Customer Reviews
New


212 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something New from Paul McCartney
It's been a while since Paul McCartney released an album of new material - Memory Almost Full came out in 2007 and The Fireman's Electric Arguments in 2008. New has been well worth the wait though, as not only is it full of classic McCartney tunes, it also, like most of his output over the last decade or so, shows a willingness both lyrically and sonically to be...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album.
I am currently listening to most of the Beatles stuff on mono vinyl.
I find some of the album hard work but Mr mcC talent shines through and it's worth a listen I like the idea of multiple producers but it leads to mixed styles and some people may not appreciate this.
The best album from him in years and a brave step for someone who financially does not need do...
Published 5 months ago by MR P SANDERSON


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something New from Paul McCartney, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
It's been a while since Paul McCartney released an album of new material - Memory Almost Full came out in 2007 and The Fireman's Electric Arguments in 2008. New has been well worth the wait though, as not only is it full of classic McCartney tunes, it also, like most of his output over the last decade or so, shows a willingness both lyrically and sonically to be experimental at times.

The album sees Paul working with four producers, Mark Ronson, Ethan Johns, Paul Epworth and Giles Martin, McCartney's original idea was to trial all four of them and use the one he enjoyed working with most to produce the album. Instead he ended up recording with all four - Martin producing seven tracks, Epworth and Johns three each and Ronson two.

McCartney's touring band of Rusty Anderson, Brian Ray, Abe Laboriel Jr and Paul "Wix" Wickens feature on seven of the album's songs, although this isn't strictly speaking a band album - something McCartney hasn't done since 1993's Off The Ground.

A brief song by song breakdown of the album -

"Save Us" - Produced by Paul Epworth this gets the album off to a cracking start. With Queen-like harmonies it's an upbeat rocker that could easily become a live favourite. Although it sounds like a band performance, actually it only features McCartney and Epworth - McCartney on guitar, bass and vocals with Epworth on drums.

"Alligator" - Produced by Mark Ronson, this features all of McCartney's band and has a strong vocal from Paul. Very Wings-like.

"On My Way To Work" - Produced by Giles Martin, this is another band song. One of several songs that casts an eye back to McCartney's life back in Liverpool as a young man. The notion of McCartney riding buses and clocking into work is somewhat incongruous, but it's a decent track enhanced by the bands performance.

"Queenie Eye" - Produced by Paul Epworth. The tempo rises again with this infectious sing-along track. Another song that would work very well in the live environment, it's a great toe-tapper.

"Early Days" - Produced by Ethan Johns. This is a song that harks back to his Beatles past, with lyrics such as "dressed in black from head to toe, two guitars across our backs". The sparse acoustic opening and McCartney's cracking vocals are quite affecting - one of the less cluttered productions on the album, it sounds as if it could have come from the Flaming Pie album.

"New" - Produced by Mark Ronson. The first song to surface from the album, back in August, it's a catchy slice of upbeat pop that could easily fit into most McCartney albums from the last six decades.

"Appreciate" - Produced by Giles Martin. Coming directly after the uplifting "New" this moody song is a change of pace - featuring distorted McCartney vocals, driving percussion from Abe and some nice guitar work from Brian and Rusty.

"Everybody Out There" - Produced by Giles Martin. Abe, Brian and Rusty are all featured on this one, along with unidentified members of Paul's family - simply referred to as the "McCartney Family Chorus". McCartney has admitted that the call and response part of the song was designed for audience interaction. So while the song feels a little contrived, it's another bouncy piece of feel-good pop that's difficult not to like.

"Hosanna" - Produced by Ethan Johns. An acoustic ballad, which is nice enough but it doesn't really go anywhere. One of the lesser tracks on the album.

"I Can Bet" - Produced by Giles Martin. Things pick up again with this sprightly track, featuring Rusty and Wix. Not the best song on the album, but it's a very entertaining three and a half minutes.

"Looking At Her" - Produced by Giles Martin. A slower song, with distorted vocals from Paul. It really gets into gear when the instrumental break kicks in. A bit of a slow-burner, but this song is definitely a grower.

"Road" - Produced by Paul Epworth. One of the songs that took a few plays to click, but it's a good, low-key, track.

"Turned Out" - Produced by Ethan Johns. A nice up-tempo rocker, this should prove to be a popular song in his live set.

"Get Me Out Of Here" - Produced by Giles Martin. Another track with distorted vocals, and here we also see McCartney doing his best bluesman impression. A pity it was relegated to being a bonus track on the Deluxe Edition, as it could have swapped with On My Way To Work on the Standard Edition.

"Scared" - Produced by Giles Martin. A hidden track, appearing 20 seconds after Get Me Out Of Here has finished. It's a solo McCartney performance that sees him playing piano, Bill Black's bass and vibraphone. A tender ballad that sounds heartfelt, it means that the album ends on a somewhat sombre note, although the song is still positive in its outlook.

With the bonus tracks, New clocks in at around the 52 minute mark. Losing both Hosanna and On My Way To Work would have tightened things up, as more isn't necessarily more - but New is a very strong collection of songs that can comfortably sit alongside the very best of his solo material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing really!, 15 Oct 2013
By 
D. Feldman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
Music is such a personal thing. McCartney whether it be Beatles, Wings or Solo has been part of my life. 70's, 80's, 90's and now 00's - he's there. Every album, without exception always has a few cracking tunes on it. How many cracking tunes is debatable. I often go back to old albums and suddenly find something I wasn't interested in ten years ago rings true to me now. It's remarkable really - he did all the Beatle stuff and still comes back with more - every single album! Those that write him off as being too old, clearly spend too much time reading the Daily Mail - remember we all get old. His voice has aged, but it doesn't in my mind at least, detract from the fact he can still write amazing melodic tunes that always have me going back for more.
This album is no exception. But perhaps it is an exception, because there's more cracking stuff on here than on many of his previous attempts. Twists and turns, lovely bridges and that constant bass - the McCartney bass! Two days after release it's too early to tell whether it'll be a laster (initial impressions tell me it is). I thought Memory Almost Full was great when I first heard it, but I find it too loud and get tired after a few songs. This is different. How can he be 71? Only one song tells you his age and that's clearly done on purpose.
Go listen - and if you're not too busy reading the Daily Mail go listen to it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely new album from a legend - vinyl is great, 31 Mar 2014
By 
A. Gulliver "absinthe_boy" (Luton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Paul McCartney needs no introduction. On this record he's worked with several different producers and yet somehow the whole coalesces into a coherent album. Some tracks were recorded on analogue tape, while others were done digitally yet there is no obvious change in sound or audio imaging. The standout tracks are probably the title track, Queenie Eye and Save Me, but there's plenty to like about this. I do find myself listening all the way through. Not a single duff track on here.

A word about the vinyl edition - mastered at Sterling Sound in New York it is *superb*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His finest hour?, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
Ok, he has had many fine hours and a distinguished career that has rarely dipped since The Quarrymen, but this really is a wonderful collection of perfectly crafted songs. I've played the album so frequently, and now bought the sheet music album so I can try to learn from this master.
Each song lives in its own sound and lyric world. The employment of 4 producers clearly helps this process, and not one of the 12 main songs falls below 5-star standard.
A fabulous treasure trove of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Textured collection, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
The first listen of a new McCartney collection of songs serves as an introduction. The second and subsequent listens gradually and finally unfolds the familiar ground of McCartney's melodic genius in both its obvious and subtle forms. New is a typically textured McCartney album - all the genres are there both modern and traditional in style. The melodies are infectious. I've played the album repeatedly to the point that it is not only on my ipod but also uploaded and playing repeatedly in my head especially Alligator and Queenie Eye. Worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
I am currently listening to most of the Beatles stuff on mono vinyl.
I find some of the album hard work but Mr mcC talent shines through and it's worth a listen I like the idea of multiple producers but it leads to mixed styles and some people may not appreciate this.
The best album from him in years and a brave step for someone who financially does not need do put out a record.
But I am pleased that he has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cut Him Some Slack!, 17 Oct 2013
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
Update 30/01/14 - Macca has just won the "Rock Song of the Year 2013" award at the grammy's for "Cut Me Some Slack" which is performed with the ex Nivarna band members. It can be found on the "Sound City - Reel to Reel" album which is a mixture of artists writing songs and performing with the ex Nirvana band (Stevie Nicks is pretty good too!)

Cut Me Some Slack is one of his best "Magical" songs and fits nicely after Appreciate on a remix of this album. Since my first review I also have to admit that "Early Days" is a classic and has now joined the "Magical Tune" section. This is a very good album that warrants repeat plays and if you cheat (like me!) and add the grammy winner it upgrades the album to 4.5 stars and one of his best even if "On My Way To Work" is still frustrating the life out of me as it should also have been a classic!

Original review - This is a pleasant Macca album (Forget paying for the 3 bonus deluxe tracks though) and we should not compare everything to his many finest moments so cut him some slack!

But my Beatle influence theory takes a knock here. After working on the Beatles Anthology the superb Flaming Pie followed. Then many more Beatle tunes found their way into live concerts and the excellent Chaos & Creation, Memory Almost Full and Electric Arguments followed. So what has happened after Good Evening New York City!

The above albums were packed with those unique Beatle "Magical Tunes" and the reason a star is dropped here is simply the missing Magical Tunes. This is best summed up by "On My Way to Work" and "New". The former had the potential of "We Can Work It Out" but loses itself midway through and an annoying guitar blasts in which sounds out of place. "New" though a trademark catchy tune likewise just falls short of finding that extra spark.

The ballads "Early Days" and "Hosanna" have promise but fall just short of the quality of "Somedays", "End of The End", Heaven On A Sunday", or "Jenny Wren". Likewise there is nothing of the quality of "That Was Me", "Young Boy", "Dance Till We're High", "Only Mamma Knows ""Highway" or "Light From Your Lighthouse" etc.

Yet compared to other artists you have to admire the master craftsman at work here and an album that is still going to give much pleasure as he has the skill to make average songs good and dodgy songs into decent fillers. It does sound disjointed with the 4 producers and the album lacks a purpose and feel compared too much of his work. Save Us is a decent opening rocker and there are several catchy "7 out of 10" songs such as Alligator and Queenie Eye as well as the songs mentioned above. Fans will enjoy this but it is not a going to be considered a classic - just very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy It!, 4 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NEW (Audio CD)
Excellent package, not only do you get the studio album which in itself is one of the best and most varied solo McCartney offerings of his career but you get the rare tracks from the sessions which are experimental McCartney at his finest followed by some damn good live versions of the most commercial songs on 'NEW'. All of this comes in a quality book style sleeve with DVD footage from his promotional work around the time of release. Would make a great present for Macca fans and collectors. Well done Paul!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars stop trying to look like a teenager, 8 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NEW (Audio CD)
Macca i think it's time to relax...the bonus DVD it's only another "Macca is Good" product...I think this record is overproduced, there is nothing new in this record...Please Paul, stop tryi g to sing the old tunes in the same key...stop trying to look like a teenager...please Paul, make a real record, try to be a real artist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars McCartney & the Young Bloods, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: New (Audio CD)
Since, probably the early nineties, McCartney has (Unfairly) been dismissed by a lot of music critics as a recording artist with nothing more offer, this seems to have taken a great weight of expectancy off McCartney's shoulders, resulting in an outstanding run of studio albums (Flaming Pie, Driving Rain, Chaos & Creation, Memory almost full & Electric Arguments).
This winning streak continues (mostly) with "New".
The big talking point with this new record is the four producers, but oddly if you weren't told of this fact, I don't think you would have guessed, with not a massive amount of diversity in the production of the tracks. There could have been a bit more experimentation; "Appreciate" really the only example of McCartney's left-field attitude to music (most Paul McCartney fans I'm sure are also quite broadminded in their musical tastes & would not have minded a few more challenging songs).
Plus when an artist records with a single producer on a project, they usually build up a strong relationship, with each party bringing something important to the table.
As for the songs themselves, they're mostly quite complex, with lots of over-dubs (I think each producer was trying to stamp their individual mark on the record). On one hand this means that repeated listens to the album unlocks sounds & bit of music you miss on previous listens, but on the other hand it could be deemed over-egging the pudding just a little. It's just a shame there aren't any simple, stripped down tracks which McCartney does so well, to give the record a bit more diversity.
As for the extra tracks, "Turned Out" is a great retro rocker in a similar vain to "Save Us", "Get me out of Here" has a nice bluesy Led Zeppelin feel to it, the hidden track ""How much you mean to me" is your bog standard piano ballad that McCartney can write in his sleep, still worth paying the extra for though.
There is always a unfair hope that McCartney's next album is going to be as good as Sgt Pepper, which I know is ridiculous, but there's always a small part of your brain that always thinks so.
So a good, if not outstanding album, I don't think it's a strong as "Chaos & Creation" & "Memory almost Full", but his done a lot worse in his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New
New by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews