Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now!, 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Forgiveness (Audio CD)
Another masterpiece from The Wave Pictures. No over-engineering here; these guys play real instruments and they play them superbly. David Tattersall's lyrics are a wonder to behold and the band are so tight. Go and see them live while they're still playing at small venues; you won't regret it. They deserve to be massive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Double CD Double Happiness, 17 Mar. 2014
By 
M. Collis (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Forgiveness (Audio CD)
Great Wave Pics album and there are 2 discs so you can't go wrong there. Superb lyrics as always (I like 'Golden Syrup' especially for this reason). There are at least 9-10 songs that are absolute winners and could be released as singles in my opinion and I've had them on repeat over and over. Very much a feel-good album and ends on a really poignant song which was made even more special as I heard them play it live and we all had a sing a long to it. BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Super musicianship, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Forgiveness [VINYL] (Vinyl)
We saw The Wave Pictures after hearing 'Into the woods' on Mark Riley's Radio 6 show. Their live performance was outstanding, humorous and versatile. This album captures their obvious enjoyment of playing original songs to a very high standard. I would recommend this musical treat to anyone with a sense of musical adventure;exciting times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waves of Jubilation, 13 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. B. A. D. Plowman "Brendan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Forgiveness (Audio CD)
We're hurtling towards the conclusion of 2013, folks, and inevitably everybody will start to talk about the best albums of the year. Lists will be compiled. Heads will be scratched. Disagreements will occur. Blood will be boiled. The same artists will turn up in every list (MBV, Boards of Canada, Arcade Fire, Vampire Weekend...) Many of the top rankers could well be unworthy (though it's all relative, of course!)

What I fear is that this blisteringly great DOUBLE album from The Wave Pictures may not get a look-in at all. If not, that would be a travesty, for CITY FORGIVENESS is nothing short of a masterpiece. Packed in to its 90 minutes we have scuzzy blues, bittersweet vocal harmonies, sprightly guitar solos that never outstay their welcome, melodious basslines, drums that roll and rumble, then sputter and syncopate. An African flavour is often present due to David Tattersall's beautiful flecked guitar lines. Overall, the sound is dangerously infectious and the songs will swiftly become lodged in your GRATEFUL HEAD.

Highlights? Well, "Better To Have Loved" is a cracker that glides along on minor chords and a melancholy lyric. "Whisky Bay" is as mellow as it's title suggests. "Red Cloud Road" is lo-fi Paul Simon but with no whiff of pastiche. "Atlanta" is subdued piano-led calypso with a chorus to die for. "Lisbon" rocks out on a drum pattern that is looser than clowns' trousers. "New Skin" is a song to cry to. "Golden Syrup"......... I'll stop there, because to be frank there is very little on this album that doesn't cut the mustard.

And let us not forget that this is a DOUBLE ALBUM. Kudos to The Wave Pictures for encouraging extended listening in this age-of-the-short-attention-span. We are gifted with ninety minutes of great quality songs and not a note is wasted. The freshness is retained throughout. The same cannot be said of Arcade Fire's latest lengthy release, which is weighed down by too much flabby self-indulgence.

In conclusion - In this reviewer's humble opinion, CITY FORGIVENESS is THE album of 2013. I hope there are many souls out there who agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They are back, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Forgiveness (Audio CD)
Well really they never went away first listen to this cd normal service has been resumed brilliant guitar work well the band are so tight can't wait to see them at jazz cafe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I forgive them, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Forgiveness [VINYL] (Vinyl)
City Forgiveness is a great double album which comes with the bonus of an accompanying CD with the album on it. All great!

What is not so great though is that the sleeve, whilst beautifully designed, has not been printed and manufactured well at all. There is certainly something wrong with the construction and when you remove the albums they are close to impossible to get back into the sleeves nicely without damaging the inner sleeves. Was considering asking for a replacement, but judging from the way it is made, I'm not sure it would be any better. I love the graphics and the overall effect, but this coupled with the actual construction make it feel slightly 'cottage industry' which I guess might not be such a bad thing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City Forgiveness, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Forgiveness (Audio CD)
I like this band’s music very much and I think they are underrated. This is one of their best and in rating a double album that is something. David Tattersall's music writing is mature, varied, always full of surprises and never mundane. The wave pictures are natural live performers-I highly recommend going to their live performance to sail through wealth of excellent music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 8 Nov. 2013
By 
R. J. Vaughan (Yeovil, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Forgiveness (Audio CD)
Musically brilliant. Lyrically excellent. That most wondrous and rare of things, ordinarily an oxymoron - 'adult rock', Not a duff track on it. Ridiculously good - don't just sit there - buy it - NOW! - Ten stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

City Forgiveness
City Forgiveness by The Wave Pictures (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews