Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive collection
Five Star - The Collection (2013)

This Demon 2CD release compiles a lot of key songs by Five Star. A comprehensive collection, but instead of the Hit Mix I'd rather wanted another 12" version that didn't make the Cherry Red album reissues or the Remix Anthology.
Most singles are present here in its single version, a few of them unfortunately are the album...
Published 16 months ago by Federico

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
CD sometimes won't play
Published 3 months ago by Lindsey Quibell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive collection, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Five Star - The Collection (2013)

This Demon 2CD release compiles a lot of key songs by Five Star. A comprehensive collection, but instead of the Hit Mix I'd rather wanted another 12" version that didn't make the Cherry Red album reissues or the Remix Anthology.
Most singles are present here in its single version, a few of them unfortunately are the album versions. Guess you can't have it all.

Here's the full track listing and the timings. No additional track information means: album version.

CD 1
01. System Addict 4:03
02. Rain Or Shine 4:00
03. The Slightest Touch (Shep Pettibone 7" Remix) 4:21
04. Find The Time (Single Version) 3:56
05. Can't Wait Another Minute 4:31
06. If I Say Yes (Lew Hahn 7" Remix) 3:41
07. Let Me Be The One 4:41
08. Love Take Over 3:55
09. Are You Man Enough? 4:39
10. Someone's In Love 4:22
11. Another Weekend (Single Version) 4:08
12. Crazy 3:58
13. R.S.V.P. (M&M 7" Remix) 3:26
14. All Fall Down 3:32
15. Knock Twice 4:11
16. Winning 3:35
17. Somewhere Somebody 4:13
18. Hot Love 3:17
19. Ain't Watcha Do 3:29
20. There's A Brand New World 3:42

A few additional comments on CD 1:
* Rain Or Shine doesn't contain the 2 seconds `fairy tale' intro as released on the original 7", neither does the Cherry Red `Silk & Steel' 2010 reissue (but that CD of course contains the album version, so it shouldn't).
* In the UK the 7" of Can't Wait Another Minute was released as a single edit (4:11). This compilation offers you the album version, but with a slightly faster fade out.
* In the UK the 7" of Let Me Be The One was released as an edit (3:40).
* This compilation offers you the album version of Love Take Over, but with a slightly faster fade out.
* The 7" of Are You Man Enough? got the Shep Pettibone 7" remix, which can be found on the Remix Anthology (Disc 2).
* In the US the 7" of Someone's In Love got remixed by David Morales (4:09). That version can be found on the Rock My World reissue.
* This compilation offers you the album versions of Hot Love and Ain't Watcha Do, but with a slightly faster fade out.
* The 7" of There's A Brand New World got remixed (4:08). This compilation however offers you the album version with a slightly faster fade out.

CD 2
01. Stay Out Of My Life 4:00
02. Whenever You're Ready 4:15
03. Strong As Steel (Single Version) 4:27
04. Treat Me Like A Lady 4:20
05. Rock My World 4:08
06. With Every Heartbeat 4:10
07. Hide And Seek 5:32
08. The Slightest Touch (The Pettibone Touch Remix) 6:53
09. Love Take Over (The Limit Edition Mix) 6:22
10. Another Weekend (Saturday Night Mix) 6:14
11. Shine 4:47
12. Let Me Be Yours (Remix) 5:34
13. Find The Time (Midnight Mix) 6:52
14. Five Star Hit Mix (Mixed By Dakeyne For DMC 1987) 12:08

A few additional comments on CD 2:
* In the UK the 7" of Treat Me Like A Lady got remixed (4:10).
* With Every Heartbeat is sometimes labelled as a 7" Mix, but there's only one version: the regular (non-LP) version.
* Love Take Over (The Limit Edition Mix): the Cherry Red `Luxury Of life' 2010 reissue mistakenly calls this The Limited Edition Mix.
* The 7" of Shine was released as an LP edit (4:00).

Did I make any mistakes or do you wish to make additional remarks? Please write a comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brings back good memories, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
A group that deserves more credits and respect than they actually get. This compilation serves to remind us the potential that this group had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five star collection of great tracks, 25 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
An absolute great collection of tracks from Five Star . All the big hits included here, with some rarer tracks and superb extended and remix versions too. A great value double CD set to take you back to the best of the 80's. Can't wait another minute sounds as good now as it did back then, and Rain or Shine remains a classic among classics. Five stars for Five Star !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Love it, took me back to my childhood!! My boys weren't fans though lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars days good c. d quick delivery, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
takes me back to school.days good c.d quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amaz oning, 14 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
All the greatest hits plus more from the debut album. A must for any pop fan aged 40/45 years of age. This has gotta be a 5star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Great CD reminds my of growing up in this era 😀
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonder where they are now??, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
It was as good as I thought it would be, thank you Amazon, it is a pity that FIVE STAR have stopped recording, they were a very good group, their style was unique, I am sure that thousands of fans were very surprised when they stopped making C/Ds'
Leonard Franklin Ellis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Feb. 2015
By 
M. Briston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Received in condition stated with thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
CD sometimes won't play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collection
The Collection by Five Star (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews