Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Southern Rock
Got into these guys after listening to a track on the latest Classic Rock mag free CD.
There are some seriously good tracks on this album.
Six ways to Sunday, Leave a Scar, Crimson Moon and (especially) Shakin Hands with the Holy Ghost really rock.
I have also listened to their previous outings Little Piece of Dixie and Bad Luck ain't no Crime - and these...
Published on 23 Aug 2012 by saintsteve

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great album for rock fans who like to mellow every now and then
Not my usual cup of tea but I heard a couple of tracks whilst in an Hmv store, liked it, asked who it was and then went and bought it from somewhere other than HMV.
If you like Southern style American rock and at times enjoy something a little more mellow then this is for you. A great album that should be included in any rock fans collection. Really glad I took the...
Published 6 months ago by J I Allison


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Southern Rock, 23 Aug 2012
This review is from: Whippoorwill (Dig) (Audio CD)
Got into these guys after listening to a track on the latest Classic Rock mag free CD.
There are some seriously good tracks on this album.
Six ways to Sunday, Leave a Scar, Crimson Moon and (especially) Shakin Hands with the Holy Ghost really rock.
I have also listened to their previous outings Little Piece of Dixie and Bad Luck ain't no Crime - and these are also highly recommended if you like southern rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Southern Rock, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Paul M. Taylor (Wakefield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whippoorwill (Dig) (Audio CD)
I love Skynyrd and latched on to these guys. Absolutely brilliant and not just a carbon copy. With each listen this gets better and better. The Whippoorwill is an excellent song but there are many on here. Plenty of light and shade. The songs will stick in your mind for days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern Rock, 23 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whippoorwill (Dig) (Audio CD)
If you like your rock Southern style then this band is for you. Very much in the style of Lynryd Skynryd and other true Southern Rock bands these lads are very underated but you will not be disappointed.
See them on Youtube if you don't believe me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern rock finery, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whippoorwill (Dig) (Audio CD)
Blackberry Smoke is the latest band from the southern states of North America to follow in the footsteps of Lynyrd Skynyrd and present a distinctively southern rock album which invites you to have a jolly good time. Southern rock is wrongly derided in some quarters due to its cultural baggage in the wake of the PC brigade rather than due to any faults in its musicianship.Southern rock bands don't often succeed across the pond as the themes which are considered in their lyrics are often lost in translation, consequentially little money is spent on promoting their latest releases in the UK which is a shame as albums such as this deserve to be heard by a larger UK audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whippoorwill [3 bonus track] (Audio CD)
Wow. It's not often I write reviews but this is great. Gets better with each play. Very Southern Blues in style great mix of tracks. Easy to listen to and will not let you down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whippoorwill (Dig) (Audio CD)
Country Rock at its best. Great sound and just gets better with each play. Pleased I bought it, all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Re-inventing country influenced southern rock, 19 Dec 2014
By 
R. Muir "fabricationsHQ" (Prestwick, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Whippoorwill [3 bonus track] (Audio CD)
The Whippoorwill first saw the light of musical day in August 2012 but that was Stateside; the official UK release was February 2014 when the album (complete with bonus tracks including the southern funk of 'Country Side of Life') reached the UK Top 30.

The song quality throughout The Whippoorwill certainly justified the attention it got on both sides of the pond; it’s also an indicator of just where the band are in terms of being on the road to becoming what should be a household in name in country-rooted southern rock.

Not that any prior success has been handed on a plate to the band or manifested itself through constant airplay for their earlier releases. Far from it.
The band’s first two independently released albums, Bad Luck Ain’t No Crime and Little Piece of Dixie were excellent slices of country and blues-tinged southern rock (and roll), yet incredibly neither charted.

But constant touring and a collective working the asses off from Charlie Starrs (lead vocal, guitar), Paul Jackson (guitar), Brandon Still (keyboards) and brothers Richard and Britt Turner (bass and drums respectively) is finally paying off – The Whippoorwill made both the Billboard Top 40 and the US Country Top 10, a major success for a southern rock based band not called Lynyrd Skynyrd with no previous chart history.

But then Blackberry Smoke have evolved and matured musically to such a degree that The Whippoorwill is nothing less than one of the strongest rock releases of 2014 (or 2012).

On The Whippoorwill Blackberry Smoke have broadened their palette to include influences of honky-tonk rock and roll ('Six Ways to Sunday'), hard-pop country ('Pretty Little Lie') and gospel-tinged piano-led southern balladeering ('Up the Road').

And with tracks such as the poignant title track, the Springsteen-esque 'One Horse Town,' the barroom band styled fun of 'Ain’t Got the Blues' and the southern country-rock blues of 'Ain’t Much Left of Me' ("I’ve been rained on, rode hard and put up wet - danced with the devil till I’m in debt" sings Charlie Starrs; it doesn’t get much more southern blues than that) Blackberry Smoke have done nothing less than re-invent country influenced southern rock in 5-Star style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "All I leave behind me is a ragged old guitar I may not change the world but I'm gonna leave a scar", 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whippoorwill [3 bonus track] (Audio CD)
Introduced to Blackberry Smoke from a free Amazon Live Lounge download this is a great album featuring 16 tracks (Including 3 bonus tracks - two of them live). Often advertised as a Southern Rock (ala Lynyrd Skynyrd) outfit I find Blackberry Smoke more country than rock and and with more than a hint of a West Coast Eagles-like sound. Some tracks reminded me of Don Henley (in the nicest way). I love 'One Horse Town'. 'Leave A Scar' and 'The Whippoorwill' although there isn't a poor track on the album which provdes a nice blend of rock, country and ballads. It is a familiar sound (which makes it easy to get in to) but also fresh. Heck, I like it !

As a result of buying this album I would certainly investigate their other offerings and have bought tickets to see them at the O2 Shepherds Bush in October. May just ride right out of this one horse town .............................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best CD so far, 25 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whippoorwill (Dig) (Audio CD)
I've got their other Cd's and they are one of the best bands I've heard. Not a bad song on the CD!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kickin' Dixie, 26 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. Simon P. Casson (Horsham, Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whippoorwill [3 bonus track] (Audio CD)
If you like Southern Rock, you'll have no problem enjoying this album. Blackberry Smoke have produced a cracker. All songs grow on you and are strong. You can feel where their influences come from. Think a little Skynyrd, Allmans, Tucker - elements of familiarity, and why they are garnering such attention. Musician wise they are great - lean and make it look easy. BBS are probably one of the best things to come out of the "South" for many years. They are terrific live. Buy this and keep it in the car - you'll end up making excuses to travel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Whippoorwill [3 bonus track]
The Whippoorwill [3 bonus track] by Blackberry Smoke (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews