Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Television
I first came across this programme on the excellent FX channel, from the moment I watched the opening scenes I gripped by the gritty realism and the fashion in which the characters were established. If you are a fan of 'The Sopranos' and 'The Wire' - then you will love this! This programme can punch its weight with both of them in terms of characterisation; analysis of...
Published on 31 Oct 2006 by R. Townsley

versus
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Character Wasteland
A premise as simple as "two brothers on opposite sides of the law" can make a good or bad show depending on how it's fleshed out. Any comparisons between Brotherhood and The Sopranos or The Wire fail because the two latter shows were brilliant at creating complex, contradictory, fascinating characters whereas Brotherhood relies on this initial premise to present two...
Published on 24 Oct 2010 by Carmen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Television, 31 Oct 2006
By 
R. Townsley "Angry Fan" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first came across this programme on the excellent FX channel, from the moment I watched the opening scenes I gripped by the gritty realism and the fashion in which the characters were established. If you are a fan of 'The Sopranos' and 'The Wire' - then you will love this! This programme can punch its weight with both of them in terms of characterisation; analysis of criminality and its relationship with politics; plus its study of cultural identity within a pluraistic society.

The story is a simple premise. Two brothers, one a criminal, the other, a low level politician representing a deprived area in Rhode Island. They live different lives, but ultimately their existence becomes intwined with each other; in what is essentially an exploration of family loyaly and its effects on a tightly knit community.

In this review I have intentionally tried to avoid giving away plot points.

If you love realistic, gritty television that has an epic quality similar to 'The Godfather' and an exploration of the complexities of criminality in the vein of 'The Wire'. Then you will love this programme!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great acting, tough and gripping episodes, a top series all round!!, 11 Aug 2010
By 
E. A. Wrench "tyrant_geezer" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brotherhood Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not even sure how I found out about this show (I think it must have been because I knew that Jason Isaacs was in it!!)but from the first moment I was hooked. The episodes are well crafted and there is a very dark undertone to the whole show, much darker than say The Sopranos - HBO Complete Seasons 1-6 (New Packaging) [DVD] [1999]. This is not a show for people looking for a bit of escapism but a show that really highlights great acting and gritty realism.

I urge you to try it out and hopefully if enough people get hooked like me, then they will release the entire catalogue for everyone to enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sibling rivalry, 27 Aug 2010
By 
P. Rowe "wheathill" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brotherhood Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Now ended after three relatively successful seasons in the US (airing alongside Dexter on Showtime) Brotherhood provides a drama as intriguing and as violent as the Sopranos. Setting it's narrative between the corrupt lives of two brothers it shows how at City Hall there are as many crooks as on skid row. Season one works well at establishing the lead characters and builds towards a startling series of revelations that run from the end of season 1 into season 2 and culminating in a satisfying fashion ins season 3. Totaling 29 episodes in all Brotherhood is small and impressively formed and well worth a punt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sibling rivalry, 22 Jan 2008
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An aspiring Irish-American state representative,Tommy Caffee finds his plans going awry when his violent mob connected brother turns up out of the blue. Tommy's life is further complicated by his wayward & bored wife & daughter, mob boss Freddie becomes a nuisance & he starts to have to schmooz with the big boys in order to advance his career.
As the series unfolds all sorts of dark secrets come tumbling out of the Caffee family closet, Michael becomes increasingly violent & the family turns on itself.
There is much to recommend 'Brothers' & the only reason it's got 4 stars is that on occasion it repeats itself & drags a little. That said most of the time it keeps up the pace & you never know just what mess is waiting next for the Caffee family.
The real selling point for the series though is the high class of acting by all involved. As Tommy Jason Clark does a great job of balancing charm & oily deceit, Fionnula Flanagan is exceptional as the worried, bullying & smothering matriarch while above all Jason Isaacs is superb as the totally unpredictable & fearsome Michael.
Around these three the support actors all contribute a great deal.
The picture is fine as is the sound. The extra's are tat.
If The Shield & The Wire are on your favourites list then this is going to appeal. There is a deep & fascinating storyline & character arc being developed here & it's well worth following.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Qulaity, 27 Sep 2010
By 
M. K. Bain (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brotherhood Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Started subscribing to top up tv service and had series two downloaded to my box. Watched the first episode and was hooked. So purchased series one and loving it. Brilliant series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sopranos little brother!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 15 Mar 2009
Great show, great actors and great dialogs!
Simple story of 2 brothers in an irish neighbourhood called the hill.One is a politician who tries to keep a clean image and the other is an natural born gangster who brings a lot of heat to the hill comunity! They love each other but they getting in moral conflicts all the time!
Iam happy that i found Brotherhood, i just ordered season 2 and cant wait!
If you like mob storys you will have fun with Brotherhood,the only problem is there are only 3 seasons planned:(
Is not as good as the Sopranos but for sure one of my favorit shows allready!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific TV - comfortably on a par with The Wire, 26 Jun 2014
Absolutely phenomenal and criminally underrated TV series with very strong performances from all of the cast, especially the two leads, Jason Isaacs and Jason Clarke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brotherhood series, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brotherhood Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I really like this series - Jason Isaacs (who is from my home town of Liverpool, UK) is a brilliant actor, and I feel it sad that the series ended after just 3 series.
I did enjoy it however, and am now considering the \wire as my next purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great series, 24 Feb 2013
By 
S. A. Hughes (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brotherhood Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this when it first came out. Now my nephew is 18 I'm rewatching all the great old series he was to young to at the time.
This is up there with th best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not The Sopranos , but still worth watching, 7 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brotherhood Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
We ordered this simply because we had already seen all of the other series that we wanted that were available. It's seems to trying to be an Irish Sopranos and it simply doesn't make it. We found the opening episodes rather flat and predictable (lots of talk about 'family' and 'brothers') but halfway through Series 1, we became more interested in how the characters were developing and what was going to happen next. It certainly doesn't have the wit, depth or complexity of The Sopranos and the urge to compare the 2 programmes is always there because of the 'mob' angle. However, it is an entertaining and interesting programme in its own right. The storyline really picks up in Seasons 2 and 3 and everything is rounded off nicely as it was a planned end and not a sudden loss of budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mark 8:36
Mark 8:36 by Phillip Noyce
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews