Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars59
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:£2.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2013
Bought the Fast Girls DVD for my young teenage daughter who is very sporty. She adored it and is now telling all her friends. Good value
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
For a £fiver it`s worth every penny! Ok you`ve seen it all b4 with the poor little black OR white girl struggling to make the grade coz they`re from a poor background off a council estate.

But it works and the actors actually worked their bodies to resemble proper athletes! I know a few reviews here slag the film off but it really is good and as said the cast actually trained themselves to a top fitness level with 600 to 700 sit-ups alone per day.

It`s a good British made family flick to watch with some popcorn with the added bonus of NO swearing!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2012
A incredible DVD that truly inspires all who watch it and it is one of 2012 best family films. It has some fantastic moments and a great plot. The film about overcoming differences and standing up for yourself. My favourite film of the year. 10/10
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this film and was disappointed to see that one of the other reviews on here had taken such a cynical and po-faced approach to what I felt was a really positive and entertaining piece of British film making. Was the production and release alongside the build up to the Olympics a coincidence? Of course not! But that doesn't make it a bad movie, - frankly it just makes it more entertaining.

So, specifics: a fun, light (ish) and entertaining story, - no, it's not a completely authentic idea and won't be put alongside Shawshank Redemption or the Godfather for deep/complex plotlines, - but who wants to watch movies that heavy all the time?!

Cast: brilliant actually, - nice to see British actresses playing British characters, - Lenora Crichlow and Lily James are excellent - with some nice supporting work from Rupert Graves, Noel Clarke and Philip Davis. Slight criticism would be that it was a shame the 'other' girls in the squad didn't get more lines/screen time, Domonique Tipper in particular felt sadly underused.

Score: Absolutely top notch. Some really fantastic tracks that (if you're anything like me) you'll be humming to yourself for days afterwards, - all of which are well chosen for the scenes they cover.

Production: Good, although I don't think they were working with a huge budget that didn't detract overly. It was a shame that in some of the long action (i.e. running) shots it was obvious when the 'doubles' had been swapped in for the regular cast, but part of that was apparently because Lenora was injured, which was clearly a tough issue to shoot around and the heavy use of close shots and slow-motion meant it wasn't too glaring. The cast (the runners at least) clearly worked very very hard for this movie and all looked to be in fantastic condition which helped with the 'realism'.

Cons: other than the two mentioned (long shots and under use of the wider cast) there was a sense that they were trying to meet a hard deadline of 1.5 hours (movie is 91 minutes) and a few things may have been lost to the cutting room floor. In particular, there was clearly more to the (slight spoiler..) scene in the car park that would have explained the use of the 'downpass' if it had survived (don't want to ruin anything for anyone, but watch the scene where Tommy describes the US teams use of the downpass and then watch the final handoff in the final race...).

Overall: Excellent 'feelgood' movie for an evening in, - fun & inspiring film. Yes, it really is inspiring despite what other reviews say, - if you don't feel a little buzz go through you during the last race as the music kicks in and each of the girls comes off their mark then I feel sorry for you..!
;-)
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
GREAT FILM, REALLY ENJOYED THIS BRILLIANT AFTER WATCHING OLYMPICS WISH THERE WERE MORE FILMS OUT THERE LIKE THIS, GREAT FOR ANYONE WHO LOVES TRACK AND FIELD.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
DVD arrived quickly and in perfect condition.

The story centres on the rivalry in female athletics. Typical posh vs poor underlying theme in the film. Perfectly good film, but don't expect anything profound or deep, it's a fluffy flick, but there's nothing wrong with that. Everyone needs a few of this kind of film in their collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
very compelling story of wrong side of the tracks meets upper class both trying to fit in.
very good viewing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
I really enjoyed the movie but the DVD was 'dirty' and it took me a while to get it to play. I don't know if it was my DVD player not agreeing with the DVD or the DVD itself. However I didn't mind as I got to see Bradley's face :D
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
This is a nice film with cool races especially the last one with music to match. Lots of areas to improve on but considering the rarity of such films, the great acting by all the main characters, its definitely one to watch.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
Great drama all round. I'm not at all into watching sports but this film had me on edge of my seat when they were racing. Unlike some other films, it has pathos and interesting character development.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)