from the fantastic Loz Williams, contains more tender lyrical themes, accompanied by James' gentle acoustic guitar. "Redemption, love and departure" are mentioned as well as a "glittering prize", perhaps a sly nod towards Simple Minds, one of Nicky Wire's favourite bands. The entire song evokes a sense of loss, a common Manics theme.
Nicky Wire takes the lead vocals on `As Holy As The Soil (That Buries Your Skin)' and I maintain that he has come a long way, vocally, from the days of `Wattsville Blues'. Whilst he lacks the same vocal strength and dexterity as James, his voice is in no way unpleasant. Understated, yes, but not unattractive. More trumpets feature here, and saxophone, courtesy of Sean Read, as Nicky sings what essentially is a love song. Changed days for the Manics, but that's a good thing. Maturity brings wisdom, which Nicky possesses in abundance. This lyric also shows Wire's ability to jump from the mundane to the grandiose: "As Holy As The Roman Empire, as holy as the coffee you made for us". Sung by any other lyricist there could be a risk of this sounding awkward or stilted, but with Nicky it comes across as sincere and pure.
`There Ways To See Despair' is another minor key ballad, containing one of Nicky's most confessional lyrics on this album, but also contains an excellent guitar solo which sounds, to my ear, like something David Gilmour might play on `Dark Side Of The Moon'. This isn't a happy song, Nicky revealing that he has seen all three ways to see despair, but hinting that there is also a fourth way, which is yet to come. Perhaps Nicky was on a low when he wrote this, as there seems to be more hope for the future, elsewhere on the album. Nevertheless, the song sounds fantastic, mainly down to aforementioned guitar solo, and Sean Moore's never anything less than fantastic drumming being turned up quite high in the mix.
`Running Out Of Fantasy' is yet another of Nicky Wire's exceptionally confessional and endearingly honest lyrics, and the lyric "I'm old, I'm strange, I'm confidential" is confessional in the same tradition as, for example, `Born A Girl' or `Ready For Drowning', in fact several of the songs from `This Is My Truth, Tell Me Yours". These are definitely not `throwaway' lyrics, nor could anyone ever accuse Nicky Wire of being lyrically lazy. Yes, the Manics have reached middle-age, but they have definitely not become complacent. `Running Out Of Fantasy', a wistful, bittersweet acoustic ballad show a band who are still trying to make sense of the world around them, and perhaps, like most us, struggling to do so: "The Obsession with change has bled me dry".
`Manorbier', an instrumental, has a slow introduction which builds into an uplifting and dreamlike piece of music with more of Loz Williams beautiful keyboards, as well as some soft acoustic guitar which all adds to an atmosphere of beauty - this is definitely one of the Manics most attractive and striking albums, a stark contrast to the likes of `The Holy Bible' or `Journal For Plague Lovers' which were frequently harsh and angular in the great tradition of post-punk, but `Rewind The Film' is certainly no less a work of art than those two albums.
The album closes with another of the album's highlights, the Thatcher-condemning `Thirty-year war'. It's another Manics masterpiece, in my opinion, the type of angry, scornful lyric which Nicky Wire does better than anyone, as he heaps his trademark contempt onto "Old Etonian Scum" and the establishment in general. As a fan, it is pleasing for me to know that the old fire is still there. He is older, and wiser, but nevertheless can still produce polemic better than his contemporaries. His social and political awareness puts the youngsters in today's current crop of bands to shame. This is what great art is for; not just entertainment, but challenging convention, making a point. Musically, the song begins with another nostalgic sounding trumpet solo, moving swiftly into Vangelis-style synths and then a memorable, sing-along chorus, concluding with the question "What is to be done?" Lines such as "blame the poor, praise the rich" really are vintage Manic Street Preachers.
This album is in turns poignant, wistful, reflective, angry, disillusioned, but also, strangely, there are moments of love and hope. It is curiously timeless and cannot be directly placed in a particular musical category, as it spans many different styles and uses a veritable cornucopia of musical instruments. This is part of what makes the Manics so special. They are not afraid of experimentation; there are plenty of musical instruments here - more so than on any other Manics album. What the Manic Street Preachers manage to do is make every one of their albums different to the other in some discernible way. Here, they have created a vast and impressive musical landscape, evoking a myriad of emotions, a variety of moods and a powerful sound. It must be noted that even though they are now firmly rooted in middle-age, there is not a hint of complacency about the Manic Street Preachers. They are not `going through the motions', because if they were, it would come across that way, and it doesn't. There is not a hint of `resting on their laurels' about the Manics, and long may that continue. Even though 2005's `Lifeblood' was a disappointment to me, and many other fans, it wasn't irredeemable and the lyrical themes were still interesting, but ever since then, every Manics album has been of a consistently high standard, and they still continue to explore new musical territory with every album they release. It's ironic that Nicky says in `Builder Of Routines' that he is tired of being `4 real', because as a band, that's exactly what the Manic Street Preachers continue to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Album, 16 Sep 2013
This review is from: Rewind The Film (Audio CD)
I have been waiting for some time for the release of an album that is not only worth buying but that can stand up to some of my favourite albums ever. Rewind The Film is that album. Although it will not make big waves in the world of music it's sheer quality makes it stand out amongst the dross that is currently in the album charts. The greatest achievement of the Manic Street Preachers here is that they have created an album that is so well placed in contrast with their other albums, it's more reflective, more mellow, more melancholic than anything they've done before. There were elements of this more reflective sound in Postcards From A Young Man with despondent songs like Golden Platitudes but Rewind The Film is a seamless album of middle aged reflection and nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An instant, haunting, classic, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rewind The Film (Audio CD)
Probably one of my favourte Manic Street Preachers albums ever, the tracks have a great sound, and as the lyrics sink in you realise just how amazing they really are, gets better every time I listen. The title track, Rewind the Film is a masterpiece of song writing, it evokes so many images and feelings of lost times, set to haunting, beautiful music, but there are plenty of more lively ones too, like Show Me the Wonder to balance. The videos released so far are perfect accompaniments too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Manics album yet!, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rewind the Film (MP3 Download)
The songs stay with you long after the album's finished. The most polished album the Manics have done yet., even better than "This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rewind The Film (Audio CD)
I bought this album a few weeks ago and have listened to it dozens of times - I loved it the first time I heard it, and now I love it even more. There is not one duff track on it, which is very rare for me to say - there are nearly always one or two tracks on any album I like that I tend to skip over all the time as I'm not so keen on them, but not here, every single track is a gem.

Nothing else to say, really - I've been a Manics fan right from the beginning way back in '91 when I wouldn't stop playing Motown Junk at top volume, and I think this album is superb, and James' voices seems to get better and better too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love every track, 30 Oct 2013
This review is from: Rewind The Film (Audio CD)
Every track is beautiful, gently melancholic at times or that heart aching anthemic genius that only the Manics seem to reach... Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album, 30 Oct 2013
This review is from: Rewind The Film (Audio CD)
An outstanding album, it evidences the versatility and brilliant creativity of the band. Superb poignant songs from start to finish, this album deserves all the plaudits it receives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rewind the Film, 28 Oct 2013
This review is from: Rewind The Film (Audio CD)
Album of the year for me - they are the best band on the planet in my opinion, this album is brilliant. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic new sound, 27 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. R. Henson (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rewind The Film (Audio CD)
The album is acoustic and laid back. There's no rock anthems on there, but it's still brilliant. There's some great tunes and James' voice is as strong as it's ever been. I highly recommend it.

There are three duets on the album, which work really well and the guest vocalists suit the sound of the album perfectly.

The stand out tracks for me at the moment are (I Miss the) Tokyo Skyline, and This Sullen Welsh Heart. Personally I think this is a return to form, as I wasn't too keen on Postcards from a Young Man and Send Away the Tigers.

There are some negative reviews on here saying this album isn't traditional Manics rock, but that's not a negative in my opinion. They're simply trying a new direction, which should be commended. If you think about their most acclaimed albums such as the Holy Bible and Everything Must Go, some of the best tracks on there are the slower non-rock ones (Small Black Flowers That Grow In The Sky, This is Yesterday, etc).

The only negative for me is that I would have liked to have seen a more exciting cover for the album. It looks a bit drab! There were some great individual profile shots of the lads taken for the release, they would have looked great on the cover (in the same style as the Everything Must Go artwork).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa441a4)

This product

Rewind the Film
Rewind the Film by Manic Street Preachers
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews