Customer Reviews


240 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, but not as good as Now 83
This album is decent but i will explain in this review exactly why it maybe doesn't quite deserve to get five stars.

Firstly just like Now 83 there are handfuls on songs missing:-

Adele - Skyfall - Missed out on a place in the Now 83 tracklist and i was half expectinbg to make this album instead, but it wasn't to be. However i'm not really a fan of...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. R. Atkinson

versus
72 of 93 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!
No 'Mirrors', no 'Thrift Shop', no 'Harlem Shake', no 'Stay', no 'Skyfall', no 'Suit & Tie' and no 'When I Was Your Man'! Instead, you get several tracks that had already peaked before Now 83 was released; e.g. 'Latch' and 'Diamonds', the latter of which is already available on at least half a dozen compilations. There are a few pre-Christmas minor hits that are hardly...
Published 17 months ago by Customer Feedback


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, but not as good as Now 83, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is decent but i will explain in this review exactly why it maybe doesn't quite deserve to get five stars.

Firstly just like Now 83 there are handfuls on songs missing:-

Adele - Skyfall - Missed out on a place in the Now 83 tracklist and i was half expectinbg to make this album instead, but it wasn't to be. However i'm not really a fan of her music and particuarly this song, so i'm not too fussed.

Rihanna feat. Mikky Ekko - Stay - Her previous single 'Diamonds' is on here so i was really expecting a double appearance here, especially the fact that she has double appearances on the last THREE spring Now albums, she actually makes THREE on the spring 2011 album Now 78. So surprised this song wasn't on here, again not really a big fan of Rihanna either, so i'm not too fussed.

Rita Ora - Shine Ya Light - peaked 8 places higher than 'Radioactive' but left the charts months ago not long after Now 83 was released so they've decided to go with the newer song.

One Direction - Kiss You - Triple appearances would be a big ask for 1D as they already have 2 songs on this album but why did it have to be this song that missed out? It is far better than both the songs already on this album, the fact that it probably didn't get to number 1 is probably why. I very much doubt it will appear on Now 85 as the song will be very old by then.

Lawson - Learn to Love Again - I was really surprised they included the very dated 'Standing in the Dark' which peaked at #6 back in October/November time, again this song peaked a fair bit lower at #13, so they obviously decided to choose the high charter over the newer song.

Ed Sheeran - Give Me Love - Was expecting this song to make it as all his previous hits (apart from Drunk) have been on Now albums but it wasn't to be, it only peaked at #18 on the UK singles chart but that's still higher then 'Small Bump' which peaked even lower at #25 but still got a place on the Now 82 tracklist.

Bruno Mars - When I Was Your Man - An Now 85 appearance may well be on the cards as his previous single 'Locked Out of Heaven' is on here.

The Script - If You Could See Me Now - This song believe it or not, peaked higher than their single 'Breakeven' which was featured in 2009's Now 72, but i'm not fussed at all really as i already have their album and this song isn't really Now material to be honest.

Justin Timberlake feat. Jay Z - Suit and Tie - peaked at #3 on the UK Singles Chart but somehow didn't make it.

Justin Timberlake - Mirrors - speant three weeks at number 1 earlier this month but is somehow absent, may be featured in Now 85 instead.

Macklemore feat. Ryan Lewis & Wanz - Thrift Shop - Really thought this song was going to be on here as it reached No. 1 back in February, a Now 85 appearance is still possible as DJ Fresh's 'Hot Right Now' reached No. 1 last February and was absent on Now 81 so appeared in Now 82 instead.

Baauer - Harlem Shake - This song is cringeworthingly awful and i'm glad it didn't make it. I hope it isn't on Now 85.

Then there's the very dated songs that really should have been on Now 83

Rihanna - Diamonds
Girls Aloud - Something New
Lawson - Stranding in the Dark

The following list of songs are also a good few months old

James Arthur - Impossible
Olly Murs feat. Flo Rida - Troublemaker
Bruno Mars - Locked Out of Heaven
Ke$ha - Die Young
Little Mix - DNA
Dislosure feat. Sam Smith - Latch
Rudimental feat. John Newman & Alex Clare - Not Giving In
One Direction - Little Things

All the rest are probably really New or just one or 2 months old. I also feel that the first disc (especially the second half) is a little bit heavy on female artists (not to be sexist or anything) which is just another factor that drags this album down a little.

Then there's the positives

* It has no less tracks than Now 83 and more tracks then the last two spring albums Now 78 and Now 81.

* Every song has peaked within the top 20 of the UK singles chart. Rita Ora's 'Radioactive' charting the lowest at #18.

* It's nice to see a rather unexpected but nice appearance of Fleetwood Mac's 1988 hit, 'Everywhere' on the album, We all have the dancing pony to thank for that :D

* The song that reached number one the day before the album was released was actually on the album, The Saturdays 'What About Us' something all 3 of last years albums failed to do.

That's about all i can say really, It's a decent album and definetly worth getting, and if your'e into the current music scene it's must buy, i'm sure we'll be in for an impressive summer album in Now 85 when it will be released this July. As for Now though give this one a try, it might just be your money's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good mix of songs, 10 Jun 2013
By 
Ms. Rachel R. Cunnew (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is great, and has a very good mix of songs on it. I would highly recommend it if you like your moden pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 93 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!, 25 Mar 2013
No 'Mirrors', no 'Thrift Shop', no 'Harlem Shake', no 'Stay', no 'Skyfall', no 'Suit & Tie' and no 'When I Was Your Man'! Instead, you get several tracks that had already peaked before Now 83 was released; e.g. 'Latch' and 'Diamonds', the latter of which is already available on at least half a dozen compilations. There are a few pre-Christmas minor hits that are hardly 'Now'; e.g. 'Love Is Easy' and 'Not Giving In'. You also get last year's hits from Little Mix and Lawson rather than their more recent releases, which will probably turn up on Now 85 in July. Throw in a few "blink and you'll miss them" two-week wonders from the start of the year, e.g. 'Black Chandelier' and 'Rewind', and a 25-year old track that re-charted as a one-week download fad, and this adds up to one of the weakest and laziest Now albums in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well recieved by the recipient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was bought as a birthday present and my goddaughter said brilliant music so one very happy little bunnie thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good cd, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought it for myself as I have a long way to drive and I really enjoyed listening to the music. The delivery was on time. I do recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boogie nights, 10 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow Now on 84 how did that happen been doing these for years so they must be popular a fab cd to have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I collect Now cd's so bought from Amazon as being a realistic supplier of CDs. will be looking out for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
CD excellent and sounds great, very pleased with the CD. It is Various Artists at their best and very enjoyable. GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 27 Jan 2014
By 
JAF (Dorset, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My kids like it better than me, but even an oldie like me really likes most of the songs although I can't get into rap yet....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now That's What I Call Music! 84
Buy MP3 Album12.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews