Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing-
SUPER 60s SOUL is a three Cd box set containing some great tracks.
These sets really are a steal at this price.

The simple reason that these sets are as cheap as chips is that the tracks are public domain.

That means the rights to the music has gone and any old Dick or Harry can release them.

The bad news for the previous rights...
Published 10 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting collection 60's soul
Good sound quality of interesting versions of soul classics + some hard to find orrigionals.Worth going through as you may find something that appeals to you.
Published 7 months ago by Dee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing-, 15 Sep 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Super 60s Soul (Audio CD)
SUPER 60s SOUL is a three Cd box set containing some great tracks.
These sets really are a steal at this price.

The simple reason that these sets are as cheap as chips is that the tracks are public domain.

That means the rights to the music has gone and any old Dick or Harry can release them.

The bad news for the previous rights holders means good news for us, the buyers for if the price is too high we will not buy.
So the sets are at a more than reasonable price.
Next year the law changes to fall in line with the Americans and the 50 year rule will be finished.

Now these sets really are a mixed bag.

Some tracks and artists you will know- others not.

But that is the real joy- you just might discover some tracks you have never heard and enjoy if not then the FF feature is just for you.

However if you are like me and of a certain age you want to read which artists and tracks are featured but Amazon have scrunched up all the tracks making it hard to read so I've spaced them out so you can read them more easily.

This revised list should help?

CD1

1. You've Really Got A Hold On Me - The Miracles

2. Shop Around - Mary Wells

3. I Want A Guy - The Marvelettes

4. Do You Love Me - The Contours

5. Your Heart Belongs To Me - The Supremes

6. (I'm Afraid) The Masquerade Is Over - Marvin Gaye

7. Ain't That Love - Stevie Wonder

8. Don't Feel Sorry For Me - Jimmy Ruffin

9. Camel Walk - Saundra Mallet & The Vandellas

10. It Moves Me - Eddie Holland

11. Whirlwind - Barrett Strong

12. My Baby Won't Come Back - Martha & The Vandellas

13. This Is Our Night - The Creations

14. But I'm Afraid - Debbie Dean

15. Come To Me - Marv Johnson

16. Money (That's What I Want) - The Miracles

17. Your Baby's Back - The Downbeats

18. The Day Will Come - Freddie Gorman

19. Same Thing - Gino Parks

20. I'll Never Break Your Heart (Pt. 1) - Joe Tex

21. Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide - Marvin Gaye

22. I've Got A Notion - Mary Wells

23. Motor City - The Satintones

24. Romance Without Finance - The Temptations

25. Congo (Pt. 1) - The Twistin' Kings

CD2

1. Fingertips - Stevie Wonder

2. Never Again - The Supremes

3. Never Let You Go - Marvin Gaye

4. You've Got What It Takes - Barrett Strong

5. I Don't Want To Take A Chance - Mary Wells

6. All The Love I've Got - The Marvelettes

7. Mind Over Matter (I'm Gonna Make You Mine) - The Pirates

8. Check Yourself - The Temptations

9. Solid Sender - Chico Leverett

10. Cause I Love You - The Miracles

11. Whole Lotta Woman - The Contours

12. I'm In Love - David Ruffin

13. Please Mr. Postman - The Marvelettes

14. Jamie - Eddie Holland

15. Don't Let Him Shop Around - Debbie Dean

16. Whisper - Marv Johnson

17. Someday We'll Be Together - Johnny & Jackey

18. Shimmy Gully - Popcorn & The Mohawks

19. I Love the Way You Love - Mary Wells

20. Ain't It Baby - The Miracles

21. Stubborn Kind Of Fellow - Marvin Gaye

22. Yes No, Maybe So - Barrett Strong

23. Going To The Hop - The Satintones

24. That Child Is Really Wild - Singin' Sammy Ward

25. It's Been A Long Time - The Five Quails

CD3

1. Shop Around - The Miracles

2. I'm Yours, You're Mine - Marvin Gaye

3. Congo (Pt. 2) - The Twistin' Kings

4. The Stretch - The Contours

5. Trouble Lover - The Charters

6. You Knows What To Do - Barrett Strong

7. Bye Bye Baby - Mary Wells

8. Take A Chance On Me - Eddie Holland

9. Dearest One - Lamont Dozier

10. A New Girl - Debbie Dean

11. Soul Bongo - Stevie Wonder

12. You'll Never Cherish a Love So True ('Till You Lose It) - The Vells

13. Who Wouldn't Love A Man Like That - Mable John

14. Hello There Angel - Marvin Gaye

15. (He's) Seventeen - The Supremes

16. It - Ron & Bill

17. Way Over There - The Marvelettes

18. Bad Girl - The Miracles

19. Tomorrow And Always - The Satintones

20. Come To Me - Mary Wells

21. Misery - Barrett Strong

22. Oh, Mother Of Mine - The Temptations

23. Lover - Sherri Taylor & Singin' Sammy Ward

24. There He Is (At My Door) - The Vells

25. I'll Be Here - Shorty Long

26. Hornsea Hop- Stevie D'Or and The Dockers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Super 60's soul As reviewed by StefC c/o Leek soul Club, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super 60s Soul (Audio CD)
A great service by seller.The Cd is value for money how do they do it?. Album consists of all Motowns Early stuff. At least its a change from the run of the mill motown CDs and hopefully might get people to play some different sounds.I would definitely recommend for the money and quantity of tracks.BARGAIN .Reviewed by StefC c/o Leek Soul Club the home of quality soul since 1993
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super 60s Soul (Audio CD)
another good collection of soul ,for those who have not got these releases on vinyl this is a good opportunity to have then all on three cd's so for that reason comes highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting collection 60's soul, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super 60s Soul (Audio CD)
Good sound quality of interesting versions of soul classics + some hard to find orrigionals.Worth going through as you may find something that appeals to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting alternate takes, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super 60s Soul (Audio CD)
This set contains a lot of classic tracks that most fans of sixties soul will already have. But there are some interesting versions here as well like Shop Around by Mary Wells which I'd never heard before. Also You've Got What It Takes by Barrett Strong. I'd only heard the Marv Johnson version (neither of these versions is mentioned in the Wikipedia article about the song).
It also contains one of those 'response' songs - Don't Let Him Shop Around by Debbie Dean - which were quite popular in those days, although personally I think they were just a cheap way to try and get a hit record. (See also Duchess Of Earl by Bobbie Smith and The Dream Girls on the He's A Rebel: Girl Groups of the 60s CD set).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super 60s Soul, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super 60s Soul (Audio CD)
These songs from the 60s are fantastic i am very glad i bought them to add to my collection they join the vast amount i qwn fully recomended to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 60's Soul CD, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super 60s Soul (Audio CD)
Very very disappointing. Out of the 3 CD's I knew 3 songs. Most of the songs all sounded very much alike. Would not recommend it at all. I have played all cd's once but will not be playing them again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Super 60s Soul
Super 60s Soul by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews