Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return to Oz
A lovely, fresh sounding recording with great production. There has obviously been a great deal of thought about the interpretation and delivery of the songs. The intonations and inflections by the vocalists really brings the songs to life. The new songs sit nicely alongside the original score and it was definitely the right decision to open up the story by adding extra...
Published on 14 May 2011 by J. Winmill

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars This item comes with extra charges of you live in UK
The reason behind it is that when the item was received I had to pick it up from the Post Office and I had to pay around £14 extra for it because it came from America and that was the duty. Dissapointing as it was not stated when the initial purchase was made.
Published 7 months ago by Mrs. FM


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return to Oz, 14 May 2011
By 
J. Winmill (Lincoln United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A lovely, fresh sounding recording with great production. There has obviously been a great deal of thought about the interpretation and delivery of the songs. The intonations and inflections by the vocalists really brings the songs to life. The new songs sit nicely alongside the original score and it was definitely the right decision to open up the story by adding extra songs and music, resulting in a more rounded production. Overall it feels like a proper musical rather than a kids' show. Undoubtedly there will be comparison with Judy Garland's performance. On the recording, Danielle Hope succeeds in recreating the character and to be honest, makes Somewhere Over the Rainbow her own, there are no ghosts of Garland haunting her version. The campy 'We're outta the Woods' still manages to raise a smile, the addition of 'Bring me the Broomstick' and 'Wonders of the World' for Michael Crawford help with the overall balance of the CD.A deliciously vampy Red Shoes Blues will satisfy all the lip-synching drag-queens for a while to come. A great package. Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A SUCCESSFUL TRANSITION OF THE CLASSIC MOVIE TO THEATRICAL STAGE, 18 Aug 2011
As so many other people around the world, I have been a fan of the 1939 MGM movie since childhood. When it became known that Andrew Lloyd Webber will be producing a brand new stage show with the score from the movie, I was eagerly curious to see what he will do with the material so many love and cherish. Clearly, there were plenty of positive hints that something good awaits us over the rainbow: Danielle Hope's first singing appearances proved that the public has made a sound choice of their Dorothy; the casting of Michael Crawford in the title role meant that he will bring his own renowned theatrical talent once again to the stage after a lengthy pause and last but not least, the inclusion of Tim Rice, with whom ALW has had some of his biggest theatrical hits pointed out that the new material brought to the show will be written with care and industry.

This cast recording includes all of the songs of the show currently playing at London Palladium. After listening to it, I can happily report that it is the very best thing next to live performance.

The orchestra plays the score assuredly and the orchestrations make it sound lush and fresh on the CD. A special reference must be made to the new songs penned by ALW and Tim Rice. Not only did they manage to produce a handful of catchy songs for the spots where a musical number was lacking in the movie (the Wizard, Professor Marvel nor the Wicked Witch had nothing to sing onscreen), but also it seems they decided to do it in a way to supplement rather than overshadow the original score. Hence the whole piece became tighter for the medium of theatre and the story reached a stage of notable fullness. The new songs include 'Nobody understands me' (a melodic introduction to the gloomy Kansas life), 'The wonders of the world' (Professor Marvel's lively lecture to Dorothy); 'Bring me the broomstick' (Michael Crawford's belting act I ending), 'Red shoes blues' (an absolute gem; sung by the Wicked Witch of the West, boasting Tim Rice's magical lyrics) and 'Already home' (a tuneful ballad sung by Glinda the Good Witch of the South and the entire cast; as good as the best songs written by the Lloyd Webber-Rice duo).

The members of the main and supportive cast all give and playful performances. Danielle Hope's debut as Dorothy shows her big potential, as she creates the role without fearing Judy Garland's omnipresent shadow. Her rendition of 'Over the rainbow' is proof to that. Michael Crawford has no less than four roles to play (professor Marvel, Emerald City Doorman, Emerald City Tour Guide and The Wizard himself), yet on the CD we only get to hear two of them (The Wizard and Professor Marvel). It is good to note his voice hasn't aged and he is still capable to bring out a variety of emotions. The Wicked Witch is played by Hannah Waddingham, who gets an enormous kick out of playing this feisty part. Ms. Waddingham has been one of the most talented West End's young leading ladies for years and her strong voice booms during her big number 'Red Shoes Blues'. All three of Dorothy's Oz friends (played by Paul Keating, Edward Baker-Duly and David Ganly) show a considerable comic talent and are very convincing in their roles of The Scarecrow, The Tin Man and The Cowardly Lion. Emily Tierney's Glinda the Good Witch has the angelic voice that glitters during her cues.

The CD slipcase is neatly designed, with lot of production pictures. More of the latter is also featured in the accompanying booklet, together with notes from ALW and the libretto.
This CD therefore comes across as a fine cast recording of a production that is deservingly the current hot ticket in the West End. A must have for Oz fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 28 May 2011
By 
John Hughes (Cairns, QLD, AUS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love it - even the new songs, which although possibly not up to the standard of the originals (but then what could be?) are still very enjoyable and are certainly a fitting addition to the score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joy for your heart and ears., 12 Jun 2011
I think it's a great CD, I completely enjoyed the new songs as well as old ones. Danielle Hope performs her stuff with confidence and great enthusiasm. She doesn't try to imitate J. Garlend and it's a correct approach. All cast is amaizingly good. Michael Crawford as The Wizard and Professor Marvel establishes his star status once more, his voice is powerful and limber at the same time. In some pieces we can discern the Phantom's notes in his singing. A.-L- Webber's orchestration is rich and beautiful. Old songs return as to our childhood and grant us a pure joy and good feelings- and it's wonderfully, isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wizard of Oz audio CD, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I went to see the Wizard of Oz West End production at the London Paladium. Really enjoyed the production. So I ordered the Cd. Its like being back in the theatre listening to all the songs. They have cut out some of the talking, so it is not the full west end production, but you get all the great songs and can follow Dorothy's Journey through merry old land of OZ. Great buy for all those musical fans. If you like the Wizard of oz film, you will love this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE MAGIC LIVES ON, 20 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A joy. The original Arlen/Harburg score has additional numbers by Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice - including songs especially created for the Wizard and Witches, good and bad. They have remained true to the spirit of the loved classic (which, one suspects, meant both reining themselves in a bit - especially Tim Rice with his lyrics). The result is a most happy blend of the familiar and the new.

Clearly there was much on stage to enthral (prompting hopes of an eventual DVD). In the meantime this hour long recording contains much that pleases. A great cast is headed by Michael Crawford (as ever, making impact) and Danielle Hope as an appealing Dorothy. The result delights - tuneful, full of sequences wistful, exuberant, and decidedly spooky.

Handsomely packaged, with a finely illustrated booklet containing all the songs and linking dialogue.

Recommended to all who fancy a good wallow, an evocative reminder of childhood, times of innocence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent memory of a fantastic production!, 26 July 2011
By 
Mr. A. Clark "Tony Clark" (Lymington, Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 2011 London Palladium production was probably the most impressive stage production I have ever seen. This CD provides an excellent memory of the show with all the musical items. For those who haven't seen the show it is a welcome change from the Judy Garland soundtrack from the iconic film and it includes the new songs written for the stage show by Andrew Lloyd Webber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars we off to see the wizard, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brought as a gift perfect packaging ,great looking outer case really eye catching come with digital picture book and even better if you went to watch musical transforms you back onstage also an experience if you didn't the music is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This item comes with extra charges of you live in UK, 19 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The reason behind it is that when the item was received I had to pick it up from the Post Office and I had to pay around £14 extra for it because it came from America and that was the duty. Dissapointing as it was not stated when the initial purchase was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I went to see this show twice when it was on at the Palladium and loved it. If you loved the show, you need to get this. I love the song "Red Shoes Blue".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews