Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENHANCED ENTERPRISE
Excellent remastering of the original STAR TREK SEASON 3 source material. The new CGI Enterprise, planets and stars are seamlessly integrated and the 35mm episodes are given a vivid makeover. It all looks and sounds fantastic and there's no doubt that the visual impact on display here would have been just what the creators had in mind over forty years ago (despite lacking...
Published on 29 April 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but the weakest of the three seasons
Only got this recently, but I've already watched some of the stand-out episodes from this season. CBS Digital have done a marvellous job of upgrading the effects, without going over the top. See for example the asteroid-ship in, "For the World is Hollow...", or the Romulan cruisers in, "Enterprise Incident". Although yes, by this point the budget was way down, and so...
Published on 20 Jun 2009 by I. Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENHANCED ENTERPRISE, 29 April 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent remastering of the original STAR TREK SEASON 3 source material. The new CGI Enterprise, planets and stars are seamlessly integrated and the 35mm episodes are given a vivid makeover. It all looks and sounds fantastic and there's no doubt that the visual impact on display here would have been just what the creators had in mind over forty years ago (despite lacking the technology and the budget to make it a reality at the time). Has it been worth the wait, then?

Absolutely...and yet, in the cutting-edge 21st century, there's still a tiny part of me that can't quite let go of the old 15ft long starship model (complete with rubbish matte lines) in orbit above the same old alien world - Alpha 177 - every other week. Nostalgia can be a double-edged sword.

..................

BEST USE OF CGI DEMONSTRATING
What The Format Stands For: Episode 9 THE THOLIAN WEB

LEAST WELL EXTRAPOLATED
Sounds Of The Future: Episode 20 THE WAY TO EDEN

MOST ALARMING ARGUMENT FOR
The Torture Of Innocents: Episode 12 THE EMPATH

OUCH! WORST CASE EVER OF
Stereotype Reinforcement: Episode 1 SPOCK'S BRAIN

FLIMSIEST-LOOKING SOLUTION TO END A WAR BETWEEN
The Ground And Sky Dwellers Of A Mineral Rich Planet: Episode 21 THE CLOUD MINDERS

LEAST FORGIVING CLOSE-UPS OF A NASTY COLDSORE ON
The Lower Lip Of A Female Guest Artist: Episode 18 THE LIGHTS OF ZETAR

COOLEST EXAMPLE OF SHATNER/KIRK FISTICUFFS DURING
An Alien-Enforced Shootout At The OK Corral: Episode 6 SPECTRE OF THE GUN

MOST UNINTENTIONAL LAUGHS ARISING FROM
The Cliched Depiction Of Mental Instability: Episode 14 WHOM GODS DESTROY

..................

Despite being hampered by budget cuts - resulting in a bit less action and a bit more standing around explaining things - Season Three is STILL nowhere near as bad as you may have been led to believe. Great fun throughout, in fact. The original STAR TREK remains the best sci-fi series of them all.

VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season Three - Uneven In Terms Of Quality, Yet Maintaining A Sense Of Enjoyment Much Of The Time, 15 May 2009
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I think it's fair to say Star Trek's third season was not its finest, because as many Star Trek fans are well aware there were a number of factors that were conspiring against it - namely budget cuts and a new timeslot resulting in the potential loss of Star Trek's core audience, which also resulted in Gene Roddenberry standing down as producer after he had offered to steer the show to greater things. What he could have achieved had he decided to take a more hands on approach we'll never know, but what we have in this, Star Trek's final season, is a very uneven bunch of episodes - some of which do compare favourably with those from Star Trek first season (which was arguably their finest), and others which are pretty much lacking, whether that's to do with the basic viability of the stories or lack of consistency within the existing premise of the show's main characters. There's also pretty much a cold detachment between the characters in this season which is especially noticeable after watching the warmth and humour which had really began to develop during season two. However, and despite those drawbacks, there are also a few positives to be taken from the many subtle changes within the show's format. There are few, if any parallel earth stories, and little evidence of the computer inspired stories with which Kirk inevitably ends up talking to death - both of which had been done to death during the previous seasons. In fact in many cases the aliens tend to look more alien - especially in 'Is There In Truth, No Beauty?'. The social (moral) themes from the earlier seasons also largely remains intact.

Generally, a mixed bag of stories, and although arguably few of the episodes ever quite attain the greatness of earlier times, more often than not the shows do maintain a high level of enjoyment. 'The Enterprise Incident', 'The Tholian Web', 'Day Of The Dove' and a number of others are truly fine episodes - although Star Trek does plumb new depths with the notorious 'Spock's Brain', The Way To Eden' and 'Whom Gods Destroy'.

This newly remastered DVD version compliments the show's original intentions perfectly, especially with regards to the new special effects - and in particular those of the Enterprise travelling through space. The new enhancements have been handled with real respect and with a sense of dignity in not spoiling Gene Roddenberry's original vision - and for that i'm extremely grateful !

Admittedly not Star Trek's finest hour, yet neither is it lacking in vitality, however misquided some of the plots may be, which is something i could seriously charge some of the later reincarnations of being quilty of. Star Trek still pretty much wore its heart on its sleeve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not as bad as you may remember, 30 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
having been a fan since the late 60s, i feel able to speak with some persepctive regarding the remastered and CGI editions of the episodes contained on this new release.

The episodes when shown in the 60s and even into the early 80s where very acceptable in their special FX, however since the advent of CGI, we have become accustomed to top quality SFX, and the addition of such to the 1960s episodes of ST have not diminished the experience one bit... i would say it has brought ST into the 21st century. I am aware this grates with the purists who believe the episodes ought to remain untouched.

The episodes are packaged in a metal tin, with "fat" amaray style clear case.

Extras are plentiful and interesting to watch.

All in all a very worth while purchase. Series 1 and 2 are of course better for being under Gene Roddenberry's control, and these episodes are drifting away from his original "feel", but they are not as bad as you may remember them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STAR TREK IS BETTER THAN EVER, 27 April 2009
By 
KM WHITEHOUSE (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is nice to see at long last that the original series special effects now match up with the other Star Trek series. I can only find one fault and that is the planet skies could have been retouched instead of the original studio backdrops, but besides that a brilliant job of remastering. The Enterprise now looks better than ever, gone are the bitty stock footage shots of the ship with blue matte lines. The CGI model works better than the old 60's physical model and gives a new dimension to the series. The pilot episode "The Cage" has been given the CGI treatment along with a fantastic scene where the ship's records arebeing downloaded, pictures of men on the moon can be seen (5 years after the pilot was filmed).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The storylines made Star Trek great, 4 July 2005
By 
Omer Ahmad (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The stories were engaging and politically relevant then and now, unfortunately today we live in a society where there is less dissention through televised fiction. Star Trek addressed real issues from the 60's, they talked about racism, sexism, diminishing workforce through automation taking over people's jobs and social inequity, the subject of communal euthanasia was also broached as was the topic of inter-racial relationships. Star Trek prides itself on showing the first inter-racial kiss on TV and William Shatner describes how he bungled this scene repeatedly so he could kiss Nichelle Nicholls again.
They sometimes reviewed our own species as barbaric and unjust. It is in our nature to build empires and then suffer bloody revolutions and Star Trek often depicted the freedom fighter struggling against oppression on some distant world, and by doing so waving an accusing finger at many of the global problems we create on our own world.
Kirk may have rushed in where fools fear to tread but Shatner has explained the Kirk never sought vengeance and was compassionate, which indeed he was. Kirk often made unfashionable choices by today's standards when he chose to spare the enemy or find a solution that was a forced compromise, but which meant life went on. Star Trek was a wonderful phenomenon that died before its time, and for me as a child it provided awe and wonder and for me as an adult Star Trek shows that beyond the swashbuckling heroics it had very interesting and pertinent stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a revelation!, 10 Aug 2009
By 
Margaret Stevens (a village in Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Star Trek - The Original Series - Series 1 - Complete - Remastered [DVD] [1966]
I was amazed at the difference the remastering of the original Star Trek complete series made. I was reluctant to purchase the DVDs. I have been a huge fan of all the Star Trek family from the original to Enterprise. Having seen the original Star Trek from when it was first broadcast, many times and remembering the stories so well, I looked back and thought how poor the effects were after seeing all the others, Next Generation, Deep Space 9, Voyager and Enterprise. But I plunged when they were remastered, how wonderful, what a difference the new effects make, I am thoroughly enjoying them once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek's Much Maligned But Marvellous Season !, 25 Dec 2004
By 
W. S. Barklam - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When Star Trek, on the brink of cancellation, was yet again rescued by the fervent campaigning of its ever-faithful fans, Season Three emerged. Although lacking for the most part the healthy mix of message-bearing moralising with straight shoot-'em up phaser-firing and stylised fisticuffs that made the first two years such a winning combination, this season has much to recommend it and, with exception of maybe a couple of episodes, can never be accused of being boring. Even when veering towards the realms of the absurd and tacky, it never forgets TO BE FUN ( something which the more sententious spin-offs of the franchise - Deep Space Nine take note ! - might have done well to remember ). And yet, for all that, there are some genuinely great episodes here which astound, move and satisfy to the core, my own personal favourite being "The Paradise Syndrome" which demonstrates Shatner's wonderful - and yes, subtle - acting skills, with the episode ending atypically on a beautiful downbeat note of tragedy. If it's suspense-ridden sci-fi you're after, "The Tholian Web" hits the spot, while the premise of "Spectre of the Gun" is the perfect merging of eerie surrealism with the Western. Not to mention the Original Series most convincing Klingon in "Day of the Dove" as played by Michael Ansara. Yes, there are guilty pleasures like the loopy "Spocks Brain" replete with kinkily-clad alien brain-nappers, the controversial "Turnabout Intruder" which some accuse of sexism and bad acting ( although I disagree on both counts ) and wacky science in "Wink of an Eye" ( you'll enjoy this a lot if you don't analyse the logistics ) But what the hell? It's Kirk, Spock and McCoy doing their thing - and here in Season Three, they do it so well !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek - Original Series 3, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The voyages of the Starship Enterprise, encountering new diverse cultures, life forms, adventures and dangers. On another level, a lot of the stories are allegories of human problems on Earth in the 1960s and equally valid today. What makes the show so interesting is it's about humanity, character interaction, and how we deal with problems. The stories often question whether they (meaning we) have all the answers and do the right thing. On the surface it's simply exciting space adventure, and just on that level, the show does it very well. Every episode has points of interest, great action, and exciting heroic incidental music. Who cares if a lot of planet surfaces are so obviously dressed sound stages. Because there wasn't a huge budget for sets and special effects, more emphasis had to be placed on story and characterisation. There are many terrific stories, and interesting main characters head up the show. Captain Kirk, a thoughtful. intelligent leader, very hands-on, not afraid to kick ass or question, even disobey, his orders to do what's right. Spock, the cool, logical science officer, half human, half alien, but with probably more humanity than many. McCoy, the passionate, caring medical officer, the voice of compassion and impulse. Spock and McCoy make up opposing yet complementary sides of Kirk's character and motivation. William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy and DeForest Kelley are superb in the title roles, they work and blend together really well - and that's just a summary of the main characters and leading cast.

Watching all 79 episodes (Series 1 - 3) reminded me just how good and enjoyable they are - it doesn't get much better than this! Star Trek was the first show I ever watched and enjoyed on TV and I still think it's great. There's plenty of humour, and while the stories are serious adventures, the show takes itself seriously but not too seriously, if that makes any sense. Of course, those who think it's silly, or camp, or kitsch, are welcome to their opinion, and will enjoy it too.

A lot of critics deride Series 3, but watching all 79 episodes of Series 1 - 3 back to back, I didn't notice a huge drop in quality. There is however less humour and the characters are often more formal. There are also some very dodgy story ideas in 'Spock's Brain', 'The Mark of Gideon' and 'Wink of an Eye' - just how does that woman in the super-accelerated state see the phaser discharge towards her when the beam is travelling at the speed of light? If the basically goodish episodes 'Spectre of the Gun' and 'Is There In Truth No Beauty?' were any slower they would stop. However there are several good quality episodes to enjoy in Series 3.

Working from the original film negatives, the remastering has been lovingly done and the picture quality is sharp and pristine, belying the age of the originals. The original optical special effects have been replaced by CGI, so for example instead of a slightly blurry iconic model Enterprise passing a diffuse looking planet, you now have a crisp detailed CGI Enterprise passing a detailed CGI planet. Unfortunately some of these planets look identical. Special features include two versions of the original pilot 'The Cage', one remastered to the standard of the main series, the other an archive version, which I didn't watch. Aspect ratio is 4/3 fullscreen. Unfortunately sound level is low and I sometimes struggled to hear the dialogue, but my TV speakers aren't that powerful. There are optional subtitles and plenty of featurettes of interest. My only criticisms of the DVD set are the episode list is obscured by the DVDs and the DVD retainer clips are excessively tight - this is not the case with the Series 2 packaging. At the time of writing at just under £16 - about 60p per episode - this DVD set is excellent value and will hopefully give a lifetime of viewing pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek -Season Three - neither a big bang nor a whimper., 20 Mar 2007
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
By season three big changes were at hand within the world of Star Trek -these stem from the introduction of a new producer Fred Freiberger after Star Trek's timeslot had been moved and its budget cut. It's difficult to believe these days that at the time of Star Trek's original airing it really wasn't a popular show and it was only due to protests by its core fans that it managed to last on air as long as it did. Fred Freiberger and his staff strongly believed Star Trek should be primarily a serious science fiction show and he went about cutting out much of the humour and warmth which had been building successfully in the previous two seasons and in doing so the characters also began to lose their identities a little too. This resulted in a certain 'coldness' which seems apparent at this point in Star Trek's history.
However, despite this, and despite its notoriously bad reputation season three still has plenty to offer. Freiberger dropped two mainstay storylines from the first two seasons - mad computers which jeapodise the safety of the enterprise (that Kirk talks to death) and the parallel earth theory which had both been done to death. With what little budget he had left his Star Trek would predominantly involve 'alien' planets and on occasions more elaborate special effects.
The quality of season three is certainly a lot more uneven than series one and two and the worst episodes do represent Star Trek reaching its lowest point - 'That Which Survives', 'Spock's Brain', 'Whom Gods Destroy', 'The Way To Eden' - yet that's only part of the story, i do believe there still are predominantly more good to great Star Trek stories
on offer here including 'The Tholian Web', 'The Paradise Syndrome', 'The Enterprise Incident', 'The Day Of The Dove' and 'All Our Yesterdays' and Star Trek also effectively continued to incorporate moral issues into its storylines.
I think it's fair to say Star Trek's third and final season didn't go out with a big bang, however this series in terms of quality (for those that were watching at the time) hardly went out on a whimper, either.

I may be biased being a diehard Star Trek fan, perhaps, but it's still worth five stars to me especially when compared with some of the other Star Trek related series's and films that have come much later.

Not forgetting there is also the highly desirable first Star Trek pilot 'The Cage' starring Jeffrey Hunter included in this package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Star Trek's best season, but an irresistible box of Blu-rays nevertheless, 15 May 2013
By 
Nat Whilk (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's a scene in The Simpsons in which Bart is grumbling to a pal about how disappointed he is with the latest issue of his favourite comic. His friend wonders whether he'll refuse to buy it. "What?" says Bart. "And leave a gap in my collection?"

To be frank, a dislike of gaps was my main motive in buying this final Original Series Blu-box. Star Trek's third season saw it losing a hefty slice of its budget and several of its ablest writers and producers, and the quality of the show inevitably suffered. The infamous Spock's Brain gets the season off to a blush-making start, and there are several other episodes in which the suspension of disbelief becomes more than a little difficult; you may recall the red eyeshades that warded off insanity, or the way the Enterprise's masters of antimatter and space-warps were awestruck when they encountered an alien ship with an ion drive. As for the procession of guest starlets and their ever skimpier costumes, I can only hope that the studio wasn't draughty.

This said, the season has many more good episodes than I remembered from my childhood. I enjoyed revisiting the Enterprise's strife with a female Romulan, Kirk's time as an amnesiac Amerindian shaman, the re-enactment of the gunfight at the OK Corral, another tussle with our dear old Klingons, an irritable royal fiancee, battling piebalds, space-faring hippies, a caveman-reverting Spock, a very old Leonardo da Vinci and a decidedly vengeful ex-girlfriend of James Tiberius. And I respected the writers for being willing to take on serious social issues like racism, over-population and inequality. All in all, I ended up feeling that the gap between this season and its more successful predecessors wasn't quite the chasm that we Trekkies sometimes imagine it to be.

Whatever one thinks of the stories on these discs, the excellence of their presentation on Blu-ray is surely beyond question. The purity of the video and audio streaming down your HDMI cable will astonish you, and the optional CGI sequences offered as alternatives to the 1960s visual effects are, I think, masterpieces of their kind. The matte images of Leonardo's palace or the Eden of the questing hippies would do credit to a modern blockbuster.

Extras include interesting interviews with Walter Koenig, Bill Shatner, Nichelle Nichols, Leonard Nimoy, George Takei and a painfully elderly James Doohan, as well as an amusing glimpse of the convention subculture, a featurette about Trek collectibles and many other odds and ends beside. Also provided are the unaired pilot and an extended version of the aired one.

Before I ordered this set, I was afraid that I might regret it. I needn't have worried. Reboarding the Enterprise has been a joy, and even the weakest moments of the season have had a nostalgic sweetness. I only wish that Buffy, Angel, Roswell, Babylon 5, The Dead Zone, Joan of Arcadia and my other favourite old TV shows could be reissued on Blu-rays as lovingly luxurious as these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wink Of An Eye
Wink Of An Eye by Jud Taylor
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews