Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ded Flatbirds are great
A bit of nostalgia this release...

First off, I will clear up the Amazon.co.uk mess up and give you the track listing for the CDs at least, as Amazon have seen fit to omit this once again.

Disc 1:

Song Title Time
1. Women 6:11
2. Rocket 6:09
3. Animal 4:07
4. Love Bites 6:08
5. Pour Some Sugar on Me...
Published 13 months ago by DEATH (Leics Branch)

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Listened to the samples...
...and thought it was crap compared to the originals so didn't buy. Do yourself a favour and buy up the old CDs. You can't go wrong with Leppards originals. What I heard sounded tired and slow and lacked the energy of the original recordings.l Sorry. Wish I could've been more positive.
Published 10 months ago by 81641


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ded Flatbirds are great, 24 Oct 2013
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Audio CD)
A bit of nostalgia this release...

First off, I will clear up the Amazon.co.uk mess up and give you the track listing for the CDs at least, as Amazon have seen fit to omit this once again.

Disc 1:

Song Title Time
1. Women 6:11
2. Rocket 6:09
3. Animal 4:07
4. Love Bites 6:08
5. Pour Some Sugar on Me 4:32
6. Armageddon It 5:26
7. Gods of War 7:14
8. Don't Shoot Shotgun 4:33
9. Run Riot 4:49
10. Hysteria 5:59
11. Excitable 4:37
12. Love and Affection 6:17
13. Rock of Ages 4:15
14. Photograph 6:13

Disc 2:

Song Title Time
1. Good Morning Freedom 3:36
2. Wasted 3:44
3. Stagefright 3:41
4. Mirror Mirror (Look into My Eyes) 4:56
5. Action 4:13
6. Rock Brigade 3:31
7. Undefeated 5:25
8. Promises 4:11
9. On Through the Night 5:11
10. Slang 2:37
11. Let It Go 6:08
12. Another Hit and Run 5:14
13. High 'N' Dry (Saturday Night) 3:44
14. Bringin' on the Heartbreak 4:43
15. Switch 625 5:08

Now for the review -
Sound Quality *****
This is excellent - obviously this was recorded at the time of the shows with the intention of releasing, using the latest technology. This shows in the sound quality. Some of the older Def live CDs have lacked a bit in quality, but this is up with some of the best.

Packaging *****
A great job again, well boxed.

Music ****
Okay, this is a little more subjective, as, although Hysteria is probably the lads from Sheffield's most popular and best selling work, in your humble reviewer's opinion it is not the best. BUT at least the boys have given us the chance of hearing some of their earlier work, even if they do hide behind the Ded Flatbirds monika for this. Rock of Ages and Photograph are two of the classics that do appear on the "Hysteria" disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hysteria Lives On!!!!!!, 20 Nov 2013
By 
M. TOWELL (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Audio CD)
Absolutely superb live set & DVD from Def Leppard. Quite possibly the best Def Leppard album ever. Even the second disc where Def Leppard take the guise of their own suuport band called 'Ded Flatbird' is amazing. Great to hear some long forgotten and in some cases, never played live before, early Leppard classics. A MUST for any true Def Leppard fan!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbbbbbbbb !, 11 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Audio CD)
Fantastic live material from one of my fave rock bands with the boys from Sheffield. As another reviewer has stated , Joe's voice is struggling a bit, no doubt he will have broken out the Strepsils after this performance ! Still very good though and worth a purchase if you are a Lep fan. I saw them at the Hammersmith Odeon in 1987 during the Animal tour and they blew me away. Back then they sounded just like the studio recording on the compact discs and boy oh boy were they LOUD !! What a privilege it was to see them play, a concert I will never forget. Great stuff guys and thanks for rocking my ears off for all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hysteria & much more live, 1 Nov 2013
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Audio CD)
What an absolute stunner of a live record. Up there with all the best live rock albums.Great sound & energy throughout.
Of course you get Hysteria in its entirety played to perfection with the guitars a bit grittier to denote it is all live. For me having much of High N Dry & tracks from Pyromania in the set is a real bonus. High N Dry is my favourite Leppard album & you get the whole of the original side 1 plus a couple more. This is what Leppard were really about before thay went too technical.Raw with heavier guitars a real wall of noise. Pyromania was always a close second & is represented by 3 tracks. Their debut album has a couple of tracks with Wasted nice & heavy a real standout.There are a few tracks from later years including Undefeated & Promises which fit in well. An acoustic set rounds things of nicely. Maybe a couple of tracks from Adrenalize could have featured but it does not detract from the quality on offer here.
There are always songs missing that are a personal favourite but such is the quality of the record this can be easily overlooked.This was always going to happen playing the whole of Hysteria.
Go out & buy but remember to play it loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva Def Leppard!, 22 Oct 2013
By 
G. Heywood (Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Audio CD)
Viva Hysteria is a great addition for any fan of the band, or anyone who was during the Hysteria era. The DVD is fantastically well put together, and of course every song from Hysteria is included live, as recorded at their recent Las Vegas residency. The picture and sound are crisp and fresh, and there is plenty of material here. Besides the DVD and the audio of the main event, you also get the opening act where the "Ded Flatbird's" opened for the band playing some of the lesser known songs, with a good smattering of High n Dry, and On Through the Night.

Obviously you would expect a band that has played together for so long to be polished and tight, and they are. It seem that meticulous detail has been applied to keep the Def Leppard sound, despite the band ageing. Perhaps lead singer Joe Elliot's voice is the only surprise if you haven't heard the band for a while. It obviously isn't as strong as it was during the Hysteria (and later) tours, and I was surprised at how many lines Phil Collen gets, but, the band work together to ensure the show is still good. Compared to some other rock stars of a similar generation, it has probably held up quite well.

Overall, a great package, from a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excitable! This album Rocks!, 31 Oct 2013
By 
R. Gould - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Audio CD)
I've known of Def Leppard, Saw them live once but unfortunately, was too young to see the Hysteria Tour.
I had no idea this album was coming out, a good friend of mine said I had to get it and so I did.
Excellent, Excellent pack.

The sound quality for a live album is as if it was recorded in the studio, loud, clear and meaty where you appreciate this on the opening track "Women".
It's just a pleasure to listen to all the way through both discs though the first is my favourite as it has "Rocket","Pour some sugar", "don't shoot gun" and "Excitable". Every song is excellent though and worth every penny for this set.
If two discs of catchy well written Rock isn't enough then the 3rd disc, the DVD of the show should bring it home for you.

I knew of Def Leppard, now I'm a fan and on my way to completing the album collection.

Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a gem of an albumb., 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Audio CD)
where to start, the first disc is hysteria as we all know with the added twist of getting old and sometimes trying alittle to hard. the second is better, songs not heard live before. dvd is of only the first disc not both. overall good but could have done better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIve melodic raunchy classy, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Audio CD)
Leppard fans will love it as it includes tracks that you won't have heard live before. Good value with CDs and a DVD. also can't beat the Hysteria stuff even though fans will have Mirrorball with a similar live track listing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Head & shoulders above 'mirrorball', 26 Oct 2013
By 
Phil (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Audio CD)
This, without doubt is the best Def Leppard live recording. The band sound better than they have in years (and I am not just saying that as a long time fan!) There is plenty of content on this disc and of course Hysteria in it entirety, it is great to hear/see some of those songs again in a live setting, some of which were last seen on the Hysteria tour & 'in the round' concert film. My only slight complaint, it would have been nice to have some interview & more behind the scenes footage, but maybe that is being saved for the upcoming documentary series?
The blu-ray version of the concert is also awesome, picture & sound quality are really great, and I would strongly reccommend this to any Lep fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva! Hysteria (Audio CD)
Good live band Def Leppard at there best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews