Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
31
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£10.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2014
After viewing The Great White Silence we were looking forward to this film with great excitement. However it was slightly disappointing. The original film footage from the Everest expedition is interesting and moving at the tragic conclusion of the story, however there isn't really that much of it. The documentary and introduction are also very thin material. There was a lot more that could have been said about the production and restoration.

The worst feature of the film however is the music. The new sound is horrendous - loud and rather do-it-yourself. It spoiled the elements of original sound and native music making, which could have been made more of. Interviews in Extras were lathered over with loud incongruous orchestral sound so that they could hardly be heard.

Prepare to be deafened and disappointed!
44 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
Superb. Noel captured that expedition in the best way, given the limits he had to work with.

Noel gave Irvine a Kodak to take to the top. I have the identical model and used it in 1952 with the S.A.S. in a remote jungle. Met Hillary and shared different experiences - he'd been freezing while I was sweating. On a high adventure with daughter, showed my camera to Sherpas and told them to keep their eyes open for the one those guys took to the top.

Thanks for the memories!

Ancientoar
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
All footage really good and relives the tragic story of Mallory and Irvine's summit attempt of Everest. Great shots and commentary. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
I missed seeing this in our local cinema, but having my own copy of this amazing footage is much better!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
A very good work to restore the old movie. It convoy the experience, though I do believe very sanitized. When one compares with the report of the expedition on one hand, and the same in "Into the Silence", one gets the feeling that the movie is painting a pretty pink picture. Nethertheless, it is a document, and very well done. Recommended however only to those committed to the events on the Everest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
A piece of history restored, fascinating
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
brilliant film very old camera work which only makes it even more atmospheric
you'd think the mountain was alive watching this
love it!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Enjoyed seeing the diversity of the people whose lives are so entwined with awesome Everest
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
I have been searching for this collectors film for years! And when it was available for pre-order it was a dream come true!

But, first the delay in shipping, and then when it arrived, I was traveling for a LONG time.
When I finally got to opening the disc today.....to my utter disappointment, the double disc case was broken...smashed!.
The disc's actually fall out of the case every time I try to open the case, and then it won't shut!

I went online to get a replacement, but the replacement window had lapsed.

How disappointing! How truly disappointing.
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
I had no idea that a film from Mallory and Irvine's 1924 expedition existed until I read an article about it. What a privilege to see it. The music written to accompany this silent footage was so important and is a work of genius. The 1924 captions were fascinating too and an integral part of the experience. What extraordinary men these pioneers were, climbing with basic equipment and no special clothing. Reminds one of how we were able to build a great British Empire. What a pity that world has gone for ever..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse