Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In Which We Meet Addison, a Nice Girl From Somewhere Else
Private Practice is a spin off of Grey's Anatomy created by Shonda Rhimes. The show follows the life of Dr. Addison Montgomery as she leaves Seattle Grace Hospital in order to join a private practice (Oceanside Wellness) in Los Angeles. The team at Oceanside Wellness consists of divorced couple Sam (internal medicine) and fertility specialist Naomi Pete (an alternative...
Published on 8 Mar. 2009 by welshboy87

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite Grey.
Greys Anatomy is my guilty pleasure,so I was looking forward to this. It didn't quite hit the spot. It is more colourful being set in LA there is a lot of beach and beautiful people. It focuses more on the personal life of the doctors and less on patients. It is quite formulaic patients come into the practice and the doctors learn something from them about themselves and...
Published on 30 Jan. 2012 by KAW


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In Which We Meet Addison, a Nice Girl From Somewhere Else, 8 Mar. 2009
By 
welshboy87 (South Wales, Uk) - See all my reviews
Private Practice is a spin off of Grey's Anatomy created by Shonda Rhimes. The show follows the life of Dr. Addison Montgomery as she leaves Seattle Grace Hospital in order to join a private practice (Oceanside Wellness) in Los Angeles. The team at Oceanside Wellness consists of divorced couple Sam (internal medicine) and fertility specialist Naomi Pete (an alternative medicine specialist) who catches Addisons eye, Violet (a neurotic psychiatrist), Cooper (the playboy pediatrician) and Dell, (the office manager/ traniee midwife) who's love with Namoi.

Like any other spin off private practice will always face comparison to its parent show and in such comparisons private practice will always come out the lesser show. However viewed on its own, private practice is an enjoyable show; with some advantages over Grey's including the lack of a titular character and a litghter and warmer atmosphere. Fans of Kate Walsh and her Grey's Character Addison Montgomery will no doubt fall in love with the show, as the charater takes finally get more of a chance to shine. Each of the first seasons 9 episodes (shorten due to the writes strike) allows each of the characters to take center stage, establishing them and the nature of the show.

All things considered, Private Practice is off to a fairly solid start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addison starts a new life in LA.......,, 5 Jun. 2009
Private Practice - a spin-off from the ABC medical drama Grey's Anatomy - debuted in September 2007, with one of Greys most popular characters, Addison Forbes Montgomery (the beautiful Kate Walsh), starting a new life at a private practice medical clinic in LA.

Many have tried to compare the show to Greys, which should be avoided as it has an entirely different tone - lighter, funnier & less OTT-angsty than Greys. You won't see any ferry disasters or ghosts on this show ! It also benefits from being set where it is actually filmed & features location filming out-and-about in LA.

Kate Walsh shines as Addison & easily carries the show. She is surrounded by a small core cast of experienced & talented actors - Tim Daly, Audra McDonald, Taye Diggs, Amy Brenneman, Paul Adelstein, Chris Lowell & KaDee Strickland.

After a rocky first episode, the writing improved as the series progressed & the show started to find its own identity & distance from Greys.

It was affected by the 2007/08 US writer's strike & therefore only 9 episodes of the 22 ordered were completed for Season 1. A full Season 2 has just finished airing in the US (& it starts on Living in the UK on 25 June 2009). Season 3 has been picked up for 2009/10 - the only new ABC show from the writer's strike season to still be on the air (RIP Pushing Daisies, Dirty Sexy Money, Eli Stone etc).

Worth watching as an introduction to the show & characters, but the storylines really start evolving in Season 2.

The extras for this DVD release are -

1. Kate Walsh - Practice makes Perfect - a 30 minute biography of Kate Walsh with friends, family & colleagues contributing. A must-have for any fan !
2. Alternative Ensemble : Behind the Scenes of Private Practice
3. Two Extended Episodes
4. Deleted Scenes
5. Bloopers
6. Audio Commentaries on 1.01 (Shonda Rhimes/Betsy Beers/Kate Walsh), 1.07 (Amy Brenneman/Paul Adelstein) and 1.09 (Taye Diggs/Chris Lowell).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 16 July 2009
By 
S. Firth (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i havent got the boxset but i have seen the series and it is absolutely brilliant. I am a fan of Grey's Anatomy and thought this show wouldnt be as good, and at first i wasnt sure, but it's absolutely brilliant. It shouldnt be seen as a spin off from Grey's but a show in it's own right. I've just started getting into season 2 and i'm really loving it. Like many people, when Addison showed up in Grey's i really disliked her, but she softened and now i think she's a brilliant character and Kate Walsh is brilliant playing her. All the actors are fab in PP.

It is annoying that the writers strike affected this show, much like it did all the other American shows i love, so i'm looking forward to a lengthy season 2. Some people might not like the fact it is a small cast, unlike Greys. But i love how close knit it is. And they storylines are good, strong and addictive. I'm really glad they decided to keep the show going and i hope it goes on for many more years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new obsession, 15 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have become addicted to Private Practice so quickly it is unreal and I am currently half way through season 2, with season 3 on my shelf ready for the finale. I was a Grey's Anatomy fan before this and at first I was expecting Private Practice to be exactly the same with a different cast... I was wrong. Private Practice has the same wit and likability that Grey's has but has a completely different atmosphere. The show is very glamorous (contrasting with Grey's which is a lot grittier)and makes for compulsive viewing. A great cast, Kate Walsh is very lovable as the lead Addison. Taye Diggs (Kevin Hill, Ally McBeal, Will and Grace) plays Sam aka Dr Feelgood and Amy Brennaman (Judging Amy, Frasier) plays shrink Violet. This season only has 9 episodes but it includes great special features including a video biography of Kate Walsh. Buy it, you'll love it... SERIOUSLY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 21 Sept. 2009
By 
Ms. S. McGuire "Staz" (Manchester!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I know that some people do not like Grey's anatomy, I love it myself but friends that have come over and watched this have actually said they like it better. - It is easy to get into and you don't need to know anything about greys, It does help to be "in the know" but as I say it really doesn't matter.

I loved it, I recommend it to all..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spin off from grey's anatomy, 10 Aug. 2011
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
at the end of season 4 of grey's anatomy, addison decides to move her life to los angeles to work with her best friend naomi at her practice. so season 1 of private practice sees addison negiotiate to world of los angeles, family medicine and dating. great show which is an emsemble piece with group of well known actors and many familiar faces turning up as guest cast.

dvd includes all 9 episodes, dvd extras including kate walsh documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good spin-off, 16 Jun. 2008
By 
Miss Sarah Kerry "sarahbridgetkerry" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok, another spin-off series. expected it to be just ok. In fact i found it one of the best spin-offs I have ever watched. great new characters as well as Addison who we all hated at first but grew to love. Good and different new story lines. And best of all, a new love interest for Addison. Cant wait for season 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect practice, 5 Sept. 2009
By 
Ms. A. J. Duffy (stockton on tees) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love private practice better than Greys anatomy. I have enjoyed revisiting this series by watching the dvd. The extras are good too. They give you a little more info about the making of the show and how it all came about. Some funny bloopers too. A must have for all fans of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 25 Aug. 2010
By 
Me, Myself & I (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
I found this to be an enjoyable series and look forward to finding season 2 somewhere at a reasonable cost - these series seem to be very expensive.

This series although not like Grey's Anatomy I found that Addison Montgomery's character developed well outwith Grey's and seemed to show a different side to her, one that seemed more caring and like she wanted to be with her patients when she realised how quiet the practice was to start with.

The rest of the cast are also excellent actors and play there parts well and all the characters/actors seem to gel together well to make it an enjoyable series with some good storylines including the patient/doctor and also the way they interact as friends.

One I would recommend to those who like Grey's Anatomy but also to those who enjoy series like these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love greys anatomy you will love this!!, 8 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I admit I wasn't a big addison fan in greys but she has won me around in this!! I got it as I was having serious greys anatomy withdrawal as I was awaiting the next season!!

It is different to greys - more romance, a few steamy moments but the medical practice is more indepth - you see the patient - the background etc and you see how the different professionals come together - and there personal lives are always involved in one way or another!

This is addisons story with friends and collegues along for the ride! She is newly divorced and ready to get a new life.....thats where the fun begins!

You get attached to the characters and care about what happens next!!

If you enjoyed greys - then buy this! You will not be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews