Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another cancelled show
And so V becomes yet another scifi show cancelled before it's time, joining the likes of Flashforward, Terminator The Sarah Connor Chronicles, Pushing Daisies, The Event, Caprica and Stargate Universe. While not up there with the magnificent Battlestar Galactica remake, this was still an enjoyable scifi show that didn't deserve cancellation and ends on a gripping...
Published on 1 Jun 2011 by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear
Oh dear. After a fantastic first season, V returns with a catastrophic follow up that was destined to do one thing: secure its demise and sudden cancellation.
In just a mere ten episodes, this series is rushed and bamboozling with incredulous plot turns that will leave you scratching you head in disappointment. The special effects remain dodgy as heck and most of the...
Published on 2 Nov 2011 by steveursson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another cancelled show, 1 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
And so V becomes yet another scifi show cancelled before it's time, joining the likes of Flashforward, Terminator The Sarah Connor Chronicles, Pushing Daisies, The Event, Caprica and Stargate Universe. While not up there with the magnificent Battlestar Galactica remake, this was still an enjoyable scifi show that didn't deserve cancellation and ends on a gripping cliffhanger that will now never be resolved. It's a joy to see Jane Badler, Diana from the original series and Marc Singer also shows up in the finale and you get the feeling that you would have seen a lot more of him in season 3 had it gone ahead. Some good twists in this too. A shame to see it go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good remake shame it ended too soon, 23 May 2011
I loved the orignal V back in the 80`s and was unsure of this remake but I am soo glad I gave it a chance. Season one was enjoyable and I watched it only a few days before season 2 was aired on UK tv, this series really picks up and the ending was fantastic, its such a shame that it was cancelled in it`s prime as there is so much more story to be told. To miss this gem would be a shame I am glad I had the chance to see it rather than miss out buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No series three! Sacrilege!, 12 July 2011
The first series of this revisited series (could I have worded that better?) was a bit slow moving, but it did serve to slowly get you used to what was happening, and the various characters involved.

The second series really got moving, and there were some quite surprising twists in the plot, showing that the producers of this show weren't afraid to take chances. Unfortunately, this still wasn't enough to get a third series.

In this day and age when awful TV is produced on most channels, it's a shame that something like this wasn't given the chance to move forward. How is it that there are terrifyingly bad shows getting produced where pointless celebrities are followed around to see how they live, yet shows that excite you aren't given another chance.

It's a sad state of affairs. Less thickos in the world would be a start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best sci-fi out there at the moment, 5 Jun 2011
As a huge fan of the original 80's show and the previous season one, I can honestly say this season definitely picked up the pace, it felt a lot more nostalgic, including many of the classic moments from the 80's show that made V such a cult classic!

Anna eating the rat, Jane Badler as Diana, Marc Singer as Lars, even a re imaging of the Starchild, dont even get me started on the cliffhanger!! From begining to end this show has kept me on the edge of my seat, its a shame we will never know if the visitors win, or if the humans can send them packing......

Shame the show was cancelled, but this DVD is well worth the purchase, and everyone knows that DVD sales can bring back a TV show, look at Futurama and Family Guy! There are many fan campaigns on facebook as well, search for Project Alice or Please renew V for a 3rd Season and show your support.

All in all, I recommend that everyone watch this show and buy the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cancelled - I don't believe it!!, 24 Oct 2011
By 
R. King "raking" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a really really good series but yet again the Americans cancel it. What is wrong with them? I am really getting fed up of spending hard earned cash on their series only to see them cancelled and without a satisfactory ending. There are so many rubbish series out there that just seem to keep going on for ever and ever but all the good ones get cancelled just because they may not get the ratings they wanted. That does not mean that they are bad it just means that they are being shown at a bad time or they are recording and watching later, which I assume does not count in the ratings then. How many things have been made that are not big hits to start with and yet then end up as 'classics'. When will they learn? It happened to Stargate Universe, and there they couldn't even be bothered to release the second series on Blu Ray so I am refusing to buy it, and 4400 etc etc. Wake up America - there are big fans of these series and you are ruining it for all of them and that includes me - Annoyed? You bet I am!! UPDATE 9/11/11: I think Mr Horizontal must have been watching a different show to me as season 2 is much much better than season 1 and is great to have Jane Badler as Diana from the original series in the 80's but this time as Anna's mother - nice surprise that was. If they had carried on with a season 3, who knows we may have seen Robert Englund again!! Please bring it back - I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story line builds to an incredible crescendo!, 12 Jun 2011
I enjoyed the orginal V but found this new remake very slow to get going through season 1.

Season 2 is a whole different story, it all starts to make sense where the plot is going, the sinister scheme becomes known to the viewer and the final episode is the most compelling cliffhanger I've ever seen. I can't wait for season 3!

I love scifi, Star Trek, Stargate, Firefly etc, and initially I thought this very tame, it isn't, it's addictive. Buy it now, you will not be dissapointed and like me you'll be counting the days to the next season.

One of the best scifi shows of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed - one of the best TV shows ever made, 28 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first season was excellent, the second season is even better. Picking up where the first season cliffhanger left off the action is picked up hundred fold and the episode plot lines are even more inventive, fast and exciting.
With Anna's plans to create an army of soldiers scuppered she turns to plan B, i won't reveal what this is but its big! The V's true intentions are revealed and its clear they are definitely not 'of peace.' Erica, father Jack, hobbs, ryan and chad decker (who joins the fifth column after learning the truth about anna's reptilian nature) continue to formulate plans and do everything in their power to eradicate the V's and expose the truth. But their plans are never smooth and there are enough twists and turns here to satisfy even the most ardent fans of the original and enough crowd pleasing special effects, excellent acting and taught storylines to draw in a new audience.
What really annoys me is the fact that this show has been cancelled. Why the hell are the networks cancelling all of the good shows before they give them a chance for people to get into them. V is one of the best shows to be aired in a very long time, it is addictive, brilliantly written and full of action and movie quality FX. We have enough of the reality shows clogging up the screen and all the other bull thats constantly on and rubbish shows like Doctor who or two and a half men never seem to be cancelled so why should a perfectly good show like V be scrapped before its time?

If you are wanting to invest in a show that delivers thrills, twists and awesome plot lines then i suggest you buy both seasons of V, trust me you will not be dissapointed.
Rerettably the extras are a little light, the only ones being some decent deleted scenes - it would have been nice to have a making of or some bloopers and commentaries. But don't let the lack of extras put you off this ten episode season is addictive and hard to stop watching.

So far V will not be returning for another season, but there is still some hope as project Alice is growing -Join it on Facebook if you want a third season of V.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 2 Nov 2011
By 
steveursson (Woking, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh dear. After a fantastic first season, V returns with a catastrophic follow up that was destined to do one thing: secure its demise and sudden cancellation.
In just a mere ten episodes, this series is rushed and bamboozling with incredulous plot turns that will leave you scratching you head in disappointment. The special effects remain dodgy as heck and most of the time left me wondering why they bothered with obviously fake backgrounds (Vatican) and not just film inside to make it look more realistic.
Morena Baccarin remains every bit as captivating and terrifying with her fantastic performance as Anna while Tyler remains infuriatingly annoying and two dimensional; the blue-eyed, floppy haired teenage angst gets very old very quickly and you just end up longing for him to die; thankfully, all is not lost.
If you loved the first season, get this to see where it ends up but please don't wait with the same hope and enthusiasm that we did or you will be sorely disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Still unremarkable., 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not so long ago I wrote a somewhat critical review for the first season of V. I noted that a lot of fans of the series had claimed that the new V is "sophisticated" and "intelligent" in terms of the moral issues that are raised by the show and the ways in which they are dealt with; having noted that this has been said by others, I then went on to disagree with this positive assessment, pointing out that the series hinges on the presumption that the only good Vs are those that have become human-ized (i.e. have started to feel emotions). Ergo, far from blurring the line between us and them, or between good and bad, the series merely allowed for some Vs to become good by changing into something more like ourselves. That's hardly a challenging notion. I also pointed out that the first season gave us no explanation as to why some of the Vs have developed emotions in the first place, or why they always refer to them as "human" emotions.

Has anything changed since then?

Actually, yes. In this series we do see some slightly more complicated moral issues, as Anna becomes more emotional, and the human resistance group starts to resort to increasingly ruthless methods to achieve their goals.

Likewise, my questions regarding the origins of the "human" emotions are at least partially answered. Apparently the aliens are "infected" by the human skin that they are wearing. (Hey, I didn't say that the explanation made sense!)

The biggest change between this season and the previous one is that things seem a tad more silly this time around. Anna is now attempting to track down and harness the power of the human soul. We're supposed to think that this is sinister and threatening, but all I could think is that she's wasting her time. This spiritual quest leads to several scenes in which the audience has its patience severely tested by pompous pseudo-intellectuals who think that it's, like, totally deep to tell us that the soul resides in the heart, and not the brain. Moreover, it's from the soul that humans derive their feelings. Ummm... no. If that was the case then that would mean that the feelings that the visitors are experiencing must be the result of them inheriting human souls va the skin tissue that they're wearing. If that's the case, then one could hardly say that the soul is immaterial and is disconnected from the physical body. Never mind.

Like I said before, this season is a little grittier and darker than the previous one, but that doesn't stop it from being daft in ways that the original series could only dream of. At least in the original series the aliens look as though they could actually fit inside their human costumes, whereas in this one we can see that these creatures certainly would not be able to pull off this trick. The tail alone would be impossible to hide.

Long story short, expect more of the same this time around: generic action, lazy plotting and uniformly unconvincing special effects, but with a few moments of genuine intrigue to keep you watching right up to the disappointing finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't peel back the skin on this one, 29 Nov 2011
By 
Matthew J Nottingham (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Oh dear. Season one had potential for the second to go one of two ways. Unfortunately, it seems a rushed, poorly thought out and appallingly written mess. The storyline is repetitive and lacking any suspense, the dialogue wooden and the characters semi dimensional. Peel back the skin on this one and it's ugly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serpent's Tooth
Serpent's Tooth by Steve Shill
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews