Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Future classic
The Electric Lady is perhaps not as instant as the Archandroid, and the tracks don't gel as well together but who cares about any of that when the tracks are so good? The collaboration with Prince - Give Em What They Love is the highlight here but there is not one filler track on here and Janelle proves herself to be a stylistic chameleon here. The intro which starts off...
Published 12 months ago by @MagnumPIG

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as instantly accessible as her previous album
I loved her last album, and I've seen her live a few times (well worth it if you get the chance - live performances are the speciality of Ms. Janelle; she's built up a fearsome reputation as an incredible stage performer, with justification. Talent, lots of it. I bought this album without even having to think twice about it, as I've been waiting for a long long time for...
Published 9 months ago by Straightforward


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Future classic, 9 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Electric Lady (Audio CD)
The Electric Lady is perhaps not as instant as the Archandroid, and the tracks don't gel as well together but who cares about any of that when the tracks are so good? The collaboration with Prince - Give Em What They Love is the highlight here but there is not one filler track on here and Janelle proves herself to be a stylistic chameleon here. The intro which starts off as an almost spaghetti western theme tune and then evolves into a big orchestral score is a good indication of whats to come. Highly recommended, album of the year and I just hope she gets the mainstream recognition she deserves - a breath of fresh air, both musically and image wise, compared to almost every young female pop act I can think of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Lady (MP3 Download)
I have been looking forward to the release of The Electric Lady literally for the past few months. How would it compare to The ArchAndroid? Had I hyped up the genius of Janelle Monáe so much that this was never going to live up to my level of excitement?

I needn't have worried.

The Electric Lady manages to add to the mythology of Cyndi Mayweather and the world Monáe created with Suites 1-3 of this pop symphony, while also being filled with infectious melodies and meaningful lyrics. At 19 tracks and 67 minutes long it doesn't skimp on quantity, and the quality is as high as ever. Highlights include Givin Em What They Love (a sublime and sexy opening number featuring Prince, of all people), Q.U.E.E.N. (promoting self-acceptance in a much more glamorous and exciting way than anything by Lady Gaga - says a confirmed Gaga-fan), Electric Lady (so good it's contagious). In fact the only song I dislike on the album is Ghetto Woman - the vocal line is nice but the backing seems like a jumble. However, disliking one track out of nineteen is a pretty good ratio.

If you enjoyed The ArchAndroid, you'll enjoy this. If you enjoy soul, funk, pop, r&b, or - indeed - any kind of good music at all, you'll appreciate this.

To sum up: The Electric Lady is the best £6.49 I ever spent and, without doubt, the best album I've heard since The ArchAndroid, it is fantastic and I urge anyone to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous and almost perfect, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Lady (Audio CD)
Delicious, diverse, unique. It's only the irritating and unfunny interludes that let this CD down. Janelle Monae is a very talented lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Janelle Monae - The triumphant return of Cindy Mayweather, 10 Sep 2013
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Electric Lady (Audio CD)
Can Janelle Monae match 2011's masterful "The ArchAndroid"? The answer is too right she can. Ms Monae may cut a diminutive figure but has a talent as big as a continent and the best funk songwriting credentials this side of Prince. The purple genius is also to be found on this new album "The Electric Lady" crooning along with the Atlanta chanteuse on the blues funk of "Given them all my love". It is one of many sterling collaborations on a record which is a daring and massively inventive throughout. It places Monae in pole position when it comes to producing wildly commercial psychedelic funk pop. Hover your needle over any part of the 19 tracks on "The Electric Lady" and rich rewards flow. From the joyous rush of "Dance Apocalyptic" full of pounding rhythms and zombie references- to the nasty funk of Q.U.E.E.N featuring Eryeka Badu - this new album is a veritable jukebox of potential hits.

Again underpinning the album is Monae's playful concept of the personality of Cindy Mayweather her messianic android alter-ego. If you like that sort of thing then fine, but frankly it's the music that counts. Infectious is the key word. The classic pop of "We were Rock n Roll" absolutely defies you to sit still. The joy de vivre of tracks such as the summer fun of "It's code" demands a compulsory smile with Monae often sounding like the young Michael Jackson. Things slow nicely on the eerie ballad "Look into my eyes", while on "Victory" she shows what an impeccable soul talent she is with the best vocal on the album. One small negative are the DJ interludes spaced throughout the album, which you will either love or press fast forward in high irritation. Other standouts include the smooth Latin rhythms of "Dorothy Dandridge Eyes" a song dedicated to, the first African-American actress to be nominated for an Oscar and the bright almost Stevie Wonder inflected ballad "Sally Ride" charting the first American woman to travel in space. The album is rounded off with the bright "What an experience" infused with reggae beats and a melody to die for.

"The Electric Lady" is sheer invention writ large. This is smart intelligent music from an artist entering her stride and picking up the pace. She is now one of the most audacious singer songwriters with a foot in the mainstream but with enough ambition to dominate the planet. One of the songs on the album "Ghetto Woman" is dedicated to her mother and we should thank Mrs Monae Sr for sharing her daughters huge talent with us. "The Electric Lady" like its predecessor has a couple of quirks which could have been ironed out, but perhaps it is these small blemishes on a near perfect beast that makes this album so on the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My love for music restored., 13 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Lady (Audio CD)
I've been a bit out the music scene for the last couple of years because I haven't found much to go gaga over. I've found my reason to start listening once again, this album is just fabulous all the way through so much depth and excitement and raw energy spews from Ms Monae's vocals as well as clean yet surprising production. It's even better to see her live which I was fortunate to get a chance last week. A true artist on all forms. This will be a classic in many years to come.

Thank Ms Monae for restoring my faith in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every song is a gem!, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Lady (Audio CD)
I didn't think anything could top Janelle Monae's debut album the Archandroid, but somehow she has done it! This is very much an album of two parts, the first suite is a guest-star laden collection of hits (and future hits) with some funky grooves and synths reminiscent of very early Prince (who is one of the guest musicians). The second suite is more of a slow burner, and the influence of Stevie Wonder shines through in the jazzy chord progressions of several tracks, in particular Ghetto Woman. All in all, a wonderful album which leaves me eager with anticipation for Ms Monae's next album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good talent spot by Prince..., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Lady (Audio CD)
I can't say that I love every single track - I do skip through some of them but Electric Lady, It's Code and Can't Live Without Your Love are definitely ones that I sing our loud in the car.
Janelle has talent and I may well buy one of her earlier albums to see just how good she is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album., 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Lady (Audio CD)
I don't think I've ever come across such an imaginative album. The tracks all flow together perfectly and are occasionally linked by clever fake radio introductions. This is Janelle Monae so the album takes place in an alternate universe in which androids are outcasts in society, a clever way to address everyday issues in society concerning people who don't quite 'fit the mould'. The album is powerful and, more importantly, very empowering. Try it, I highly recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Lady (MP3 Download)
Loving Electric Lady, however there are a couple of tunes on this album that I'm not fond of. But hey that's just my preference, but in general the album is okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This lady is electric, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Lady (Audio CD)
Janelle Monae is a brilliant recording artist, and this is a very slick concept album with fantastic songs. Repeated listens really pay off, and it is slightly more accessible and trim than her debut album The Archandroid. She explores and fuses genres expertly, but if you're not a fan of RnB (old and new), soul, funk, upbeat pop, hip-hop or related genres, you might not like how the album jumps around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Electric Lady
The Electric Lady by Janelle MonŠe
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews