Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars102
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2013
The eagerly awaited album in conjunction with the EFSDS website relating to the same material is an absolute joy. Many of the best and leading musicians of the current golden renaissance of British Folk music have been brought together by Fay Hield to produce a majestic album which, in time, will be seen to have the same importance as such tour de force as the Shirley Collins Albion Band 'No Roses'

The playing throughout is exemplary, as you would expect from such a stellar cast. The choice of material wide ranging, from ballads to love songs, to perfectly executed instrumentals and music hall items. Fay takes lead vocals on 4 tracks, especially notable being a lovely closing version of Linden Lea. Nancy Kerr also provides lead on several tracks, including her self penned Fol the Day-O, which fits in with the traditional songs like a hand in a glove, and her dueting with Fay throughout is really beautiful. Too quite disimilar voices blending fantastically well.

The individual voices of the males can easily be identified on the ensemble numbers. Martin Simpsons guitar and vocals on Creeping Jane show what a fine reader of the tradition he is, and any fan of Seth Lakeman will be intrigued by his two contributions.

The most easily listenable tracks, Arthur O'Bradley (which has real tongue twisting lyrics) and Man in the Moon (with its music hall singalong) will probably get the most airplay, but there isnt a duff track amongst them.

Finally, a mention for Sam Sweeney, Rob Halbron, and Ben Nicholls, as fine a trio of musicians you could wish to hear.

Brilliance deserves recognition. BUY THIS CD !
11 comment|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
I tend to find talk of 'revivals' to be unhelpful and, sometimes, overstated. Nonetheless, this album marks the fact that the heritage of these islands, in musical terms, is alive, well and being celebrated.
On this occasion, it is being celebrated by a group of the finest musicians currently playing (and singing)traditional music.
I had the good fortune to see them perform it live but the album stands very well on its own and passes the fabled 'whistle test' remarkably well, providing songs and tunes that will be hummed, whistled and, one hopes, sung to wider audiences.
I may be a tad biased but all round, a very good album and one well worth buying.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Given the line-up featured in The Full English, one would expect something special, and this album doesn't disappoint. Those familiar with the various participants will no doubt be able to tell which member is the driving for behind each track - Seth Lakeman, Nancy Kerr etc have their distinctive styles - yet the collection hangs together well as a whole listening experience. No surprise that the group was recognised at the recent BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards. It's also great that the record draws attention to England's rich musical heritage - so often overlooked compared to those of Scotland and Ireland.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Just to add my two penn'orth to the chorus of praise this album has received. It really is as good as it's cracked up to be. It has a range of great traditional English songs and tunes performed with love and with great musicianship and wonderful singing including the fine, rich harmonies that these songs cry out for.

Read the reviews, try a sample or two and snap this up - it's real treat.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
One of the best albums of folk music I have bought in ages, took me back a bit to Spans early days.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
With a great line up of performers this recording is of stand out quality. I believe this album will be a classic in years to come. It really is a milestone.
With the likes of Seth Lakeman and the great Martin Simpson you cannot go wrong. And they are joined by equally talented performers Fay Hield, Nancy Kerr, Ben Nicholls, Rob Harbron and Sam Sweeney.
There is a wide variety of instruments and some great song choices. it is a great project and the sound is great.
This well arranged traditional sounding folk album is easily recommended.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Sort of the Cecil Sharp House house band. They should sell one copy of this to every Steeleye, Fairport, or Albion fan. It should be mandatory. No one would complain. A really listenable effort. If I were an astronaut, I'd dance The Man in the Moon in the Mare Tranquillitatis, and so would you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
The line up of artists should make this good, but it does not, it makes it excellent. The variety of styles of presentation within the one album makes it very interesting and varied whilst remaining cohesive and unified. Much passes for folk music these days and those of us who like a more traditional sound can be disappointed by some contemporary offerings, but not here. The disc is a good quality sound but is not overly produced in the studio thus one can easily imagine this would sound very similar live, and that in my opinion is how good 'Folk' should be produced Well done and thank you to all concerned.
If you like good playing and singing in a traditional style you will like this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
The first time I heard this I was quite dissapointed. The second time I thought, maybe not so bad, and so it grows on you until you realise this is actually a class act and a great album. Now I love it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
The folk scene's current super group provides a marvellous tour through the recently completed catalogue of English folk music. Just sit back and marvel at the musicianship!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)