Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


201 of 218 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...It's My Heart That You Stole..." - Exile On Main St. by THE ROLLING STONES (2010 2CD Remaster)
Following an album like 1971's magnificent "Sticky Fingers" was always going to be a tall order - but The Stones did it with swagger and panache. "Exile On Main St" was released 12 May 1972 as a 2LP set on Rolling Stones Records COC 69100 in the UK and on COC 2-2900 in the USA. It reached the coveted number 1 spot on both sides of the pond - and like The Beatles "White...
Published on 16 May 2010 by Mark Barry

versus
64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This version is a rip-off
although the music is great, this version is absurd. The remaster is compressed therefore the dynamics in the sound are gone. If you want it on cd, get the one issued by Virgin. 7 of the 10 bonus tracks have recently been overdubbed, thus making them sound like the present day Stones.

I bought the vinyl version of this album and the vinyl sounds great. The real...
Published on 23 May 2010 by F. Bunnik


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling mess., 6 May 2010
By 
With the Beatles two years gone and three consecutive classic albums behind them, the Rolling Stones were on top of the world. At the same time, though, they were at a low - heading to France to record their new album as a tax dodge and the band at their druggiest they'd ever been.

What would eventually become Exile On Main Street was recorded in fits and starts with session guys and random members of the group. It is in many ways, Keith Richards' album, right down to how low in the sound mix Mick Jagger's vocals are.

However what emerged is what many people consider to be the Stones' masterpiece. A thrilling double-vinyl mess, these eighteen songs are simply astonishing. It's also somewhat unusual in the pantheon of classic albums in that it doesn't open at its best; second song 'Rip This Joint' is probably the worst song on the album, next to 'Turd On The Run.'

But elsewhere is arguably the Stones' greatest work. Jagger's false Southern blues accent has never sounded so legitimate as on the masterful gospel numbers like 'Tumbling Dice,' 'Shine A Light' and 'Loving Cup,' probably the best song on the album.

There are also hard-driving rockers like the excellent Keith-sung 'Happy,' and a deliciously threatening, dark blues suite of 'Ventilator Blues' and 'I Just Want To See His Face.'

The sound mix is busy, murky, cluttered and dark, but the album as a whole is a masterpiece. An essential part of any music collection, Stones fan or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An opportunity missed..., 28 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. M. T. Kay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Here was a chance to follow in the mould of the excellent recent Beatles remasters The Beatles In Mono and cast a spotlight on what many believe to be the Stones' finest hour.

Unfortunately, it just doesn't make the grade. I am sure that this album will sound great to many people listening to it through an iPod or computer speakers. There is nothing wrong with this, as it is a great album and should be enjoyed by many.

However, this is a review of the vinyl, and assuming that most people buying it will be listening through the requisite hi-fi equipment, it simply just does not cut it.

There are many reviews on line by people far more qualified than myself (see Michael Fremer, for example) so I will not repeat the points that they make about the flat, lifeless mastering that completly nullifies the drive and bite of the album. It just sounds so limp and neutered when compared to Bob Ludwig's CD on Virgin, or the original Artisan pressing.

It is a real shame, as the pressing is excellent and has no surface noise whatsoever (at least not to my ears). There is still a large following of people (myself included) who would love the opportunity to get hold of a good quality, clean vinyl copy that retains the dynamism and attitude of the original mix.

If you own any of the Abko Rolling Stones vinyl remasters, this will sorely disappoint. Even the sleeve reproduction is poor. I cannot help but feel that this is a real missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give preference to the Virgin releases, 19 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The thing I want to stress in this review is that I advise everybody to buy the Virgin releases as long a they are available. These are the best masters the Stones albums of the seventies and later have ever had. I checked a few of these with cool-edit and these masters are using the complete dynamic range of the CD format without hitting saturation to often.

The older masters on CBS were clearly less good (although not suffering satuaration and clipping), while the new Universals are victim to the loudness war (check Wiki if you don't know what this is). I own the SE of Exile on Universal, and kept the Virgin next to it. The Universal SE is only in my collection for the bonus disc.

Star rating is for the album, minus one star due to the mastering.

(I posted similar reviews for more of the Virgin releases since I all own them, and for Universals "Exile"; I don't post it on the other Universals since I don't own them).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HOW LOUD?, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this after reading some of the reviews saying it was well mastered. Don't believe them! I love this album, but I really can't listen to this remastered CD. It's harsh, it's so crammed up tight and just nasty. And it has the cheek to blame the old recording techniques for the distortion! Get an older version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steel Kettle Drums on Stones album shock!, 22 May 2010
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
OK then, most of the other reviews have given you, the dear reader, their version of the lowdown on this remastered, much vaunted sprawling epic from the Stones. You now know the "history" of the exile, the nature of Keiths temporary accomodation, the squalid undertones and the sort of hangers on they attracted like flies to roadkill.

Why write another review when everything that really needs to be said has already been discussed elsewhere? Basically it is to outline the sonic improvements that have made themselves apparent over a couple of days listening.

Once again the remastering done by the Marcusson team has managed to eek out extra subtle details that help bring the performance to life. It is like wiping a pane of glass that you thought was clean only to find that it is now really clean. The brass sounds, well, brassier. The acoustic guitar sounds zingier and more like a real acoustic guitar and so on. My ears say its OK if there is compression issues that can be seen on a computer screen if sounds this good.

The biggest surprise to these ears was the steel kettle drums mirroring the guitar buried hard to left that starts 57 seconds before the end of the majestic Loving Cup. I have had this album in various formats for three decades and it is an absolute delight to still find new sounds and textures therein.

The music and sound quality of this version is so good that I am willing to overlook the(once again!!! Tut, tut, tut, Universal. Sack your art crowd as they are a very weak link) less than deluxe quality of this deluxe edition. Tiny writing in a bland and unengaging fashion, unlike the hand scrawled originals. The Virgin Collectors version did it much better. This level of packaging design would give me grave concerns if I was going to fork out the ton for the mega issue.

The bonus tracks sit well as a separate cd and generally have a feel similar to the original album. Thanks for not tacking them onto the same disc as the main album! I had heard Mick and Keef had gone in and tweaked vocals and guitar lines on a couple of them. I was concerned that this would be a grating excercise and a pointless tampering with songs that surfaced on boot over the years. However this has been done so well that it is not sticking out like a sore thumb. Following the River is the exception IMHO, it is a bit overwrought and does nothing for me whatsoever. Look for Lisa Fischer and Cindy Mizelle in the song credits and you are there. It is, again, a pleasure to be served up some early 70's sounding Stones stuff. These bonus tracks are worth the extra couple of quid, easily.

In summary, it sounds better than ever before and is an essential purchase for anyone who likes the Stones and does not already own it. It is very highly recommended to anyone who already has it in any previous version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exile Review, 20 May 2010
By 
Jay (West Mids) - See all my reviews
Well, this is it: everything American music was unknowingly building towards for 25 years. All those electric bluesmen, soul singers, country warblers, every American sound from Chuck Berry to Hank Williams to Otis Redding, every American sound that was thrown together and gave us Rock N' Roll, well this record is it's culmination; if you want pure, unadulterated Rock N' Roll, it's ultimate listening experience.
There's nothing groundbreaking here, nothing new, nothing wholly original and it may just wash over the first time listener in a muddy, indefinable hodge-podge of sound. The song titles may seem clichéd, the riffs could take a while to reach your ears and it may sound like you've heard it all before, but, over time, it begins to sound like no other record, yet simultaneously and brilliantly sounding like everything that came before it.
`Exile...' is the loosest, most seemingly thrown together record you'll ever hear and as close a studio album can come to actually sounding live. It's also one of the most meticulously made records you'll probably hear. Every muddied chorus, blast of brass, half heard backing vocal and random conga was put together painstakingly by the Stones during multiple takes. No studio record can sound this natural unless you know exactly what you are doing and it's that exactitude that creates such sounding `spontaneity'.
`Exile On Main Street' is an album in which you can immerse yourself and like any good book or film inhabits it's own world. Ultimately this is not just a collection of good songs but an experience. Surely that's what all great albums should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only my opinion...., 20 Jun. 2010
By 
Bernard J. Ryan "BJR" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No one likes the Stones more than I do, and I love some of the tracks on this album, - Shine a Light, etc, - but for some reason I have never thought of this album as their VERY best. I even think Goats Head Soup to be very underrated.
I actually think Sticky Fingers to have better songs on it, and think of it as the finer album.
Just my own personal opinion, that's all. But am I the only person in the world to actually think this?
I often think so. So be it, we must be able to have our own opinion, not just follow popular opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this; go for an old version, The remastering is nasty, 26 Nov. 2014
I have bought the vinyl release in the hope that it would sound less harsh & thin than the CD.
But it isn't. Best avoided unlike you enjoy having your ears torn off by the harshness of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd rather like to see his face as well, 19 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Stones, eh!? What can you say about them that hasn't already been said, partic. in terms of a truly supersonic album like '...Main Street' as 'aficionados' no doubt call it, so well known, so celebrated, are so many of the tracks, so engrained in rock n roll infamy is the recording thereof in exile in France. Well, here are a few lesser known 'facts' -
1. The 'Main Street' in question is in Rawtenstall, Lancs.
2. 'Tumblin' Dice' was originally titled 'Mumblin' Lice' after a 'dose' of French 'crabs' which Mick contracted at a local house of ill-repute, and which Keith swore up and down he'd heard talking about him during a late night 'session'.
3. Bill 'Perks' Wyman had a consignment of Branston Pickle smuggled into the country inside a large bag of Keith's heroin.
4. Richard Stillgoe played Hammond organ on 'Happy,' not Jimmy Miller.
5. Jean-Paul Sartre and Samuel Beckett sang backing vocals on 'Shine a Light'.

So stick that up your pipe and smoke it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now i get what all the fuss is about....Sublime!!, 15 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exile On Main Street (Deluxe Edition)Exile On Main Street (2010 Re-Mastered)

Until now my Stones output has consisted of " Hot Rocks", " Rewind" & " Flashpoint". I tried getting into them with " Voodoo Lounge" when it first came out, which in hindsight was probably the wrong place to start, hence for many years i've avoided the Stones studio albums like the plague.

My mate was giving this away as he upgraded to the all singing & dancing new re-issue. It arrived this morning and it's now on it's 5th play!!.

The horns and total sleaziness of " Rocks Off" are worth the price of ten box sets alone!!. " Happy", " Shine a Light", " Casino Boogie", " Loving Cup" & " Let it Loose" are excellent. This is one of those very rare albums that glide effortlessly from start to finish. It would be very rude to switch it off mid flow.

Dirty, sleazy, direct classic rock from a band who were obviously loving making every second of it.

Sublime!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exile on Main St (Blu-Ray Audio)
Exile on Main St (Blu-Ray Audio) by The Rolling Stones (DVD Audio - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews