Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
8
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2013
When CBS realised "Untitled", Billboard published a excellent review writing in the beginning: "McGuinn & his boys...". This is a sense of reality and the perspective that USA press have of this extraordinary live set of the band. In the rock history, million fans have always a prominent heart-memory from the original line-up with David Crosby, the genious songwriting of Gene Clark, Chris Hillman on bass and Michael Clarke on drums. Through the years, in the late sixties, The Byrds have a long, creative changed line-up with Clarence White on guitar, Skip Battin on bass and Gene Parsons on drums. This live set recording at American University in Washington DC on 12 september 1971 give now a beautiful chance to renew our personal love for the music of the band. Roger McGuinn, the leader and only original member, sing and play his rickenbaer 12 string guitar. The concert is a sensational cocktail from classic hits like "So You Want To Be A Rock'n'Roll Star", "Eight Miles High" e "Mr. Spaceman" to contemporary hits from Untitled ("Lover of the Bayou" and "Chestnut Mare"), Sweetheart of the Rodeo ("Pretty Boy Floyd"), Dr. Byrds & Mr. Hyde ("Nashville West"), Byrdmaniax ("I Wanna Grow Up To Be A Politician") and Farther Along ("Tiffany Queen"). All together these 14 songs mixed country, rock'n'roll, blues & folk-rock. The concert propose electric and acoustic sounds with extraordinary vocals. An ultimate opportunity for discover the american Beatles, in a pure land of freedom and expression. For ever.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
Good recordings. Bear in mind that the picture and sleeve notes are a little misleading. The banjo on 'Pretty Boy Floyd' is played by Gene Parsons, the drummer, not by McGuinn as suggested, perhaps inadvertently, by the pic on the sleeve.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
Recorded at a university gig just after the release of Byrdmaniax, of which I wanna grow up to be a politician and Citizen Kane is included here, and starting off with the fantastic Lover of the bayou, So you want to be a rock'n'roll star and Mr. Spaceman also included in the concert part of Untitled, tis is definitly one you'll want to have. The sound is good, the band is good (actually it is fantastic!) and the packaging is also fine, even though you might have wanted more, the essentials are here; a brief 2 pages background on the concert recording with a picture of Clarence White and Roger McGuinn and one of the concert poster, recording details, track listing and musicians. But most essential; the music ... and that is very good; always satisfying with another take on Clarence show piece, Nashville West, and a wellcome live rendition of Henrik Ibsen's Per Gynt inspired Chestnut Mare a good version of Pretty Boy Floyd, and then there's of course Mr. Tambourine Man, Eight Miles High and at the end a brief rock'nroll medly. All in all a lot of good music for a very reasonable prize.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
There are only 52 minutes here, hence the three stars. My take is the musical performance of these mighty Californians is as strong as Live At The Royal Albert Hall 1971 but this radio show recording is not quite as good so I would suggest those interested in the Clarence White-era Byrds to buy Royal Albert Hall first and second they then check out all the strong live material from this same lineup found on the CD reissue of their Untitled album.

As for me I am a known hardcore Byrds fan and I really dig this recording as it proves there was life in them right up to the end. Okay, Citizen Kane is not anyone's fave Byrdsong but there is a good version of Tiffany Queen and once again Clarence White proves he is the C&W answer to Hendrix. Which I mean from the bottom of my bluegrass heart.

One further niggle: Hold It, their set closer, was not written by Unknown as stated on this CD's credits but was in fact a number three (!) R&B hit for Bill Doggett in 1958. As Doggett is relatively well-known for his immortal hit Honky Tonk Part 1 one might think it was no trouble to find out the authors of Hold It are listed at PPL as "Scott/Butler". I only hope the Byrds and Messers. Scott and Butler get their royalties as this release seems in the grey area between legality and bootleg.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
another great live set made for american radio, this time the other was the live at the royal albert hall set. this band began making great studio albums and after lots of band member changes became a brilliant live band, so if you like them in the studio then you should get to hear these live recordings. straight for the sun is recorded in the autumn of 1971 just after their tour during which the albert hall concert was recorded. the line up split in 1972. hence my title love it
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
First of all, I have to warn you that the sound quality of this concert is not great, it sounds like one of those unofficial releases, which is fine if you enjoy Bootleg recordings, but if not may I suggest "The Byrds live at the Fillmore, Feb 1969", which has a much more professional sound quality to it. .
I've always enjoyed The Byrds 70's output (Untitled, Byrdmaniax & Father Along), the band struck a good balance between rock, country & Bluegrass, which McGuinn & Co performs successfully at this concert.
Recorded in Washington, which gives the gig a more edgy/political atmosphere, in front of musically knowledgeable student crowd (there're not just here to hear the hits).
Highlights for me is an acoustic/harmonica version of "Mr Tambourine Man" closer to Dylan's original & "8 miles high" which has a great-extended funky intro.
So a great social snap shot of time, just a shame about the sound.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
a live recording , so the sound quality is a bit wooly but interesting to hear this line up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
SAD TO SAY not A GOOD BYRDS SHOW THERE ARE BETTER LIVE BROADCASTS OUT THERE-- QUALITY IS GOOD BUT THE PLAYING NOT SO
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)