Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full-on English
The eagerly awaited album in conjunction with the EFSDS website relating to the same material is an absolute joy. Many of the best and leading musicians of the current golden renaissance of British Folk music have been brought together by Fay Hield to produce a majestic album which, in time, will be seen to have the same importance as such tour de force as the Shirley...
Published 12 months ago by S. D. Crawshaw

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very traditional!
I'm a huge Seth Lakeman fan so bought this on that basis. It is very traditional folk which I don't mind but wish they had chosen more upbeat songs. I found many of them a bit dark and depressing and was a little disappointed. Having said that I have found myself singing some of them to myself after only a couple of listens so they are obviously catchy!
Published 1 month ago by Amanda A


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full-on English, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
The eagerly awaited album in conjunction with the EFSDS website relating to the same material is an absolute joy. Many of the best and leading musicians of the current golden renaissance of British Folk music have been brought together by Fay Hield to produce a majestic album which, in time, will be seen to have the same importance as such tour de force as the Shirley Collins Albion Band 'No Roses'

The playing throughout is exemplary, as you would expect from such a stellar cast. The choice of material wide ranging, from ballads to love songs, to perfectly executed instrumentals and music hall items. Fay takes lead vocals on 4 tracks, especially notable being a lovely closing version of Linden Lea. Nancy Kerr also provides lead on several tracks, including her self penned Fol the Day-O, which fits in with the traditional songs like a hand in a glove, and her dueting with Fay throughout is really beautiful. Too quite disimilar voices blending fantastically well.

The individual voices of the males can easily be identified on the ensemble numbers. Martin Simpsons guitar and vocals on Creeping Jane show what a fine reader of the tradition he is, and any fan of Seth Lakeman will be intrigued by his two contributions.

The most easily listenable tracks, Arthur O'Bradley (which has real tongue twisting lyrics) and Man in the Moon (with its music hall singalong) will probably get the most airplay, but there isnt a duff track amongst them.

Finally, a mention for Sam Sweeney, Rob Halbron, and Ben Nicholls, as fine a trio of musicians you could wish to hear.

Brilliance deserves recognition. BUY THIS CD !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folk supergroup triumph, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full English (MP3 Download)
Given the line-up featured in The Full English, one would expect something special, and this album doesn't disappoint. Those familiar with the various participants will no doubt be able to tell which member is the driving for behind each track - Seth Lakeman, Nancy Kerr etc have their distinctive styles - yet the collection hangs together well as a whole listening experience. No surprise that the group was recognised at the recent BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards. It's also great that the record draws attention to England's rich musical heritage - so often overlooked compared to those of Scotland and Ireland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English folk music at its best, 28 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
I tend to find talk of 'revivals' to be unhelpful and, sometimes, overstated. Nonetheless, this album marks the fact that the heritage of these islands, in musical terms, is alive, well and being celebrated.
On this occasion, it is being celebrated by a group of the finest musicians currently playing (and singing)traditional music.
I had the good fortune to see them perform it live but the album stands very well on its own and passes the fabled 'whistle test' remarkably well, providing songs and tunes that will be hummed, whistled and, one hopes, sung to wider audiences.
I may be a tad biased but all round, a very good album and one well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class folk album, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
With a great line up of performers this recording is of stand out quality. I believe this album will be a classic in years to come. It really is a milestone.
With the likes of Seth Lakeman and the great Martin Simpson you cannot go wrong. And they are joined by equally talented performers Fay Hield, Nancy Kerr, Ben Nicholls, Rob Harbron and Sam Sweeney.
There is a wide variety of instruments and some great song choices. it is a great project and the sound is great.
This well arranged traditional sounding folk album is easily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
One of the best albums of folk music I have bought in ages, took me back a bit to Spans early days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very traditional!, 2 Sep 2014
By 
Amanda A (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
I'm a huge Seth Lakeman fan so bought this on that basis. It is very traditional folk which I don't mind but wish they had chosen more upbeat songs. I found many of them a bit dark and depressing and was a little disappointed. Having said that I have found myself singing some of them to myself after only a couple of listens so they are obviously catchy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New to Folk, 7 July 2014
By 
P. SKEATES (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
I'm pretty new to Folk music, and came across this listening to the radio. The album encompasses a wide selection of old time songs and instrumentals that get's your foot tapping and singing along after a few hearings.

I'm not an expert to be able to comment too much on this, except to say it is great place if you want to start listening to folk and will certainly get me exploring further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant in every respect, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
The folk scene's current super group provides a marvellous tour through the recently completed catalogue of English folk music. Just sit back and marvel at the musicianship!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 May 2014
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
Just to add my two penn'orth to the chorus of praise this album has received. It really is as good as it's cracked up to be. It has a range of great traditional English songs and tunes performed with love and with great musicianship and wonderful singing including the fine, rich harmonies that these songs cry out for.

Read the reviews, try a sample or two and snap this up - it's real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
a wonderful combination of musicians and voices. The tunes are well chosen - a must have in your collection if you are even remotely interested in folk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Full English
The Full English by The Full English
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews