Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars124
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:£2.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2007
"Saw III" is the grizzliest thriller since "Hellraiser." It offers a lot: tension, gore, suspense, fantastic cinematography, and a fitting soundtrack. Fans of the previous "Saw" movies will surely not be disapointed.

I think the third installment of "Saw" certainly strikes out as the most gory. It is not a "scary" movie, but it is certainly a "gory" movie. Normally, I rebel against movies like these (gore-filled bloodbaths), but I think "Saw" offers a much more deeper and meaningful story then, say "Hostel Part II".

The Jigsaw Killer is on his death bed. Him and his apprentice, Amanda, must play the final game before he reaches death. The story leads on from "Saw II", so I think viewers of "Saw III" should watch the second movie first (unless you're going to see it plainly for the gore). He has recaptured Jeff (Angus Macfadyen) and has a brutal test ahead of him in order to save his young daughter's life, and her sanity.

The Traps in "Saw III" are fairly stomach-churning (one of them certainly stands out), much more than the previous "Saw" movies. I know a lot of movie-viewers may want to know about the Traps before they view the movie, but for that, I would recommend the IMDB. I would not recommend this for the light-hearted. It is a full-on gore-fest.

For those who enjoy horror movies, I would recommend "Saw III" and any of the other "Saw" movies. The suspense is brilliant, and there is much more of Jigsaw's well-loved Puppet killer. Fans may also like to know that "Saw IV" is now finished, and that the creators have now pronounced a "Saw V" and "Saw VI". Oh, will the games ever end?
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2007
Oh dear like everything in Hollywood once they make a good movie they have to stretch it to almost breaking point. The original saw was highly imaginitive, but now the deaths and gore are going over the top. Its sad in this day and age how hollywood takes delight in ever more excessive ways to mutilate the human body. Who gave Jigsaw the moral highground to sit in judgement on peoples lives let alone put them in traps with his freaky assistant. no more saw please.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2006
Picking up from where Saw II leaves you hanging, the film breaks straight into the action, restoring the terror from the previous two films almost instantly. To inform you of what happens could possibly ruin the film for you, so suffice to say that when I was in the cinema, 14 people had to leave (including me) and one woman fainted from the extremely disturbing graphic nature of the film.

No other film I have seen quite comes close to the gruesome and gruelling nature of Saw III. It's so graphic, and so involving that it is actually difficult to keep your eyes on the screen during the more stomach-lurching scenes. I'm sure that the directors filmed it in a particular way to create a slight feeling of nausea.

On the whole, I heartily reccomend this film, indeed all three of them to fans of gruesome grizzly thrillers and horror. GO BUY IT NOW!
11 comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2007
Firstly, it must be said that you do need to see the first two films before seeing this, there are a lot of references to the first two films in this one.

Whilst this film is not about to win any awards, it is a great film. By no means is it the best of the three, but is just as enjoyable as it's predecessors. Not for people of a nervous disposition, but I have to say I'm not sure what all the hype about people passing out was all about. Maybe that doesn't say good things about me!!!!

I would whole-heartedly recommend this film to anyone who likes a bit of gore, there is plenty of blood and guts to be had, and I love the way that these guys keep coming up with new and inventive ways to kill people off!

What does concern me is the planned release of the fourth installment this halloween, when they so neatly tied up all the loose ends in this one. A fourth film seems pointless, I will however still be paying to see it when it is released!!!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
An absorbing and entertaining film that sadly lacks an essential ingredient - the willing suspension of disbelief. Here we find the architect of the two earlier SAW films a virtual cripple, laid up and dying - and yet somehow he has managed to turn an abandoned slaughterhouse into a bewildering deathtrap. Makes rivetting viewing but if you think too deeply about the logistics, they just don't pan out. But then why let common sense spoil a good idea?
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2007
Appearing less than a year after the fine saw 2,saw 3 is somewhat rushed movie in my opinion,saw 4 is out in october,so another racing match then.
Regardless this extreme edition of the movie,is just that,extreme,a real lack of storyline is covered up with more gore than one can point a stick at.
The violence is extreme,the brain operation scene was very hard to watch,i didnt like it,yet i did if you know what i mean.
The film starts with a new story,a grieving father falling apart for the loss of his son is invited to play jigsaws game,a top doctor,who has lost her way is also brought in to help prolong jigsaws life,a few twists and turns are then forged among all the characters.
The film is a rushed job because alot of flashbacks from the first two films are included,and indeed explanations are given but the scenes seem a bit fleshed out for the wrong reasons,this i feel was a bit pointless.
This is still a good film for what it is,but cant rival the intense and indeed unique charm of the first two films,good and gory but not the king of kings as far as this franchise goes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2007
First: awsome.

Seccond: very good.

Third: well, it's debatable.

The shocks are in need of origionality, along with the direction, acting, story, dialogue etc. Saw 3 has only gained its popularity by being able to shock... and nothing else; if you're the kind of person who only looks for this in a film, then this is deffinately for you. People looking for a great, thought provoking, origional and scary horror like the previous ones might aswell leave this well alone.

Good, but deffinately not great.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
The original SAW film was a tense, shocking and very intelligent, with a storyline that never stopped impressing me. Its sequel SAW 2 was even better, with more gore, more action and better acting, but now we've got SAW 3, which is not only far gorier than its predecessors, but quite a bit worse! The storyline is still fine. I liked the semi-twist at the end and thought the dialogue was very realistic and clever. The pacing was good and even and the acting was convincing enough. The gore was shocking! It was disturbing, extreme, sickening and stomach-turning! There is a scene involving mashed up pig guts being poured on somebody and a woman performing a brain operation on a man (you see EVERYTHING!). It was a little dull at times, some parts didn't really make sense and the traps weren't as creative as before. I still enjoyed it enough to give it a 3 stars and I can't wait to watch SAW 4, but it was a bit of a let down compared to the previous films. 6.5/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2007
SUPER GORE AS WAS TO BE EXPECTED INTRESTING PLOT WITH HIS APPRENTICE DISHING OUT SOME PAIN TO THE VICTIMS DESPITE HER OWN SURVIVAL IN THE LAST 2 FILMS ,LEFT YOU IN SUSPENSE AT THE END DOES JIGSAW DIE ? DOES THE DOCTORS HUSBAND GET RESCUED WHO KNOWS WE WILL HAVE TO WAIT AND SEE IN SAW 4 SOON TO BE RELEASED
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 February 2007
The film starts really well if not a bit confusing with a guy trying to get out some shackles and bludgering his foot to pieces which is probably the most turn your head away scenes. The film then does a nose diver and it is obvious that the whole cast minor and major have decided that there should only be 3 films. The film involves a guy who cannot forgive a hit and run driver for killing his son, Jigsaw sees a way for him to redeem himself and sets him up with some nasty gorey puzzles to solve and finally the greatest question of all will he forgive the killer and put his life on the line to do so. Jigsaw rather had an easy ride here as his assistant played by Shawnee Smith tries her hand at the puzzles but has a nasty streak where half the puzzles are not solvable and ultimately kills more than Jigsaw would have liked. The ending asks us do we want another one or not and to be honest I dont really care. On a big screen this would turn the old stomach especially with the drilling open of Jigsaw's head.

In short finish the puzzle now before we couldnt care anymore.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)