Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once the wind picks up, Vikings makes for a sturdy adventure.
The perfect companion for all movie enthusiasts is: THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

There are more ambitious dramas on television right now, but few that deliver as consistently on what is promised than "Vikings" . The series was created by Michael Hirst, who has plenty of experience with period intrigue (the...
Published 9 months ago by amazon customer

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You may want to cut your hair and get all pagan.....don't!
A good series overall but with a tad too much swagger about it. There are some great moments and I enjoyed the visual aesthetics very much, so much so in fact that I cropped the back of my hair off , left a tatty fringe, stopped shaving and strained myself doing push ups.

My wife has been upset with me ever since. The amorous scenes did little to enhance or add...
Published 10 months ago by Crunkey


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once the wind picks up, Vikings makes for a sturdy adventure., 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The perfect companion for all movie enthusiasts is: THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

There are more ambitious dramas on television right now, but few that deliver as consistently on what is promised than "Vikings" . The series was created by Michael Hirst, who has plenty of experience with period intrigue (the "Elizabeth" films, Showtime's "The Tudors"), and the pilot directed by "Breaking Bad" veteran Johan Renck. With a little help from computer effects and a lot from their production people and the green hills of Ireland, they create a vision of the culture that may not be 100 percent historically accurate, but which also doesn't feel completely ludicrous for the sake of drama.

Though we open with Ragnar as one of the few survivors of a fearsome battle involving swords, spears and axes -- one that's not quite as graphic as, say, Starz's "Spartacus," but also one that doesn't hide from the blood -- the series is willing to take its time to introduce us to Ragnar's family, his community, and the conflicts before the action really gets heated. We meet his wife Lagertha (Katheryn Winnick), a fierce shield-maiden in her own right, and their son Bjorn (Nathan O'Toole), who's on the verge of becoming a man -- with all the power and responsibilities that involves. And we see the subtle battle between Ragnar and the local Earl (Gabriel Byrne), who believes there are no lands to the west and no way to get there -- even though Ragnar has discovered the Viking equivalent of GPS, and can properly chart a voyage through unfamiliar waters.

Fimmel's a former model who had a rough introduction to the TV business a decade ago as the star of the WB's "Tarzan," but he's evolved into an interesting performer. The role of Ragnar plays to all of his strengths: impressive physical presence, a command of the screen, crazy eyes that also reveal a wicked intelligence behind them. Some of his most interesting moments involve Ragnar in repose, contemplating his next move, and Fimmel absolutely holds the frame as he does it. The part (and the beard) may create more confusion between Fimmel and Charlie Hunnam on "Sons of Anarchy," but that's not a bad thing when the performance suggests it might have that kind of power behind it.

Fimmel is well-matched by Winnick, who's convincing as a woman who can go to battle with these giant men, and also by Gustaf Skarsgard (brother of Alexander from "True Blood") as Ragnar's eccentric ship-building friend Floki. Byrne is playing more of a stock villain, but he also lends credibility to this maiden voyage for History, and Jessalyn Gilsig from "Glee" plays well to type as the Earl's cunning wife.
In an odd way, the series play's almost like science fiction. Ragnar is the explorer determined to go somewhere that everyone says is impossible to get to (if it exists at all). And when the Vikings do eventually land on the shores of England, they're greeted as something akin to aliens, baffling the local Christians -- including George Blagden as a monk who becomes Ragnar's reluctant guide to the Saxon world -- almost as much as they in turn are baffled by those who would leave so much gold and so many jewels lying around an unprotected house of worship.
"Vikings" isn't complicated. It doesn't get too cute in its dialogue, and instead relies on the inherent appeal of the era and these characters to drive the story. It knows what it wants to do, and it does it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping tale of the Viking age, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought that Vikings would have been mainly focused on endless invasions/battles against England, bloodthirsty raids and so on. Instead I was delighted to discover a gripping tale about the legendary Ragnar Lodbrok (who, by the way, reminded me so much of Jax Teller!) determined to pursue his vision: explore (well, attack) the west lands. Challenged by his local ruler, Earl Haraldson, a man with no initiative and quite content to continue raiding the usual east lands, Ragnar has to deal with a number of exciting events. We follow him as a warrior, as a leader, as a husband and father, as a brother and meanwhile discover traditions of the Viking age.
Like all historical drama, it might not be 100% accurate (Michael Hirst also wrote the Tudors, which was criticized in terms of historical accuracy), but the show well reflects the Norse legendary sagas and is definitely a high quality product. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When men were men, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No more Kirk Douglas jolly Norsemen here, its down and dirty with these guys! At last an excellent portrayal of how Viking raiders should look and act according to historical accounts. Fabulous costumes, gripping storyline with heroes and villains, betrayal and mistrust, thrown into atmospheric sets with myths and legends throughout.
If you enjoy accurate history portrayed in historical film or TV with an exceptional script, then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop what you are doing and watch it, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Held off watching it for a long time as I wasn't 100% sure I would like it. However, once I started, I couldn't stop. Watched series 1 and 2 within three days. I would have done it in two but work got in the way. I absolutely love it!! I love Game of Thrones but sometimes feel it's a bit excessive at some points like killing babies etc yet the story and characters bring you back for more. Vikings is like that. You have the awesome story and compelling characters that just have layer after layer added with each episode without the killing of infants.lol. So in my opinion I prefer this to Game of Thrones. Well worth a watch!!

On another note the scenery, cinematography, scripting, acting, sound track and general direction within the show is phenomenal. Plus the cast kind of make you sick with their perfect physiques. Makes you feel like a leper yet at the same time inspires you to go to the gym.lol.

I cannot wait for season 3 next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'ONE OF THE GREAT TV- SERIES'S OF TODAY', 5 Feb. 2014
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Story line,
We follow 'ambitious' Viking-Warrior, 'Ragner' who has a vision which is not
shared by 'Viking Lord' 'Earl Haraldson'
As with previous years, 'Haraldson' plans to raid to the east this summer.
'Ragner' and brother 'Rollo' are planning to sail west raiding the west' for the
first time, 'Ragner' is having a ship built for this purpose by the hands of the
eccentric 'Floki'
This is a decision that will put 'Ragner' at odds with 'Earl Haraldson' but the
warrior is determined to follow his dream.
It is believed by many including 'Haraldson' that there are no lands to the west.
'Ragner' and his crew have a successful expedition having landed on and raided
the Island of 'Lindisfarne' taking great treasures from the monestry, killing many
of the defenceless monks and capturing others to use as servants back home.
The Viking-Lord will seek vengeance upon 'Ragner' and his family for daring to
defy him.
However 'Ragner' and his raiders fully intend to return to the new-lands to the west.
'Rollo' a great warrior himself is feeling eclipsed by his brother 'Ragner' who is
receiving all the acclaim, a situation that is surely festering.
This is a gritty tale with many scenes of graphic violence, telling the tale of the early
and bloody days of the Viking raids on British shores.
With a new-season on the horizon this is a significant made-for-TV series well worth
following.
This the first series just gets better and better episode by episode.
Features..
* Blu-ray -exclusive deleted scenes.
* Blu-ray -Interactive exclusives:
* The armoury of the Vikings.
* Conquest and Discovery.
* Audio Commentary on select-episodes with show creator 'Michael Hirst'
* A Warrior society.
* Birth of the Vikings forging the Viking Army.
* Warfare and tactics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


134 of 152 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must own!!!!, 22 Dec. 2013
Vikings is the best show of it's genre and one of the most spectacular television series' on-air today.

The cast is astounding, every last one of them. No matter which scene I was watching the acting had me hooked to the point where I actually watched the series all in one go in one day.

The locations and sets are breathtakingly inspiring; I could almost smell the fire in the Jarl's hall, smell the salt air of the north sea and feel the weight of an axe in my hand.

Then there's the soundtrack. The opening title music is so emotive and I think captures so well the physical and psychological hardships and culture of the viking high period. Throughout the show the soundtrack serves to re-enforce the acting and scenery. Sometimes you don't even notice the soundtrack and sometimes it's full on in your face; the soundtrack does exactly what all the great one's should do.

The x-factor on this show for me is the costumes. Thank goodness the 1950/60's ideas of hollywood viking costumes are dead and burried. The costumes appear to be very realistic. Some are simple, like the ordinary, everyday attire. Then there are finer costumes for festivities which look so convincingly authentic, and the battle gear looks awesome.

This is an absolute must own for anyone who enjoys a great story!

If you enjoyed the hobbit/lord of the rings or game of thrones then you'll love this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The eye for detail is fantastic! Travis Fimmel as Ragnar Lothbrok is inspired, 30 Aug. 2014
By 
A. P. Owens (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wow! The series seems so realistic. The eye for detail is fantastic! Travis Fimmel as Ragnar Lothbrok is inspired. I'd certainly want to be in his team. His looks of murderous intent / content are quite chilling.
The first series has real depth to the acting talent, from the male and female roles right through to the child actors and actresses.
Floki! Brilliant! Lagertha! Be MY shield maiden!
The Vikings' lack of fear in battle and death and their love of ‘the fight’ is highlighted in the scene where they return to the beach with their loot only to be confronted by a larger enemy force. They hardly break step, put down their goods and continue to the beach to sort out this inconvenience!

SHIELD WALL!!

Roll on series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Brilliant, 28 Feb. 2014
I was ill for two weeks in December of 2013 with the dreaded chicken pox, picture the scene,
there i was, shivering with fever and covered in pox looking for something to take my mind off the sickness, when i stumbled across the tv series, The Vikings.
i watched the whole first series in one massive sesh, and after gorging myself on the entire first series ,ended up needing more, more, more i tell you.......
Great job cast and crew , Fantastic, can't wait for the 2ed series witch coincidentally starts later today .......
Brilliant, Bloody Brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant a must see. for both series., 4 May 2014
after watching this as my husband had heard it was good. I am so glad we did.
everything about this series is amazing,
from the story, to the acting, the scenery and the fighting.
one that makes you need to watch them back to back as you need to know what is happening in the next episode straight away.
every actor was fantastic, made you really think about what it was like in those days and I think they have done justice to history.
I have not seen a great programme like this except game of thrones that had me completely engrossed the whole way through.
I have just finished watching series 2 and that is also gripping, fantastic, marvellous..... the list could go on.
a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Danger Intrigue Adventure, 13 May 2015
My husband is actually the reason why we both decided to watch Vikings Season 1 together (so far we have watched up to Season 2 espisode 2). I had actually had this show as one of the ones I’m following in my tumblr feed and recently took my husband up on his offer to watch it with me (we are both open-minded about what each other watches, but there are certain shows I watch on my own and there are ones he watches on his own). However, this is one show that we both can agree on because of the adventure, intrigue, and the element of always leaving the viewer to guess what is going to happen. The show centers around the character of Ragnar (Travis Fimmel), his friend Floki (Gustaf Skarsgard),Ragnar’s wife Lagertha (Kateryn Winnick), and his brother Rollo (Clive Standen). Ragnar has an understandable aggressive streak essential for this survivor. However, he also has a large heart of gold hidden beneath his tough exterior for his wife Lagertha, their children Bjorn (Nathan O’ Toole) and Gyda (Ruby O’ Leary), his brother Rollo, and a strong kinship with his friend Floki. Ragnar has an overriding goal to conquer lands beyond his own homeland. As naturally expected, both Ragnar and those closest to them experience various detours along the way towards their objective of expanding their lands. I want to say more, however I am concerned of providing too many spoilers for those who have yet to see the Viking series. Normally, I mention who my favorite characters of the show are yet I feel guided to discuss just my husband’s favorite characters for this show. My husband sees the good in various characters portrayed within the episodes of the Viking series that we have seen so far. However, my husband admitted that Ragnar and Floki are two of his favorite characters of the Viking series. He likes Ragnar because there is a sense of calm and confidence about him unless the lives of those closest to him are danger (including members of his community). I think that my husband also admired the character portrayal shown on how Ragnar could separate how he has to be in battle while carefully retaining his soul and sense of feeling for his wife, children, his brother, and his allies (including Floki). My husband also admired the character of Floki because of his assured and energetic spirit as well as how he helps out Ragnar and his wife regardless of what is in it for him.. For instance, I noticed that my husband mentioned how Floki was also one of his favorite characters when there was a scene where Floki chose to help out Ragnar and his wife even with being uncertain as to where and when he would get his next food stores (there is a scene where Lagertha expresses concern at Floki generously sharing what was left of the last of his essential food for the winter). However, even with no guarantee of a positive or negative outcome, Floki’s character is seen expressing to Lagertha that she and her husband Ragnar have no reason to fear as he trusts that he will still somehow be provided for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews