Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Southern Rock
Got into these guys after listening to a track on the latest Classic Rock mag free CD.
There are some seriously good tracks on this album.
Six ways to Sunday, Leave a Scar, Crimson Moon and (especially) Shakin Hands with the Holy Ghost really rock.
I have also listened to their previous outings Little Piece of Dixie and Bad Luck ain't no Crime - and these...
Published on 23 Aug 2012 by saintsteve

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great album for rock fans who like to mellow every now and then
Not my usual cup of tea but I heard a couple of tracks whilst in an Hmv store, liked it, asked who it was and then went and bought it from somewhere other than HMV.
If you like Southern style American rock and at times enjoy something a little more mellow then this is for you. A great album that should be included in any rock fans collection. Really glad I took the...
Published 4 months ago by J I Allison


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Southern Rock, 23 Aug 2012
This review is from: Whippoorwill (Dig) (Audio CD)
Got into these guys after listening to a track on the latest Classic Rock mag free CD.
There are some seriously good tracks on this album.
Six ways to Sunday, Leave a Scar, Crimson Moon and (especially) Shakin Hands with the Holy Ghost really rock.
I have also listened to their previous outings Little Piece of Dixie and Bad Luck ain't no Crime - and these are also highly recommended if you like southern rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Southern Rock, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Paul M. Taylor (Wakefield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whippoorwill (Dig) (Audio CD)
I love Skynyrd and latched on to these guys. Absolutely brilliant and not just a carbon copy. With each listen this gets better and better. The Whippoorwill is an excellent song but there are many on here. Plenty of light and shade. The songs will stick in your mind for days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern Rock, 23 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whippoorwill (Dig) (Audio CD)
If you like your rock Southern style then this band is for you. Very much in the style of Lynryd Skynryd and other true Southern Rock bands these lads are very underated but you will not be disappointed.
See them on Youtube if you don't believe me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern rock finery, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whippoorwill (Dig) (Audio CD)
Blackberry Smoke is the latest band from the southern states of North America to follow in the footsteps of Lynyrd Skynyrd and present a distinctively southern rock album which invites you to have a jolly good time. Southern rock is wrongly derided in some quarters due to its cultural baggage in the wake of the PC brigade rather than due to any faults in its musicianship.Southern rock bands don't often succeed across the pond as the themes which are considered in their lyrics are often lost in translation, consequentially little money is spent on promoting their latest releases in the UK which is a shame as albums such as this deserve to be heard by a larger UK audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whippoorwill [3 bonus track] (Audio CD)
Wow. It's not often I write reviews but this is great. Gets better with each play. Very Southern Blues in style great mix of tracks. Easy to listen to and will not let you down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whippoorwill (Dig) (Audio CD)
Country Rock at its best. Great sound and just gets better with each play. Pleased I bought it, all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "All I leave behind me is a ragged old guitar I may not change the world but I'm gonna leave a scar", 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whippoorwill [3 bonus track] (Audio CD)
Introduced to Blackberry Smoke from a free Amazon Live Lounge download this is a great album featuring 16 tracks (Including 3 bonus tracks - two of them live). Often advertised as a Southern Rock (ala Lynyrd Skynyrd) outfit I find Blackberry Smoke more country than rock and and with more than a hint of a West Coast Eagles-like sound. Some tracks reminded me of Don Henley (in the nicest way). I love 'One Horse Town'. 'Leave A Scar' and 'The Whippoorwill' although there isn't a poor track on the album which provdes a nice blend of rock, country and ballads. It is a familiar sound (which makes it easy to get in to) but also fresh. Heck, I like it !

As a result of buying this album I would certainly investigate their other offerings and have bought tickets to see them at the O2 Shepherds Bush in October. May just ride right out of this one horse town .............................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best CD so far, 25 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whippoorwill (Dig) (Audio CD)
I've got their other Cd's and they are one of the best bands I've heard. Not a bad song on the CD!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gamble worth taking, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whippoorwill [3 bonus track] (Audio CD)
Fantastic collection of songs on this CD, I had only ever heard them on Planet Rock but decided to buy the CD on the strength of a couple of listens.Wasn't disappointed at all money ;well spent. Don't see the Skynyrd comparison though, more like the Black Crowes or the Jayhawks style going through all of this album. Will probably delve into their back catalogue now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
This review is from: The Whippoorwill [3 bonus track] (Audio CD)
Authentic, well crafted, looking forward to new live album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Whippoorwill [3 bonus track]
The Whippoorwill [3 bonus track] by Blackberry Smoke (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews