Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff
Another good compilation from one day music this time focusing on Barry Records from 1960 - 1962. There are lots of instrumentals, doo wop and early soul tracks across the three discs. CD 1. In my opinion is the weaker of the three, even though it contains music by the likes of BB. King, Bob & Earl and early efforts from both David Gates and R.Dean Taylor. CD 2. Is packed...
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this one
I thought one day One Day will trip up and here it is.
If there really IS a Barry label then what's on here never appeared on it.
Ever song was from another label which is easy enough to look up on GEMM
Published 6 months ago by Richard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, 14 Sep 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "traceyann" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snap Your Fingers: Barry Records Story 1960-1962 (Audio CD)
Another good compilation from one day music this time focusing on Barry Records from 1960 - 1962. There are lots of instrumentals, doo wop and early soul tracks across the three discs. CD 1. In my opinion is the weaker of the three, even though it contains music by the likes of BB. King, Bob & Earl and early efforts from both David Gates and R.Dean Taylor. CD 2. Is packed with gems from Dionne Warwick, Patti La Belle, Bonnie Lou and The Embers. CD 3. Is very good also with two of my favourite tracks across the compilation - the fantastic Two fools are we by Don & Juan and the just as brilliant If you can't say anything nice by the late great David Box. Overall the sound quality is good but not great as usual with these compilations but I'm happy enough. A good compilation at a low price packed with forgotten gems. 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Track Listing- It's Unbelievable Hide and Go Seek., 13 Sep 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snap Your Fingers: Barry Records Story 1960-1962 (Audio CD)
Snap Your Fingers,THE BARRY RECORDS STORY 1960-1962 has 75 ORIGINAL RECORDINGS spread over 3 discs.

These sets really are a steal at this price.

The simple reason that these sets are as cheap as chips is that the tracks are public domain.

That means the rights to the music has gone and any old Dick or Harry can release them.

The bad news for the previous rights holders means good news for us, the buyers for if the price is too high we will not buy.
So the sets are at a more than reasonable price.
Next year the law changes to fall in line with the Americans and the 50 year rule will be finished.

Now these sets really are a mixed bag.

Some tracks and artists you will know- others not.

But that is the real joy- you just might discover some tracks you have never heard and enjoy if not then the FF feature is just for you.

This revised list should help?
CD1

1. Snap Your Fingers - Joe Henderson
2. Nut Rocker - JaThese ck 'B' Nimble & The Quicks
3. The Road That Leads to Love - David Gates
4. Rocking Goose - Johnny & The Hurricanes
5. Operator - Gladys Knight & The Pips
6. Hide And Go Seek (Pt. 1) - Bunker Hill
7. Midnite Creep - Al Bruno
8. Talkin' No Trash - Chuck Reed
9. It's Unbelievable - The Larks
10. Stormin' - The Checkers
11. Don't Make Me Over - Dionne Warwick
12. Soothe Me - The Sims Twins
13. Bustin' Surfboards - The Tornadoes
14. Better Tell Him No - The Starlets
15. I Need Your Loving - Don Gardner & Dee Dee Ford
16. Angel Of My Heart - The Echoes
17. Richie - Gloria Dennis
18. Night Train - The Viscounts
19. Voodoo Twist - Johnny Winter
20. It's A Long Way To St. Louis - R. Dean Taylor
21. Don't Ever Leave Me - Bob & Earl
22. Summer's Comin' - Ronnie Dawson
23. Hully Gully Twist - B.B. King
24. Nite Owl - The Dukays
25. The Town I Live In - McKinley Mitchell

CD2

1. Peanut Butter - The Marathons
2. A Thousand Stars - Kathy Young & The Innocents
3. Apple Knocker - B. Bumble & The Stingers
4. I'm A-Lookin'For Blue Eyes - Cyd And Cheri
5. Ease My Pain - Johnny Winter
6. Marie - The Mus-Twangs
7. Tear After Tear - Patti La Belle
8. Goin' Home To Memphis - Barry Boyd & The Frantiks
9. Brand X - The Devrons
10. Meet Me At The Twisting Place - Johnnie Morisette
11. I Smiled Yesterday - Dionne Warwick
12. Chicken Necks - Don & Juan
13. Solitaire - The Embers
14. I'm Tossin' And Turnin' Again - Bobby Lewis
15. Cookin' - Al Casey Combo
16. Don't You Worry - Don Gardner & Dee Dee Ford
17. The Duchess Of Earl - Bobbie Smith & The Dream Girls
18. 24 Hours Of Loneliness - Bonnie Lou
19. The White Cliffs Of Dover - The Robins
20. Electrocution - The Esquires
21. Baby Doll - Dean Barlow
22. Sway - Bobby Rydell
23. I Wish That We Were Married - Ronnie And The Hi-Lites
24. Shadrach - The Viscounts
25. No More - Uptones

CD3

1. Alley Oop - Dante & The Evergreens
2. At The High School Dance - R. Dean Taylor
3. Jivin' Around - Al Casey Combo
4. Pony Train - Titas Turner
5. Good Time Baby - Bobby Rydell
6. The Happiest Man Alive - David Gates
7. Caravan - B. Bumble & The Stingers
8. I'll Trust In You - Gladys Knight & The Pips
9. The Drag - Jimmy McCracklin
10. Wiggle Wobble - Les Cooper
11. After Loving You - Joe Henderson
12. Ginnie Bell - Paul Dino
13. Twilight Twist - The Checkers
14. I Lied To My Heart - The Enchanters
15. Shimmy, Shimmy Walk, Pt. 1 - The Megatons
16. Down Yonder - Johnny & The Hurricanes
17. If You Can't Say Something Nice - David Box
18. Our Parents Talked It Over - Kathy Young
19. A Man's Gotta Be A Man - Bobby Lewis
20. Lover's Island - The Blue Jays
21. Two Fools Are We - Don & Juan
22. You're The Reason - Bobby Edwards
23. Slow Walk - The Midnighters
24. Satisfied Part 1 - The Cashmeres
25. My Heart Stood Still - Bernadette Carroll
26. Wavey Cavey Twist- Beverley Westwood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection from legit label, 20 Sep 2013
By 
Walter James (Aby, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Snap Your Fingers: Barry Records Story 1960-1962 (Audio CD)
I don't know why the legitimacy of this label is questioned below, I have a couple of Barry 45s in my collection (Barry Boyd/King Ernest). This is a great compilation and can't recommend enough. Great artists, great sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Canadian Label, 11 Oct 2013
This review is from: Snap Your Fingers: Barry Records Story 1960-1962 (Audio CD)
Snap Your Fingers: Barry Records Story 1960-1962Barry was a Canadian label which leased American product just as London American and several other British labels did in the UK, which rather invalidates Richard's comments. The same applies to Quality which released American product as well as Canadian recorded artists.
Adam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, plenty of gems, 20 Sep 2013
This review is from: Snap Your Fingers: Barry Records Story 1960-1962 (Audio CD)
Great compilation with great sound, a really good mix of artists. Shows just how under rated Barry Records is! Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this one, 19 Sep 2013
This review is from: Snap Your Fingers: Barry Records Story 1960-1962 (Audio CD)
I thought one day One Day will trip up and here it is.
If there really IS a Barry label then what's on here never appeared on it.
Ever song was from another label which is easy enough to look up on GEMM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa638d4ec)

This product

Snap Your Fingers: Barry Records Story 1960-1962
Snap Your Fingers: Barry Records Story 1960-1962 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews