Customer Reviews


277 Reviews
5 star:
 (203)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Voice to Die For
To match his first two albums, `Water' &' Be Good,' was perhaps asking a bit too much - a bridge too far?
Whilst this is a fine effort, for me, it's very good, rather than outstanding, as the aforementioned two clearly are. This album lacks the vibrancy and perhaps unsurprisingly the originality of those initial albums. There are 14 tracks, of which GP wrote 11. The...
Published 12 months ago by Gerry Valjean 24602

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
His voice is like liquid gold. A brilliant jazzy cd and full of soul. It's a pleasure to listen to.
Published 3 months ago by Ursel H Mann


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Voice to Die For, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liquid Spirit (Audio CD)
To match his first two albums, `Water' &' Be Good,' was perhaps asking a bit too much - a bridge too far?
Whilst this is a fine effort, for me, it's very good, rather than outstanding, as the aforementioned two clearly are. This album lacks the vibrancy and perhaps unsurprisingly the originality of those initial albums. There are 14 tracks, of which GP wrote 11. The albums consist of some typical Porter quality and also several ballads, plus a couple of covers; overall the music is a bit more down tempo than the previous offerings. The band of Chip on tinkling piano and Yosuke on Sax, are complemented with trumpet and Hammond organ on a couple of tracks which adds nicely to the album. `Hey Laura' has `Lion Song' traits and `Lonesome Lover' has a lovely jazzy backdrop .
My personal favourites are `No Love Dying,' which for me is up there with any of his best songs. It was released as a single in the USA. `Liquid Spirit' is typical of the up tempo rhythms of those initial albums, as is `Free.'
`Musical Genocide' is typical of GP's originality, being almost his own musical CV, it's another top track. 'When Love was King' was written and inspired after the birth of his son, Demyan, and of course, `Free' thanks the sacrifices that his parents made for him. Gregory writes and sings from his heart and that is a very endearing feature of his music.
For the first time there may be one or two so -so songs on here, but let's face it, he has a voice to die for, so he gets away with it! After just 3 albums he has an absolutely awesome set list - is there a jazz vocalist out there that can match him?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Gregory Porter CD, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liquid Spirit (Audio CD)
Another good CD from Gregory Porter - some songs that I am sure will become catchy. My 10 year old loves Gregory Porter too - her verdict was good but more "slow" songs than previous albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MASTERFUL & MOVING JAZZ VOCAL PERFORMANCES BY GREGORY PORTER, 17 Sep 2013
By 
RSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Liquid Spirit (Audio CD)
"Liquid Spirit" is the marvelous third recording and first on Blue Note by Grammy-nominated singer, composer, actor, and leader Gregory Porter, who gives a masterful performance of 11 original songs and 3 standards, keeping up the momentum of his preceding recordings: Water and Be Good. Some singers only interpret the music of others, but Porter has the ability to uniquely see the world and then express his own viewpoints through potent lyrics that occur 'organically', a booming expressive baritone voice, and his musical group. He is accompanied by his long-time associates: Chip Crawford on piano, Aaron James on bass, Emanuel Harrold on drums, Tivon Pennicott on tenor sax, Yosuke Sato on alto sax, and Curtis Taylor on trumpet. When performing, Porter always wears his distinctive 2-piece Kangol hat and balaclava headgear.

The `best of the best' on this recording begins with the gospel-tinged "Liquid Water", which is driven along by hand-claps, grooving horns, James' bass figurations, and Chip Crawford's staccato piano funk. The powerful Max Roach-Abbey Lincoln gem "Lonesome Lover" is marvelous, pushed along in 4/4 swing with a 6/8 vamp with a hot Yosuke Sato alto solo. "Hey Laura" and "Brown Grass" are ballads that intensely lay out the story of troubled romances gone wrong. The very hip, bluesy "Free" and "Movin'" are autobiographical marvels showing the positive influence of family on Porter and show his backup group at its best. The engaging "now and forever' theme of "Wind Song" is propelled along nicely by Harrold's drums and Crawford's sparkling piano. The beautiful 'fairy tale'-like ballad "When Love Was King" is dedicated to Porter's new son and the world he wants to raise him in, getting a very emotional performance. "Musical Genocide" has Porter effectively exhorting the timely theme of getting back to the basics of music appreciation. And perhaps best of all, the stunning "I Fall In Love Too Easily" gets a tender and passionate reading from Porter using his entire baritone range, backed by only by the rhythm section and with a marvelous Crawford piano solo. Of special mention throughout are the pianistic fireworks and shadings of pianist Chip Crawford and the saxophone soloists, who all interact wonderfully with Porter here as in live performances. Produced by Brian Bacchus, "Liquid Spirit" is a marvelous recording showing why Greg Porter, hailed as one of the first-rank jazz singers of the day, is also a prolific poet/lyricist backed by a spirited group that brings the music to life. Highly Recommended. Five FABULOUS Stars! (14 tracks; Time-57:23.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great voice, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liquid Spirit (Audio CD)
I got his previous album which is fantastic and this one is more of the same. Jazz nluenced but very melodic, highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some great Jazz, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liquid Spirit (Audio CD)
I found Gregory's music very easy to listen to. I ould certainly get more of his records when I get the chance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liquid Spirit [+digital booklet] (Bonus Tracks) (MP3 Download)
This man is a true artist!When you hear some of the some of the rubbish that is peddled today.Still
I suppose it takes allsorts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liquid Spirit Heaven, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liquid Spirit (Audio CD)
I would recommend this c.d. to anyone who loves soul, great voice and great material, have it in my car and on all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uplifting with beautiful lyrics, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liquid Spirit [+digital booklet] (Bonus Tracks) (MP3 Download)
I keep re playing this album. I adore his voice and lyrics. I play it when walking the dogs on a rainy day, I play it when working on the farm, I play it whilst staring out into the garden, it lifts my soul and sends me into another place.
My favourite is Wind Song, a beautiful lilting song that flows and eddies with little uplifting flurries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and Honest, 21 Dec 2013
This review is from: Liquid Spirit (Audio CD)
Gregory Porter was a surprise to me this autumn, I have ti admit shamefully. He sings with both a clear and powerful voice, soft and strong when the one or the other is needed, and with a clear and powerful (islamic ?) message.
I like the metaphore of spirit being like water you are thirsting for - good idea !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem, 18 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. R. C. STEPHENSON (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liquid Spirit (Audio CD)
This is a great showcase for Gregory porter's smooth soulful voice. There are several excellent songs and some tracks that need a few listens to fully appreciate .Not quite a classic but well worth 5 stars for quality and listen ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews