Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sequel
Loved this book, even more than the first. The writer is obviously inspired by the works of Steven Erikson (who writes around a complex magic system where magic users gain the powers from houses/holds), however whilst Erikson's work can be difficult to follow this is a nice and easy read. Definitely will be keeping an eye out for the concluding part to the trilogy and...
Published 20 months ago by P. Spicer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy for the video game generations
This is valid for all three books of the trilogy:
Reads like a video game: develop your hero's skill by solving different tasks /rooms. Get objects to get more power. If hurt go to the healing pool. Kill more monsters / bosses. Grind on.
And like a proper video game more than half the time there are fights, fights that last whole chapters.
All in all, not...
Published 1 month ago by Roland Meditz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sequel, 22 Oct. 2013
By 
P. Spicer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimson Vault (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book, even more than the first. The writer is obviously inspired by the works of Steven Erikson (who writes around a complex magic system where magic users gain the powers from houses/holds), however whilst Erikson's work can be difficult to follow this is a nice and easy read. Definitely will be keeping an eye out for the concluding part to the trilogy and hope more will follow for works in this interesting world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Solid fantasy. Which I enjoyed., 26 Sept. 2013
By 
M. Sunderland "remarkableape" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimson Vault (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The characters in this book save it. It is a strong world and the magic works. It is a little like a computer game but I am sure that is what the author had in mind. The series is progressing well although I knew what was going to happen well before the end. But Fantasy is confined by rules.

What really makes the book readable is the authors excellent characters. They are all slightly damaged but utterly believable. You don't get pure hearts or simple blood thirsty fools here. They are all unique and, quite frankly, some of the best written and rounded characters I have come across in any literature.

It is these characters I am returning for and not the rather standard series of challenge and reward magics which gets a bit repetitive and we have to spend a lot of time learning the rules which change as a result of the Valinhall incarnation. Still a good romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast escalations!, 24 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimson Vault (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable second sortie into this interesting world. Have romped through the tale at alarming rate, much like Simon...

Waiting with bated (Nye) breath for the concluding volume...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only his second book?, 21 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The Crimson Vault (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent read from an author who has captured the imagination with a wonderful new magic and great new characters. A brilliant second book, looking forward to the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The crimson . Vault i, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimson Vault (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the 2 book I have read good story line love the character would have like 2 have all three books would have been far better than wait for how long for book 3 ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good start, but gets slower towards the end, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimson Vault (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Like Will Wright's previous novel, this one started off at a fast lick, and I could not put it down, but as I got further through it, the story got more and more confused in my mind, and after many attempts to finish it, I have not as yet managed to get past chapter 14. So its not really fair to make major comments. The description of the people and the world that they inhabit reveals a fantastic imagination, but the plot seems a little too complex to follow. Its probably me. May change the rating when I have finished it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Crimson Vault (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy), 2 Feb. 2014
By 
John Preston (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimson Vault (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is as good as book one (and that means it is good). I got slightly confused by why one of the factions wanted to save human sacrifices being made by means of unleashing the "incarnations" which would then destroy the world, but that may have been me reading too fast and missing an explanation. Don't let that put you off though, as this author has a crackling imagination, and the whole world he has conjured is very enjoyable indeed. I can't wait till book 3 is available!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy for the video game generations, 7 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimson Vault (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is valid for all three books of the trilogy:
Reads like a video game: develop your hero's skill by solving different tasks /rooms. Get objects to get more power. If hurt go to the healing pool. Kill more monsters / bosses. Grind on.
And like a proper video game more than half the time there are fights, fights that last whole chapters.
All in all, not enough story for me and too much repetition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantasy twists and turns, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimson Vault (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I love this trilogy and can't wait for the final book. I enjoy reading about the different territories and all the twists and turns involving the main characters, you never quite sure who is on each side and it never does seem a clearcut team A are good, and team B bad, giving the story a more realistic feel.
Keep the stories coming Will Wight and I will keep reading them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Big improvement, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crimson Vault (The Traveler's Gate Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't overly impressed by the first book so I didn't have high expectations but I was pleasantly surprised. In almost all aspects its superior to the earlier book and I only had a few grumbles about the boring leveling up powers aspect and some poor dialogue.

Anyway its a good book and I definitely look forward to the next in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews