Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Party time
When I bought Wii Party U I was a little sceptical. Other reviews online made the game out to be dull, overly complicated and not very fun. However, I took a chance and bought it anyway.

Colour me surprised, then, when we discovered that the game is a lot of fun to play. Me and my girlfriend tend to play the board game modes more, which take many cues from the...
Published 8 months ago by A. P

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The game's not great, but considering it's pretty much free with the remote...
Who wins the games is often very arbitrary, particularly the ball pushing game which is entirely luck and no skill at all... Worth a buy for the wiimote, but the game itself is nothing to write home about.
Published 6 months ago by S. Richardson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Party time, 5 Nov 2013
By 
A. P "Persepolis" (Eastbourne, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wii Party U with Remote Plus - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
When I bought Wii Party U I was a little sceptical. Other reviews online made the game out to be dull, overly complicated and not very fun. However, I took a chance and bought it anyway.

Colour me surprised, then, when we discovered that the game is a lot of fun to play. Me and my girlfriend tend to play the board game modes more, which take many cues from the Mario Party series. Roll a dice, move along a board, play minigames, repeat. It's a tried and tested formula and it can lead to a lot of laughs. It's best played with 3-4 human players, mind. 2 human players and 2 CPUs is fine, but some gamepad elements are definitely more enjoyable with a full party of mates. And that's Wii Party U's main strong point, local multiplayer mayhem. This isn't a game designed to be played alone. I mean, sure, you CAN play it solo but you simply will not reap the full benefits that this game can give you.

My only main critique is that the game gets a little confused as to what it wants to be. Aside from the board game modes there are also other, smaller minigame themed things you can do. Some of these games are good, others are a little confusing. By trying to be different things to different people, the core party experience has been watered down as a result. This, however, doesn't change the fact that this is a great game played with some close friends on a cosy friday evening. Nintendo are the masters of creating genuinely enjoyable, laugh-out-loud experiences, and while they may have missed the mark a little by trying too much in too small a space, Wii Party U is still great fun. Plus, for 35 you get a Wii Remote Plus (RRP 40), a gamepad stand AND a game. So, if you need a new Wii remote, you may as well get this and try the game out while you're at it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted fun, 28 Dec 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wii Party U with Remote Plus - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
This is a fantastic introduction to the wii u for our two young children, aged 3 and 6. The fact you get a new remote as well makes it a no brainer.

This is very lighthearted though, great if you have young children or want something easily accessible if you have people round for a drunken get together.

I can't imagine it is that great if you play it without children playing, or a drink to hand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect., 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wii Party U with Remote Plus - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Great fun game not to be taken seriously, more players the better. The best thing about the item though is the controller that comes with it. Wii motion plus with a rubber case (Complete with 2 x Maxwell AA batteries) which at the price 31.99 is a steal your basically paying for a controller and a free game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 11 Nov 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wii Party U with Remote Plus - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Wii Party had always been our favourite family game, but we were not sure about buying this one as it could just be more of the same. How wrong we were! This is absolutely wonderful! Our five year old loves it and so do we! There are less 'luck mini-games' (e.g., pick a firework and see if it flies the longest on Wii Party) and much more variety. This is also the first Wii U game we have that makes full use of the Wii U game pad, and the mini-games that use it are a LOT of fun. I am not too excited about the board games (the ones on Wii Party were somewhat more imaginative), but the mini-games are absolutely great! Buy for Christmas family parties - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars granson, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wii Party U with Remote Plus - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Gransons cost us grandads lot so nice to buy at grwat prices will keep him entertained for hour and me when child minding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best played with 3+ people, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wii Party U with Remote Plus - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Bought this mostly because it was the same price as the remote itself, but have tried the game and it seems fine. I only have one other person to play it with though and it seems like you need 2 wii remotes to play it together rather than the gamepad. The board game section seems to be the best way to play the game, though i haven't tried all of the modes yet. I'd imagine that with 3 or 4 people it would be a great game to play, but i don't really think that you can play it by yourself (unsurprisingly).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings, but fun., 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wii Party U with Remote Plus - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
It's not as good as the previous Wii Party on Wii, but it's definitely worth a look. I find some of the unique modes are really fun with a few friends and beers on the weekend. The menu layout is a little convoluted and it can be a pain to find exactly what you want to do, but when you do finally get started you'l be busy for hours. recommended for either family gatherings or for drinking games with your mates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wii Party U with Remote Plus - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Excellent family game. Better than the original Wii Party. Loads of new fun games. A must for those rainy days where you need to entertain the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wii Party U with Remote Plus - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Brilliant mini games, great family entertainment. You are basically getting this game for free when you take into account that it is just as much to buy the controller on its own. Bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great price!, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wii Party U with Remote Plus - Black (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I was looking for a controller and found it was cheaper to buy the game with the free controller than a controller on its own!!

I was very impressed with the controller as it came in a rubber case and my children enjoyed the games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wii Party U with Remote Plus - Black (Nintendo Wii U)
48.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews