Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full-on English
The eagerly awaited album in conjunction with the EFSDS website relating to the same material is an absolute joy. Many of the best and leading musicians of the current golden renaissance of British Folk music have been brought together by Fay Hield to produce a majestic album which, in time, will be seen to have the same importance as such tour de force as the Shirley...
Published 6 months ago by S. D. Crawshaw

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
I have most of the songs on this CD by other artists over the last 45 years. Most of these are OK but don't exceed the work of CArthy, Watersons, Spiers and Boden, Bellamy etc. And it does get too preciously academic in using awful quality field recordings as one of the tracks.
Published 15 days ago by Laurie Rudling


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full-on English, 9 Oct 2013
By 
S. D. Crawshaw (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
The eagerly awaited album in conjunction with the EFSDS website relating to the same material is an absolute joy. Many of the best and leading musicians of the current golden renaissance of British Folk music have been brought together by Fay Hield to produce a majestic album which, in time, will be seen to have the same importance as such tour de force as the Shirley Collins Albion Band 'No Roses'

The playing throughout is exemplary, as you would expect from such a stellar cast. The choice of material wide ranging, from ballads to love songs, to perfectly executed instrumentals and music hall items. Fay takes lead vocals on 4 tracks, especially notable being a lovely closing version of Linden Lea. Nancy Kerr also provides lead on several tracks, including her self penned Fol the Day-O, which fits in with the traditional songs like a hand in a glove, and her dueting with Fay throughout is really beautiful. Too quite disimilar voices blending fantastically well.

The individual voices of the males can easily be identified on the ensemble numbers. Martin Simpsons guitar and vocals on Creeping Jane show what a fine reader of the tradition he is, and any fan of Seth Lakeman will be intrigued by his two contributions.

The most easily listenable tracks, Arthur O'Bradley (which has real tongue twisting lyrics) and Man in the Moon (with its music hall singalong) will probably get the most airplay, but there isnt a duff track amongst them.

Finally, a mention for Sam Sweeney, Rob Halbron, and Ben Nicholls, as fine a trio of musicians you could wish to hear.

Brilliance deserves recognition. BUY THIS CD !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folk supergroup triumph, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full English (MP3 Download)
Given the line-up featured in The Full English, one would expect something special, and this album doesn't disappoint. Those familiar with the various participants will no doubt be able to tell which member is the driving for behind each track - Seth Lakeman, Nancy Kerr etc have their distinctive styles - yet the collection hangs together well as a whole listening experience. No surprise that the group was recognised at the recent BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards. It's also great that the record draws attention to England's rich musical heritage - so often overlooked compared to those of Scotland and Ireland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English folk music at its best, 28 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
I tend to find talk of 'revivals' to be unhelpful and, sometimes, overstated. Nonetheless, this album marks the fact that the heritage of these islands, in musical terms, is alive, well and being celebrated.
On this occasion, it is being celebrated by a group of the finest musicians currently playing (and singing)traditional music.
I had the good fortune to see them perform it live but the album stands very well on its own and passes the fabled 'whistle test' remarkably well, providing songs and tunes that will be hummed, whistled and, one hopes, sung to wider audiences.
I may be a tad biased but all round, a very good album and one well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class folk album, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
With a great line up of performers this recording is of stand out quality. I believe this album will be a classic in years to come. It really is a milestone.
With the likes of Seth Lakeman and the great Martin Simpson you cannot go wrong. And they are joined by equally talented performers Fay Hield, Nancy Kerr, Ben Nicholls, Rob Harbron and Sam Sweeney.
There is a wide variety of instruments and some great song choices. it is a great project and the sound is great.
This well arranged traditional sounding folk album is easily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
One of the best albums of folk music I have bought in ages, took me back a bit to Spans early days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Full English, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
Bought as a present for Christmas for someone who loves this music and really enjoyed it and play it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sausage, eggs & bacon., 6 April 2014
By 
R. J. Palmer "Erggie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
Diverse group of nu folk players. Some great tracks, Seth Lakeman's lead on two are the standout ones for me, but really enjoyed them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
I have most of the songs on this CD by other artists over the last 45 years. Most of these are OK but don't exceed the work of CArthy, Watersons, Spiers and Boden, Bellamy etc. And it does get too preciously academic in using awful quality field recordings as one of the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Folk is fun, 31 Mar 2014
By 
J. Baldwin "Reader" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
I heard a track from this on the radio after they won an award and, based on that one song, I ordered the CD.
I won't say too much as I'm not really an expert on folk music, even though I spent part of my early 20s visiting a local folk club of a Monday evening.
The album covers the full range from fingers-in-your-ears singing (you'll know what I mean if you've been to a folk club) through to complex arrangements. Not all tracks are as successful as others if, by successful, you mean "catchy". But they're all good folk tunes, sung and played by people who clearly know a thing or two and manage to make each track highly individual.
That in some ways is its undoing: it doesn't feel like a coherent collection so much as a "best of". That's about the worst I can say, though.
I enjoyed it. I think you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great variety of English folk songs, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. C. Sheeran "kipper" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Full English (Audio CD)
The first time I heard this I was quite dissapointed. The second time I thought, maybe not so bad, and so it grows on you until you realise this is actually a class act and a great album. Now I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9295354)

This product

The Full English
The Full English by The Full English
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews