Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars127
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2012
Got into these guys after listening to a track on the latest Classic Rock mag free CD.
There are some seriously good tracks on this album.
Six ways to Sunday, Leave a Scar, Crimson Moon and (especially) Shakin Hands with the Holy Ghost really rock.
I have also listened to their previous outings Little Piece of Dixie and Bad Luck ain't no Crime - and these are also highly recommended if you like southern rock
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
If you like your rock Southern style then this band is for you. Very much in the style of Lynryd Skynryd and other true Southern Rock bands these lads are very underated but you will not be disappointed.
See them on Youtube if you don't believe me.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
I love Skynyrd and latched on to these guys. Absolutely brilliant and not just a carbon copy. With each listen this gets better and better. The Whippoorwill is an excellent song but there are many on here. Plenty of light and shade. The songs will stick in your mind for days!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Wow. It's not often I write reviews but this is great. Gets better with each play. Very Southern Blues in style great mix of tracks. Easy to listen to and will not let you down
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
I recently discovered this band as it was recommended by amazon after purchasing another cd by a southern style rock band. After previewing the album I instantly loved it and I knew it was going to be my album of the summer and has been playing on repeat on my mp3 and in my car ever since, I have not got bored with it and think it sounds better every time I hear it! It is a great example of southern rock and the live tracks sound just as amazing as their recorded counterparts which gives great testament to how amazing this band is. The album flows really well with a great mix of up tempo and slower songs, and there is not one weak song in the track listing. I defy anyone to stay still when listening to this album as it definitely gets your fingers and toes tapping! For those not familiar with southern rock it is a mix of country/rock/blues and many other music styles all rolled into one. In this album I hear influences of lynryd Skynryd, Eagles and Creedence Clearwater Revival. I also purchased the album holding all the roses by the same band which is equally as amazing. Other bands of note in the genre are Whisky Myers, The Temperence Movement, Cadillac Three and A Thousand Horses, if you like any of these you are guaranteed to like Blackberry Smoke!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
Blackberry Smoke is the latest band from the southern states of North America to follow in the footsteps of Lynyrd Skynyrd and present a distinctively southern rock album which invites you to have a jolly good time. Southern rock is wrongly derided in some quarters due to its cultural baggage in the wake of the PC brigade rather than due to any faults in its musicianship.Southern rock bands don't often succeed across the pond as the themes which are considered in their lyrics are often lost in translation, consequentially little money is spent on promoting their latest releases in the UK which is a shame as albums such as this deserve to be heard by a larger UK audience.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 December 2014
The Whippoorwill first saw the light of musical day in August 2012 but that was Stateside; the official UK release was February 2014 when the album (complete with bonus tracks including the southern funk of 'Country Side of Life') reached the UK Top 30.

The song quality throughout The Whippoorwill certainly justified the attention it got on both sides of the pond; it’s also an indicator of just where the band are in terms of being on the road to becoming what should be a household in name in country-rooted southern rock.

Not that any prior success has been handed on a plate to the band or manifested itself through constant airplay for their earlier releases. Far from it.
The band’s first two independently released albums, Bad Luck Ain’t No Crime and Little Piece of Dixie were excellent slices of country and blues-tinged southern rock (and roll), yet incredibly neither charted.

But constant touring and a collective working the asses off from Charlie Starrs (lead vocal, guitar), Paul Jackson (guitar), Brandon Still (keyboards) and brothers Richard and Britt Turner (bass and drums respectively) is finally paying off – The Whippoorwill made both the Billboard Top 40 and the US Country Top 10, a major success for a southern rock based band not called Lynyrd Skynyrd with no previous chart history.

But then Blackberry Smoke have evolved and matured musically to such a degree that The Whippoorwill is nothing less than one of the strongest rock releases of 2014 (or 2012).

On The Whippoorwill Blackberry Smoke have broadened their palette to include influences of honky-tonk rock and roll ('Six Ways to Sunday'), hard-pop country ('Pretty Little Lie') and gospel-tinged piano-led southern balladeering ('Up the Road').

And with tracks such as the poignant title track, the Springsteen-esque 'One Horse Town,' the barroom band styled fun of 'Ain’t Got the Blues' and the southern country-rock blues of 'Ain’t Much Left of Me' ("I’ve been rained on, rode hard and put up wet - danced with the devil till I’m in debt" sings Charlie Starrs; it doesn’t get much more southern blues than that) Blackberry Smoke have done nothing less than re-invent country influenced southern rock in 5-Star style.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Country Rock at its best. Great sound and just gets better with each play. Pleased I bought it, all good.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
This album is a grower and a great find. The closest comparisons that spring to mind are Lynyrd Skynyrd and, more recently, The Temperance Movement, but I also hear The Eagles and The Rolling Stones in some of the songs. And what songs. The album runs the full gamut of emotions, from joy and optimism on the opener to the world-weary cynicism of the closer, each song painted with raw emotion and fuelled by rocking riffs. Stand out tracks for me are Pretty Little Lie, One Horse Town, Leave a Scar and Up The Road, but all of the songs have a timeless, classic feel to them and I would not be surprised if I'm still listening to some these songs in twenty years time. Great album.

And in case you're wondering, a whippoorwill is a small bird native to North America.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
I've got their other Cd's and they are one of the best bands I've heard. Not a bad song on the CD!!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)