Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and enduring
I had the opportunity to see The Great White Silence restoration by the BFI which I thought was well done and so I was really looking forward to see The Epic of Everest. The story of Mallory and Irvine always impressed me. Comparing the two, The Epic of Everest has a different energy, being more esoteric in way with beautiful time-lapses and a slow-paced energy, it is a...
Published 5 months ago by florina

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing following Great White Silence
After viewing The Great White Silence we were looking forward to this film with great excitement. However it was slightly disappointing. The original film footage from the Everest expedition is interesting and moving at the tragic conclusion of the story, however there isn't really that much of it. The documentary and introduction are also very thin material. There was a...
Published 5 months ago by Amanda Hewett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and enduring, 29 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Epic of Everest (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I had the opportunity to see The Great White Silence restoration by the BFI which I thought was well done and so I was really looking forward to see The Epic of Everest. The story of Mallory and Irvine always impressed me. Comparing the two, The Epic of Everest has a different energy, being more esoteric in way with beautiful time-lapses and a slow-paced energy, it is a completely different approach but nevertheless beautiful.

I saw the previous review so I'm compelled to give you a different opinion. I think Simon Fisher Turner's music is the embodiment of that energy that comes from the film, a modern and timeless way to channel the true emotions embedded in it, the optimism, the hesitation and ultimately the spectre of death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Document, 3 April 2014
This review is from: The Epic of Everest (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
This is a beautifully restored reconstruction of an unusual film made by Captain John Noel. It was made to tell the story of Mallory and Irvine's fateful attempt to climb Everest and is very-much a product of it's time, being released shortly after the 1924 expedition. I strongly recommend it. Please don't be put off by it's age. If you have seen Frank Hurley's "South" South [1919] [DVD] or the superb restoration of "The Great White Silence" The Great White Silence / 90 Degrees South (DVD + Blu-ray) [1924], then you will find this equally gripping. It is, as I have said, very much a product of those inter-war years with all the curious remnants of Empire and the dated oddities of National psychology to go with it. Many of the inter-titles are unintentionally hilarious for these reasons. However, the scene-setting in the Tibetan Himalaya is a really extraordinary ethnological document, for all it's self-conscious staginess. The long-distance filming of the activity on the mountain is also amazing for it's time and the conclusion very moving. If you want a modern retelling of the story in a well-constructed documentary, then see the excellent "...Wildest Dream" The Wildest Dream [Blu-ray] [Region Free]. However, the Epic of Everest gives you a truer understanding of what it was like to climb such a mountain in the 1920s.

I was lucky enough to see the film projected in Cambridge University's West Road Concert Hall with a live orchestra in November 2013. This superlative performance was introduced by Julie Brown who had recently reconstructed the original score, in a form as close as possible to that which would have been heard on the film's release. The score is a "compiled" score based around "found" music. It includes, for example, the entire score of Borodin's Second symphony (although the movements are not played in the order in which you would hear them in the concert hall) as well as a huge variety of other pieces by Rabaud, Mussorgsky, Korngold, Lalo, Smetana, Fourdrain and many others. It also includes some specially composed interludes based on Tibetan chant by T. Howard Somervell; who was responsible for constructing the score with the eminent conductor Eugene Goossens Snr. On the day following this showing, Andrew Gourlay and the superb Cambridge University Chamber Orchestra recorded the entire score in London and this is included on the DVD disc of this double-disc edition. It should be on the Blu-ray as well, in my opinion. On the Blu-ray you will find Simon Fisher-Turner's specially-comissioned new score. This is in very similar vein to the score that he created for The Great White Silence. While appreciating the challenge of finding a suitable response to the pictures on the screen, I find both scores unsatisfactory. They're not awful; just adding little (to my ears) to the experience of watching the film. Of course, this is largely a matter of personal taste and opinion. You may find his scores really good and, equally, you may find the "original" score rather weird. It is no longer something that we are used to hearing. However, this ingeniously constructed score gets us closer to the audience experience of the original showing, bizarre as it may seem to us now. I found it a wonderful window into the era and there were several splendid (and unjustly neglected) pieces in the score that seemed "just right" for what we were seeing. It also gives you an excuse for watching the film at least twice and it's well worth your time to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love mountains and mountaineering, this epic is for you., 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Epic of Everest (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
All footage really good and relives the tragic story of Mallory and Irvine's summit attempt of Everest. Great shots and commentary. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic find., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Epic of Everest (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I missed seeing this in our local cinema, but having my own copy of this amazing footage is much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Film, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Epic of Everest (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Don't be put off by the fact that this is a silent movie, it is absolutely gripping from start to finish. A must see for anyone interested in mountaineering history or Tibetan culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its old but brilliant, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Epic of Everest (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
brilliant film very old camera work which only makes it even more atmospheric
you'd think the mountain was alive watching this
love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A waqy to get part of the atmosphere, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Epic of Everest (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
A very good work to restore the old movie. It convoy the experience, though I do believe very sanitized. When one compares with the report of the expedition on one hand, and the same in "Into the Silence", one gets the feeling that the movie is painting a pretty pink picture. Nethertheless, it is a document, and very well done. Recommended however only to those committed to the events on the Everest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing following Great White Silence, 25 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Epic of Everest (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
After viewing The Great White Silence we were looking forward to this film with great excitement. However it was slightly disappointing. The original film footage from the Everest expedition is interesting and moving at the tragic conclusion of the story, however there isn't really that much of it. The documentary and introduction are also very thin material. There was a lot more that could have been said about the production and restoration.

The worst feature of the film however is the music. The new sound is horrendous - loud and rather do-it-yourself. It spoiled the elements of original sound and native music making, which could have been made more of. Interviews in Extras were lathered over with loud incongruous orchestral sound so that they could hardly be heard.

Prepare to be deafened and disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Historical film of climbing on Everest, 11 Mar 2014
By 
B. T. Jorgensen (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Epic of Everest (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
If you are interested in the early attempts to climb Everest then this film is worth watching, if only to be able to actually see film footage of some of the people who we normally only read about. I watched it after reading the book Into The Silence by Wade Davis, which tells the stories of the early Everest expeditions and gives background details on many of the characters who took part in these early climbs. The film is ninety years old and has been restored well, I was hoping to have had more footage of the actual climbing so I was a bit disappointed by the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Epic of Everest (DVD + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
big fan of anything to do with films about everest
but this dvd was so poor in content
sorry but not for me money back please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Epic of Everest (DVD + Blu-ray)
The Epic of Everest (DVD + Blu-ray) by Captain John Noel (Blu-ray - 2014)
11.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews