Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a thundering good yarn
This is instalment seven of the Warrior Chronicles set in the time of King Alfred and his successors, with Uthred, the pagan warlord brought up by the Danes, still fighting on the side of the Saxons, although getting a bit long on the tooth. Unsurprisingly, a number of reviewers who (just like myself) have read through the whole series over the years may have a sense a...
Published 22 months ago by JPS

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars losing momentum
A great series and great characters, but it feels like its running out of momentum. The story drags painfully in places, yet as ever the battles and other confrontations are superb. At points however, the insult trading sounds florid and contrived. Not the standard I'm used to from this master storyteller.
Published 22 months ago by Steady


‹ Previous | 1 2 389 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tried & tested, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enjoyable addition to the uthred saga if you liked the previous books you will enjoy this one as well 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pagan lord, 21 Mar. 2014
By 
P. Dunne "The World Is Yours" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant read have read all the previous books on uhtred and loved them all if you like history you will enjoy these books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He just keeps getting better., 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bernard does it again for me. His storytelling is just brilliant and he goes from strength to strength with this series. On the downside, Uthred is now getting old and the series can't go on much longer.
Still perhaps this will give him some time to complete his American Civil War series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great read from Cornwell that I couldn't put down. A must read. Can't wait for the next one in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pagan Lord, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Up to usual B Cornwell high standards. I hope it's not too long before the next in series is available on Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pagan Lord, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All I can say is that Bernard Cornwell is an excellent Author, I love every book I have read from him. This book in question is as mentioned , a really great incite of life at that time .Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pagan Lord Bernard Cornwell, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a true fan of this author and have read a lot of what he has written,and i think this book typifies what an excellent writer Bernard Cornwell is.You get fantastic characters, great story line, and well told.I would advise this book and author to any one interested in Good fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to write a final battle without inflicting battle fatigue., 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another well told yarn from a master story teller. Cornwell shows his class in the final chapter: the showdown between his own small band of warriors and the seemingly unstoppable Danish force led by Cnut. I have dabbled in writing fiction and know how hard it is to represent a battle as something other than relentless butchery. He achieves a layered perspective on the battle thereby avoiding that trap, which inevitably fatigues the sensibilities of a modern reader, by exploring Uhtred's religious beliefs and his love for Æthelflæd and his sons as well as his ironic high regard for his foe. He uses the symbolic value of the swords each protagonist (Uhtred and Cnut) which he names (serpent breath and ice spite) as a proxy for the main combatants and the inevitability of the outcome, whatever it is. It works. Gripping stuff and a masterclass on how to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars losing momentum, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great series and great characters, but it feels like its running out of momentum. The story drags painfully in places, yet as ever the battles and other confrontations are superb. At points however, the insult trading sounds florid and contrived. Not the standard I'm used to from this master storyteller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, but getting a little repetitive?, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a long time since I read the previous volume of this series, but it didn't take long to get into the stride of things.
Cornwell is such a good story teller, that even without recapping previous volumes, you soon remember who is who, and what they do, and the action moves forward quickly. The author has the great knack of keeping up the pace, whilst also fleshing out characters really well. There are no long passages describing places or people, but you still feel as if you know them well.
I do agree with a few other reviewers, in that each book can now seem a bit similar: a world at peace, Uhtrud sent packing by ungrateful people, trouble starts, and he returns to save the day. However, that really is the story of the times, and you do know what you are getting. Perhaps the story is getting near it's end?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 389 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews