Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous, mouth-watering read
I agree with the other reviewer who said you should only read this book with a full stomach - the descriptions of delicious baked goods are wonderful. What I really loved about this though is that it is a story about 'older' people falling in love. Most novels these days seem to be about people in their twenties, but this is about real people who have had real, difficult...
Published 7 months ago by Paula Marrel

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a great deal of substance
I have recently discovered Amanda Prowse as an author but this has been my least favourite of her books so far. It just didn't grasp me and fulfill my interest. It was OK but her other books are better.
Published 5 months ago by Heidi


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous, mouth-watering read, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Love (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
I agree with the other reviewer who said you should only read this book with a full stomach - the descriptions of delicious baked goods are wonderful. What I really loved about this though is that it is a story about 'older' people falling in love. Most novels these days seem to be about people in their twenties, but this is about real people who have had real, difficult lives, and finally find happiness - only to find that it might be snatched away from them after all. Although this is a book to make you laugh and smile, it is also a tearjerker. Amanda Prowse really knows how to tell a gripping story and take you on an emotional rollercoaster - the perfect book to curl up with by the Christmas tree!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet, loved this book., 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Love (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully written book. Full of twists and turns that were unexpected. Very moving and such good insights to all the characters.
Looking forward to the next Amanda Prowse book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Ann (Arborfield, Berks) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Love (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't able to put this down. Amanda has lived up to the promise that her first book 'Poppy Day' gave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Love - by Amanda Prowse, 18 Jan 2014
This review is from: A Little Love (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
Poppy Day by Prowse, Amanda ( AUTHOR ) Oct-25-2012 PaperbackClover's ChildWhat Have I Done? by Prowse. Amanda ( 2013 ) Paperback

What a wonderful read! This book will certainly appeal to those "of a certain age" but also to anyone who is a sucker for a good story involving love, angst, friendship, humour, romance and, of course, food! All Amanda's books are so different in theme but all combine these elements to produce an eminently readable book. Can't wait to read the next installment of the "No Greater Love" series to see what she comes up with next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely heartwarming book!, 10 Jan 2014
This review is from: A Little Love (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
Oh, what a truly lovely read this was - well written, lyrical and extremely moving. Lovely to read about an older heroine for a change and yes, DO eat before you read, otherwise you will be hungry from all that gorgeous baking Prowse writes about, just like in the fabulous Weak at the Knees which is a similar rollercoaster of a read about love, loss and lies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Love by Amanda Prowse, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Love (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
A Golden for the "Oldies". Really a smashing read - a love story to boot. Brilliantly written. Keep going Amanda, as most others have said "can't wait for the next".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning read!, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Love (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
Have just finished A Little Love - it's fab! I have the same feeling as when i first saw Love Actually - you know that sort of fairytale for grown-up's - that. I really like Pru and Milly their relationship is funny and touching. As usual there were a few shock moments that left me reaching for a hankie - but you always get that in Amanda's books - all the emotions under the sun. I love cakes and some of the descriptions were like reading a fancy cake ad and made me peckish! It shows the link between love and baking. I have never been to Salcombe but its made me want to go, it sounds lovely and i want to go where Pru has been! Highly recommend this book, its left me glowing! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A story of friendship and love, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Love (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
Lovely story with believable characters. Two women's achievements are celebrated. Having overcome adversity to follow their dream will it all be snatched away as they reach the pinnacle of success?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Love, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Love (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
So disappointed to have finished this book! Just couldn't put it down and now have to wait on Amanda writing another masterpiece having read all her books now. When will the next one be out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy ending., 9 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. M. W. Lindsay "sparra" (Wishaw Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Little Love (No Greater Love) (Kindle Edition)
This is a story of many parts, not all of them happy, but the book reaches a conclusion with a happy ending. The story is well told and the reader feels included in the lives of the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Little Love (No Greater Love)
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews