Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent; but 'Ultra Mini?
An excellent product, both from a Construction and a Practical point of view:

Very Sturdy, with a very solid and well fitted, 20cm (to end of USB plug) cable with no fear of it coming of the main body, unlike some other such units. I suppose it would have been easier to pack and carry if the cable was detachable, but this is a small point about...
Published 9 months ago by Buyron

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cable Matters USB3 hub with 4 usb ports
Sadly, very disappointed! Bought this for use with My HP laptop.

However, when I plugged it in to my laptop, my laptop immediately closed down!

I next connected it to my Desktop (Windows 8.1 64 bit); and immediately, a dialogue box opened up, with the following message!

Quote! Unknown USB Device needs more power than the port can supply...
Published 13 months ago by Theo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent; but 'Ultra Mini?, 1 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cable Matters 4-Port SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Mini "Quad" Hub in Black (Personal Computers)
An excellent product, both from a Construction and a Practical point of view:

Very Sturdy, with a very solid and well fitted, 20cm (to end of USB plug) cable with no fear of it coming of the main body, unlike some other such units. I suppose it would have been easier to pack and carry if the cable was detachable, but this is a small point about convenience.

The 4 USB Ports work very well and feel solid enough. A USB-3 Hub boasts greater Speed and this unit is also backwards compatible, which makes it very versetile and the only such 4 Port unit you may need.

It is to Cable Matters' credit that proper specifications are provided on Amazon and the unit comes in its own box and not in just bubblewrap like some cheaper similar products.

The only gripe is that the specifications should have included a Physical Description, mentioning the Cable Length and the Dimensions of the unit. I, for one, was very influenced by the term 'Ultra Mini' when I decided to buy it for portability and expected it to be as compact as the Akasa AK-HB-078K which is only 4 x 4.5 x 1 cm and is also a 4-Port but only a USB 2 and its attached 10cm Cable is very thin and flimsy. The Cable Matters Hub, though, is 7.1 x 7.1 x 1.2 cm, which makes it x 2.5 times the bulk of the Akasa. I would, therefore, not consider the Cable Matters Hub to be classed as 'Ultra Mini', but at best Compact, Flat and Practical.

So, one star deducted for the misleading description, mainly, and for the slightly inconvenient, though well fitted, fixed cable. Otherwise it is an excellent product and strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great idea slightly mis designed in practice, 12 Feb 2014
By 
P. L. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this for my dell laptop which had a very good spec but not too many USB 3.0 ports , this works a dream and allows fast transfer of data , I have a 2.5" hard drive and also a Gigabit Ethernet converter running on it usually (they only put a 10/100 port on a high spec laptop ) . The only downside is that the USB part that goes into laptop is quite long (50mm) and can easily get knocked so causing anything plugged into other end to be recognised again and again , try using it where it cannot get knocked .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USB3 hub with 4 usb ports, 28 Sep 2013
By 
Scottie (East Lothian, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having just bought a MacBook Pro which has USB3 to replace a Macbook I decided to get a USB3 hub to take full advantage of the technology. I bought this one on Amazon after looking at a few. It arrived very promptly, very well packed, both in the Amazon box and its own box. It isn't Mac or PC specific so it was literally a case of plugging in in and attaching my wired mouse. It worked perfectly and I have no reason to think it won't continue to do so. It is very well made and I can recommend it without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars USB 3.0 Hub 4x, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cable Matters 4-Port SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Mini "Quad" Hub in Black (Personal Computers)
Nicely designed hub with 4 port outlets at a very reasonable price, works well.
Arrived on the date stated, nothing more can be said about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and useful, 15 Dec 2013
This simple device worked immediately without any problem. Just plugged it into my MacBook and used it straight away. Just what I needed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great well made product, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product. It is attached to my UltraBook all the time to give me 4 USB3 ports as I have only USb3 devices now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little hub, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super little USB3 port Hub, Works fast and has a nice blue led indicating its on. I would have given 5 stars, but the cable supplied is a little on the short size, perhaps double would be better. Overall though a great little hub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does everything it should !, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't get exited about a USB hub. but this arrived very promptly, is reasonably compact and works exactly as it should. What more can you ask?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Serves intended purpose, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Using this with a macbook to expand number of ports. Have had lots of things plugged into it, mouse, keyboard, wireless mouse receiver, usb3 flash drive etc and all have worked good. Occasionally the slot feels a bit clunky to put in or remove but not enough to be a big issue. Generally I'm really happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward device that just works, 4 Oct 2013
By 
Gerry Copland (Tynemouth, Tyne & Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a simple device for my new USB 3 Ultrabook and it does exactly what it is designed to do.
It also doubles as a rear edge prop to lift the keyboard up to a comfortable typing angle.
Good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews