Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decade (or so) in the life
In the introduction to this book Tom Doyle attempts to reconcile some of the fundamentally contradictory aspects of Paul McCartney. As one of the most famous figures in the world over the last fifty years, it seems like we should known him very well - after all there has been no shortage of interviews with the man over the decades, and this year in particular, with the...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. D. K. Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ram on, ram off.
Doyle's book is enjoyable, in as much as it is easily readable, but it suffers from being rather superficial. There is a comment from Denny Laine that after ten years in Wings, he didn't know Paul any better than when he had joined. Thus is the case for this book. You won't know Paul much better after you've read it than before you've read it. This book is mostly a...
Published 10 months ago by Matthew Lowe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Facts Which Are Easy To Absorb, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man on the Run: Paul McCartney in the 1970s (Kindle Edition)
Love the Beatles and love Paul who has always been my favourite - just loved the way that Tom Doyle put the facts together wihtout unnecessary embellishment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man on the Run: Paul McCartney in the 1970s (Kindle Edition)
great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 4 April 2014
By 
Jo.T (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man on the Run: Paul McCartney in the 1970s (Kindle Edition)
This book is really well written and very interesting - it delves into places not usually known.
A good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man on the Run: Paul McCartney in the 1970s (Kindle Edition)
As a longtime Beatles fan and raised on Wings and Macca it was great to fill in all the gaps in knowledge. A great account of the years after the Beatles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars McCartney - Biography, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man on the Run: Paul McCartney in the 1970s (Kindle Edition)
The 70s were the best and is some ways worst for McCartneys post Beatles music. This is a book based on Interviews the author had with the man himself combined with his own reviews. No new insights, but worth while for Beatles fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One would imagine that it would have been easy for a legend to form a band and get ..., 29 Mar. 2015
By 
D. Meyer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man on the Run: Paul McCartney in the 1970s (Kindle Edition)
This is a well written well researched account of the life of Macca from the end of the Beatles to the end of Wings. One would imagine that it would have been easy for a legend to form a band and get going again but it was a real struggle. Fights, resentment, drugs it's all here. Very readable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man on the Run: Paul McCartney in the 1970s (Kindle Edition)
Great book. I've read a lot of Beatles books and this is up there. Keeps you interested throughout. The stories and details are very good. The author has researched so well for this book. Must have took an age. I was sorry when I had finished it. Buy this book. You will be engrossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Macca fans, 10 Oct. 2013
By 
B. Grossmeyer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was such an interesting book about the greatest songwriter of our time, Paul McCartney. I loved reading about this time period in his life, as I didn't really know too much about Wings and the 70's. A must read for all lovers of Sir Paul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book, 5 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book about the 10 or so years after the Beatles break up. As a McCartney fan particularly fond of the Wings period of his career, I just knew I had to buy this book, and it doesn't disappoint. This book is a great read, and I couldn't put it down. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting take, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this while on holiday recently, it's a book which is easy to pick up and put down and the story is interesting and well told. I've read various biographies of Paul and I enjoyed the angle this book takes by focusing on the 70's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews