Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ded Flatbirds are great
A bit of nostalgia this release...

First off, I will clear up the Amazon.co.uk mess up and give you the track listing for the CDs at least, as Amazon have seen fit to omit this once again.

Disc 1:

Song Title Time
1. Women 6:11
2. Rocket 6:09
3. Animal 4:07
4. Love Bites 6:08
5. Pour Some Sugar on Me...
Published 9 months ago by DEATH (Leics Branch)

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Listened to the samples...
...and thought it was crap compared to the originals so didn't buy. Do yourself a favour and buy up the old CDs. You can't go wrong with Leppards originals. What I heard sounded tired and slow and lacked the energy of the original recordings.l Sorry. Wish I could've been more positive.
Published 5 months ago by 81641


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars i perfer the perfection of studio sound but pretty good live so 4 stars, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Original Soundtrack) (MP3 Download)
had hysteria album when it first came out and wish I could of brought that , but for live sound, it rocks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I had hoped!, 14 Nov 2013
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Audio CD)
Def Leppard pretty much soundtracked my adolescent years but the love affair was pretty much over after Hysteria. I still bought the albums and there have been some good points but i missed that youthful energy, the Mutt Lange productions and the unique Def Leppard sound - they seemed to try too hard after Hysteria and be searching how to fit in rather than creating new sounds of their own. To be fair they were on a loser from the start, the big 80s productions that they were instrumental in creating went out of fashion and they just didnt seem to fit anymore.

Having said that, Songs from the Sparkle Lounge was ok, not great but ok and Mirrorball sounded pretty good. But to my surprise i find myself loving this new live album. There is a bit more crunch to the guitars on the Hysteria run through but otherwise it is a carbon copy of the studio album. The real pleasure lies in the Ded Flatbird Cd which just sounds like a band on fire again - God knows what the Las Vegas audience thought of all that early stuff but it sounds great to me. Yeah, Joe Elliot's voice isnt great at times but it's not all that bad and it is better, bizarrely on the earlier stuff.

My only gripe from watching the DVD is how come Phil Collen seems to think he is now the main guitar layer in the band, strutting to the front all the time? Surely leppard were always a two guitar player band. Now, i know Vivian was ill at the time so maybe that explains it but come on... And put a shirt on it Mr Collen!!!

All in all, a rocking good CD. Now let's have a great studio album!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Quality Def Leps Live Recording ever!!, 24 Oct 2013
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Original Soundtrack) (MP3 Download)
Buy this for the superb sound quality of this record alone. The songs have stood up against time and still rock but honestly the mix is brilliant better than anything live they have released before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Karen Watton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Audio CD)
excellent dvd/cd good sound. well pleased even though old material recommend if your def leps fanatics.good selection of back catologue tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsome album, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Audio CD)
def leppard at there best awsome and the dvd is also good and very detailed would reccomend to anyone who like def leppard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Karaoke time, 5 Nov 2013
By 
T. Spitzer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Audio CD)
The live CD sounds good here, especially the 2nd Cd of mainly old songs which come over really well, they still cut it live. But are Def Leppard becoming there own best covers/karaoke band? This is the second time the group have re-released, "Hysteria", they seem conent to constantly regurgitate the old songs, which I find kind of lazy, there are several veteran rock artists and bands who have released great CD's in recent times (Black sabbath, Rush, Deep Purple, David Bowie, ZZ Top & more), but def leppard just seem to want to wallow in the past. It's about time they got their rocks off again, release some new material with the pizazz of Hysteria, the guts of Pyromania, and the balls of High 'n' Dry. I still love Def Leppard, but it's time for some new classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Joe Elliot's Voice is Totally Shot to Pieces, 6 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Audio CD)
Just thought i would give this album a listen to as i think Def Leppard are a great Band and i have never felt more disappointed than hearing this Live Album.
The Guitar Work and Percussion is absolutely top notch and sounds like the originals with Phil Collen and Vivian Campbell as well as Rick Savage and Rick Allen on the top of there game on nearly every track.
The Problem here like many other live albums is that the main vocalist eg:Joe Elliot's voice is now totally shot and it deflates nearly every song and makes them all sound second rate.
Songs from the Sparkle Lounge was a fantastic album and a return to form and then we have the Mirrorball Live Album and now this which shows Joe Elliots voice in a true light as totally shot which is a tragedy.
Drums, Bass and Lead Guitar can never age but voices unfortunately can and it definitely exposes it here on this album no matter how well they package it.
For Me Pyromania,Hysteria and Songs from the Sparkle Lounge will be the crowning glory of Def Leppard but this is definitely not a great live album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews