Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


755 of 769 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unquestionable brilliance
I have never in my life seen anything like this series. I had thought that the Blue Planet, also by the BBC, was the pinnacle of achievement of wildlife television. The deep sea episode had left me breathless, but that proved nothing compared to Planet Earth. The effort that went into this series is obvious. Only at the end of each show when we spend time with each of the...
Published on 23 Jun. 2006 by Rumpole of the Finchley

versus
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking one moment, disappointing the next
I bought this as one of my first Blu-Ray purchases, hoping to sample the best HD can offer.
And in places this set truly does soar, offering jaw-dropping imagery of our extraordinary planet in jaw-dropping HD. But the next moment this beauty is soured by grainy flickering or strange noise in the darker areas of the image. Just as I begin to suspect it's the TV or the...
Published on 12 April 2010 by Mr. M. Dale


Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Beyond Belief - I Feel Privileged To Have Seen This, 1 Feb. 2007
I received this box set of DVDs for Christmas, and I cannot emphasise enough the hours of enjoyment, wonder, and information they have given me. The team involved in making this epic work of beauty are deserving of anyone's very highest praise, and if they were not awarded for their efforts, then something very wrong occurred.

It covers a whopping ten hours and five discs of some of the most beautiful footage of nature I have ever had the privilege to see. Each disc covers various different natural environments, exploring the habitats and behaviour of the various animals who live in them. We are taken from the dazzling crystals of subterranean environments to the dancing rituals of birds of paradise, each camera shot dazzling even more than the last. Just about every kind of natural environment on earth is included within the five discs, from Deserts to Plains, to Deep Oceans, and everything in between. To top all of that, there is also a ten minute mini-programme at the end of each individual programme explaining how the Planet Earth team went about getting their footage.

At which point it becomes even more mind-boggling. One cameraman camped out in the Himalayas for about three months just to get a few minutes footage of a beautiful snow leopard, another cameraman spends days waiting for the courting of two birds of paradise. These people either have incredible reverence for nature, or they must love their jobs a great deal. The camerawork is perfection, and the things they are filming are stunning. I envy the wonderment and excitement of their jobs, and the pleasure they must feel at seeing the end product.

The musical score is also fantastic, suitably beautiful for a work of such magnitude, and David Attenborough's narration is always a pleasure to listen to. He is one of Britain's most inspiring individuals, a man whose respect for nature has never diminished once in decades, who has devoted an entire lifetime to informing people about nature and encouraging people everywhere to respect the natural world. His commentary is in turns insightful, informative and amusing.

Some of the locations are incredibly dangerous, some are very inaccessible, some are just plain beautiful, but all are given the same painstaking attention to detail and complete reverence. These are landscapes and wildernesses which the majority of us could only dream of seeing, and now, thanks to the Planet Earth team, we can explore them from the comfort of our own living rooms. I fervently wished that these DVDs never had to end. Who cares for a social life when you can switch on your television and see some of the most spectacular sights in the world, night after night?

The animals themselves are the true stars of the box set, however, each and every last one of them piquing my interest and impressing me with their individuality. Each and every one of them has their own struggle and difficulties to overcome, usually put in their paths by human interference. The predators of this series must be respected for their strength and agility, the prey must be admired for their fight for survival. Each and every other species has something admirable about them and every living organism included in these documentaries has their own purpose, their own reason for existence, and their own relevance within the fragile ecosystem of our planet. These DVDs have increased my respect for nature a thousand fold. They should be compulsory viewing for children, so that they too have a reverence for nature.

Nevertheless, reality must always hit home at some point, and the final disc of this set concentrates on the urgent need for conservation and ecology. These last three programmes are vital, concentrating on interviews with people who have very definite ideas about how the human threat to nature must be addressed. These range from the insightful, from an African Professor who criticises Western materialism, to the not-so-insightful, from a rather silly American suit who attempts to downplay the threat of climate change. The naysayers will have to learn the hard way - unfortunately, they might just ruin things for the compassionate people in the process. These money-worshipping idiots could never have the intelligence or sensitivity to appreciate the enormous beauty of 'Planet Earth'.

My final assessment of these DVDs is that the BBC deserve huge praise for their documentary-making abilities, David Attenborough is still one of the very greatest figures in broadcasting, and I shall now be seeking out all of his other work, since the beauty of nature is far more profound and dazzling than anything humans could EVER create.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning, 27 Dec. 2006
By 
Ashley "Ashley" (Bishop's Stortford) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Planet Earth is quite simply an amazing visual/audio experience. The camera work is out of this world - and combined with the grandeur of the music/sound track and informative voice over from David Attenbrough, you have in a 5 DVD box set a masterpiece on an epic scale. If you think you've seen it all before, think again. How will the BBC better this? I can't wait to see. A must have DVD for lovers of nature and all things wild!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb and unique viewing of planet earth, 28 Dec. 2006
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
Planet Earth (BBC TV Series) provides superb and unique viewing for all to witness the most spectuclar and wonderful attractions of what planet earth boosts. The human kingdom should be really proud of the natural environment. The attractions range from rivers,forests, oceans, jungles, deserts, natural habitats of animals and mountains in this fasciniating five disc set. The attractions are breathtaking and footage that is really out of this world. It feels though you are really their, like climbing the highest peak. The BBC managed travel around various locations to provide exclusive and unique footage which surely presents a challenging and enduring task to achieve. It is worth waiting for.

Planet Earth comprises five discs of comprehensive footage of the planet earth. The DVD set is great value for money. If you love and demonstrate a genuine passion for the natural environment of the earth, then this is the DVD set you must purchase. I am really impressed by this DVD set and something I am really proud to treasure as part of my DVD collection. The quality of pictures is first class and the commentary provided is comprehensive, informative and well delivered by one of the world leading and veteran naturalist (David Attenborough). Plant Earth is simply superb and unique viewing of what the planet earth is really like and you will not get anything better that will surpass this DVD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good, I bought it., 18 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After watching the first of this series, my husband and I knew we could watch it again and again. So, rather than renting the rest, we've purchased the whole set.

Not only is it fabulous, but it's also very reasonably priced; there's a tremendous amount of footage on the disc. Also interesting, is the "how they were filmed" sequences.

One reviewer stated that there's a certain dumbing-down in the series, basically because it doesn't give in-depth information. On this, I must concur, and anyone looking for that sort of thing might be disappointed. Then again, I'm usually that person, but the quality and sheer exhilaration made up for the lack of depth of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars words aren't enough, 10 July 2006
By 
Mr. M. R. Kalhoro "mk8ct" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As has been said by everybody who has reveiwed anything by the awesome Sir David Attenborough, he is without doubt the greatest presenter/narrator of nature documentaries and the beeb are the greatest producers of nature docs.

The amount of money that has gone into the legendary Natural History Unit is money well spent as it has opened up our eyes to the glorious natural splendour that out planet has to offer.....if only we would keep it that way!!

Now the team that has brought us 'The life of.....' series, 'The Blue Planet' and 'Wildlife on.....' come up with a masterpiece. The videography is out of this world, which means we have to thank those who sat there for ages to bring us these pictures! One of the many highlights, being the reclusive snow leopard running down a sheer gorge to catch its prey.

You have to wonder, how much of this splendour will be left of in 50 or 100 years or so, unfortunately Sir Dave will be gone, in his place will be left his legacy, an entire natural dvd collection that will show future generations what the Earth was like from 1970's through to 2000's, how much it changed and how we messed it up. The truth hurts!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational viewing from an inspirational man......., 27 Nov. 2007
As I sat watching polar bear cubs sliding down the snow drifts outside their den, crying with laughter, I realised what an incredible piece of film this is. This is some of the best nature footage I have ever seen. David Attenborough just delivers so much everytime.

You will not regret buying this DVD....a must-have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaw-dropping, 2 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watching this release on a Full HD set is, for lack of a better word, astonishing. I watched this series with my jaw open, and at times was actually moved to tears by the stunning beauty of the images of our planet on show here. This is what I invested in Blu ray for, and time and time again, hi def proves not be a marketing gimmick but a genuine next-step experience in home entertainment; the amount of pin-point detail, dimensionality and scale takes you into the images, so that you feel as if you are there, and in this regard Blu ray is involving in a way DVD cannot match. The wonderful thing about Planet Earth on Blu ray is that the stunning image actually makes clear the filmmakers intentions-not necessarily to give an in-depth education, but to remind us of the beauty and awe inherent to our troubled planet, and the vast open vistas, mountains, plains on show here are enough to make anyone remember why our planet is so very special and worth saving. If that isn't reason enough to invest in this set, I don't know what is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great footage, 23 Mar. 2007
By 
This series has some outstanding photography and is well narrated by David Attenborough.
After the first episode (which seems to be a summary of the entire series) I thought it had great footage, but thought it was just good. The second one I thought was better and by the third could'nt wait to watch the next episode. Each episode covers a habitat of Earth, from Deserts to Jungles. The last disk is devoted to the threats facing wildlife and what could be done to save it.
From swimming snakes to Snow leopards, this series has breathtaking photography, and is a stark reminder at the threats that we are making upon our planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New transfer is gorgeous!, 19 Mar. 2011
The new transfer is gorgeous! Just make sure you get is the new batch release as old batch is facing some technical issue on Disc 2 and Disc 3 where over expose in white snow area.

If you getting the old batch, try getting a replacement from Amazon UK or 2Entertain. I am still waiting my replacement, hope it is a correct version that fixing those few mins over expose issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Benchmark by which all other nature documentaries will be measured, 1 April 2011
By 
There are plenty of other reviews for you to get the gist of this series, so I won't add my 10 pence worth (except to say that if you like nature documentaries, great camera work, beautiful scenery, accompanied by just the right level of information for this type of series, then I can almost guarantee that this series will be truly satisfying, and in all likelihood become the benchmark by which you measure all other nature documentaries, or even all documentaries of every genre - it's pretty much fantastic!).

As usual with the 'human condition' there are dissenters, which is a good thing in general as it helps drive healthy debate, but from reading some of the negative posts on this website, I suspect that they are dissenting for the sake of dissenting (and appearing intellectual and/or non-conformative), pedancy, or for assuming that the series misses it's own objectives and the 'point' it's trying to make in some way. (I personally don't think the series has an agenda beyond presenting the world with probably the greatest all-round nature programme to have been made!).

Some of the negative points posted are to the effect that;

- The series exposes the viewer to too much death, violence between animals etc.

Well, isn't that what nature is largely about - survival!? (as well as reproduction and co-habitation which are equally as well covered). I suspect that the people who make these points are a bit squeamish and don't want to witness death (especially of 'cute' animals) in the comfort of their own homes. Some reviewer even put forward the ridiculously weak analogy on the series supposedly overdoing the violence aspect that 'if aliens made a documentary about humans, then we'd be unhappy that they only focused on killing and not art and study'. Humans have advanced far beyond the 'hunter-gatherer' status which was widespread tens of thousands of years ago, and if aliens made a documentary back then which happened to include humans, then i think it would have focused largely on the way in which we hunt, co-habitate and reproduce. A series devoted solely to humans would of course look more in depth at our primitive technologies, ability to communicate, social aspects etc....but this series has a much broader spectrum to cover - many of the species on the planet today!, so it's fairly obvious that it should focus on the primary functions of the world's non-human animals - that of hunting, co-habitating and reproduction!

- The series lacks in-depth information. What kind of information where they hoping to gain!? Should the series have gone into the embryology,molecular biology, genetic coding, evolution and ancestry, DNA structure of each individual species!? - it would take far too long, or would limit the series to about 10 different species!...or should the series have gone into ocean currents, plate tectonic movement amongst other things, in order to explain why animals inhabit the places they do!? - of course not!.

This is a nature series, not material for a biology or geology or anything else degree. It's purpose (as with almost all nature programmes) is partly to inform and partly to entertain and inspire - and for me, this series gets the balance just about spot on!

- Humans are not included and not enough info is given to help combat climate change.

I'm not sure it ever claimed to fulfil either wish. The very essence of a nature programme is about humans observing nature, certainly not observing ourselves - that would be called an 'anthropology programme' - humans are far too complex in societal nature (plus there are far too many sub-divisions of the human nature for this series to touch on - science, art, religion, politics, war...ad nauseum) to be included in a nature programme - a brief mention of how we effect nature might be justified, but things like climate change are still very much controversial, and if the series took a side on the issue, then people would have complained that the series had some sort of political agenda - which would undermine the entire series to quite a large extent!.

The claim that 'not enough info is given to combat climate change' is a truism as, again, quite simply because this is not a series on climate change, and climate change is complex and controversial, so a series devoted to climate change would be necessary, and this series should be applauded for not pushing any political agenda down the viewer's throat.

In short, by all means listen to what the people who gave the series negative views have to say. But any reasonably intelligent person who watches this absolute triumph of a piece of film making, should be able to make their own decisions, and, I think, will see it for what it is - a fantastic introduction to nature and the many of the Earth's current inhabitants!

Good luck,

Cm :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews