Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars108
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2014
I keep re playing this album. I adore his voice and lyrics. I play it when walking the dogs on a rainy day, I play it when working on the farm, I play it whilst staring out into the garden, it lifts my soul and sends me into another place.
My favourite is Wind Song, a beautiful lilting song that flows and eddies with little uplifting flurries.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
Gregory Porter's voice is unique and all the tracks are beautifully sung with emotion that make me feel so happy. Highly recommended, also the price of the album is very good
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
This is a fabulous, soulful, jazz experience.

Having heard the single 'Hey Laura' I thought I would check out Gregory Porter in a bit more detail and maybe buy the single. I listened to the clips on Amazon and bought the album immediately.

Often with a new album I skip through the tracks to get a feel for it and then go back to the those I really like - sometimes never listening again to the tracks I initially dismissed. Liquid Spirit had me hooked from the start - TO ALL OF THE TRACKS! OF course there are those I like more than others but the album is a brilliant mix of jazz styles and Gregory's velvet voice carries off anything.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Loved the CD and found it very mellow and relaxing. He writes and sings from his heart and the lyrics are amazing He has a fantastic voice. Would love to see him at a jazz club.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
How much better can Gregory get ? When does he become a major crossover artist ? Would love to hear GP do some Donny Hathaway covers etc. More please soon.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
When this album works it really works, but a couple of the later tracks just start to meander a little. There are plenty of standout songs to justify the low price I paid for this, with the first six being particularly good, amongst the best start to an album I have heard.. This version has some extra tracks, with a stripped down version of Water under Bridges which is excellent. The two interpretations of this song are my favourite's, together with Hey Laura. No Love Dying, Free and Movin'. Buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
Anyone familiar with the songs Liquid Spirit or Hey Laura will instantly love this album. His voice has so much depth and emotion it's by far the best album I've bought in a long time. I haven't checked out the digital booklet yet as I've been too busy listening to the album itself. A great album for chilling out, be it on a cycle to work or just sat in the garden with a glass of wine in your hand. Bliss. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
I like many have been very late to the Gregory Porter experience but have been steadily working in to Jazz and Blues etc over the last few years. If you want an easy break in to a new genre and a fine listen all the way through as well as some thought provoking lyrics, this is the album for you. Well done Mr Porter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Close your eyes, take a deep breath and relax with Liquid spirit.
The sound of this mans voice is like listening to velvet on silk.
The simple but intelligent lyrics give you an insight of the mans workings.
The musical accompaniment compliments completely.
Hope you enjoy as much as I did
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
I was switched on to Gregory Porter after hearing "Hey Laura" and, after buying the album it came from, I haven't regretted it for an instant. My favourites are "The Wind Song" and "When Love was King" but the whole album is superb as both easy listening music or as background.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.29

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)