Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Vae Victis"
The story that runs through issues #14-16 of the New 52 Aquaman and issues #15-17 of the Justice League is collected, along with Aquaman issue #0, as Aquaman Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis HC (The New 52). This `new' Aquaman series is my favourite of the New 52, the scripting is superb, and the artwork is spectacular - it is like watching a blockbuster film, but with an...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. Mice Guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like a Transformers movie
I get it now - Geoff Johns is the comic book Michael Bay! Do you like massive, loud action scenes strung together with a nonsensical "story"? Look no further than Throne of Atlantis, this summer's blockbuster (s)hit!

Ok, this whole review is going to look into why Throne of Atlantis is one big DUUUUUH so it's going to be packed with spoilers - if you...
Published 9 months ago by Sam Quixote


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Vae Victis", 31 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The story that runs through issues #14-16 of the New 52 Aquaman and issues #15-17 of the Justice League is collected, along with Aquaman issue #0, as Aquaman Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis HC (The New 52). This `new' Aquaman series is my favourite of the New 52, the scripting is superb, and the artwork is spectacular - it is like watching a blockbuster film, but with an even higher definition picture and far superior story - thin of the recent Man of Steel film, but with water and better characterisation. The author skilfully reveals more and more about Aquaman and Mera's past while actually hiding more and more of it. We now have a clearer picture of Aquaman's life (and origin) from before he became king of Atlantis, also his life after he gave up the throne, as well as an explanation as to why he's been having trouble with Atlanteans whenever he's run into them since. The period when he was king is still unrevealed, as is Mera's story.

THE SPOILER ZONE
Issue #0 tells of Aquaman's search for his people following his father's death, along with some flashbacks to his childhood, and his eventual meeting with Vulko, who led him home to claim his throne.

The main story involves a plot to start a war between Atlantis and the United States of America, when someone causes American missiles to be fired at Atlantis. Aquaman's brother, the current king, leads an attack on the US eastern seaboard, and comes face to face with Aquaman and then the Justice League. The creatures from the Trench are also called in to play, but as the story progresses, we become less sure who is responsible for what action and just who is controlling what. During the course of the story we also get more information on Aquaman's past and his relationship with his brother, which was surprisingly amicable until the invasion.

I have to say that I think that the Ocean Master was harshly treated at the end, and that the US had no legal right to treat him as a criminal, considering that they fired first. However, that appears to be how the US sees the world nowadays - "Vae Victis".

See also - Justice League Volume 3: Throne of Atlantis HC (The New 52)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like a Transformers movie, 18 April 2014
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I get it now - Geoff Johns is the comic book Michael Bay! Do you like massive, loud action scenes strung together with a nonsensical "story"? Look no further than Throne of Atlantis, this summer's blockbuster (s)hit!

Ok, this whole review is going to look into why Throne of Atlantis is one big DUUUUUH so it's going to be packed with spoilers - if you haven't read this yet and you're just looking for a yay or nay review, my answer is: if you've enjoyed New 52 Aquaman so far, you'll like this; if not, it won't change your mind. It's Geoff Johns being Geoff Johns and that's something you either like or dislike at this point.

Right, from now on here be spoilers.

Missiles from a military cruiser are fired at Atlantis precipitating an attack from the current King of Atlantis, Orm, who is Arthur's half-brother. In retaliation, the Atlantean army launches a massive tidal wave against the East Coast of America, putting Gotham and Metropolis under water, and follows it up with a land invasion. Will the Justice League be up for the challenge? Sigh... here we go again, Papa Johns.

If you've read your share of superhero comics, you'll know that most superhero fights, big or small, could be avoided with a simple conversation between the two combatants and, usually, this dialogue would then make fighting redundant as the problem is usually a trite misunderstanding. That's what Throne is like, right from the get go. Orm should've spoken to the Justice League about the missile attack who could've spoken to the US Military and Orm would've discovered that the attack was unintentional and that starting a war would be a waste of their resources, not to mention lives. Furthermore, they could combine forces to find the real culprit behind the malicious attack a lot faster. But no, that would mean no big splash pages (pun not intended but very appropriate!) and no "story", flimsy as it is. So to war they go, manipulated easier than puppets!

I'm going to skip ahead to the finale now because the middle is just one long fight scene between the Justice League and the Atlanteans in the unending rain. Orm proves he's a tough dude (because I guess that was important?), the Atlanteans as well, while Hawkman even shows up at one point and DOESN'T wreck the book which is a tiny miracle (though his inclusion is pointless - what's a winged dimwit with a mace going to do against a tidal wave?).

There's some fine art from Ivan Reis (who draws the Justice League issues) and Paul Pelletier (who draws the Aquaman issues - yeah, both titles get splotched together in this book because DC apparently stands for Dumb Crossovers), even though the splash pages are busier than Oxford Street on Christmas week. But the art does look stream-lined and has this modern comics cinematic look to it with wide panels and splash pages, all of which complements the story well.

So: the incredibly stupid finale.

It's revealed that Arthur's exiled advisor, Vulko, is behind all this madness. Who's Vulko? He's an older gentleman who's rocking a ponytail possibly to make up for the lack of hair on top, has a bit of a belly, and spends his free time on the Scandinavian shore untangling fishing lines. He's also nursing a grudge against Atlantis for banishing him and wants to see Arthur as the King of Atlantis because... well, HE thinks that's who should be on the throne, even though no-one else, including Arthur, thinks this way.

So that must mean Atlantis is a disaster right - some kind of dictatorial nightmare for Vulko to go to such drastic lengths to change the leadership? Actually, Atlantis is a very decent place under Orm's rule. It appears prosperous and he's actually quite a progressive leader, taking a strong stance against superstitious nonsense and punishing those who would threaten children. That's how Orm is introduced by the way, as a leader who cares about the safety and well-being of his people and makes a good call by standing up to thug violence. And he's the bad guy!?

Vulko somehow - it's never actually explained how he does this - manages to get a US Navy Cruiser to fire its payload at Atlantis because he thinks, rightly as it turns out, that Atlantis will throw its full force in retaliation to the surface world and cause Arthur to choose to take the throne of Atlantis for himself. Ok... few problems with this.

How did Vulko know Atlantis would succeed in a war against the surface world, who count amongst their number Superman, the most powerful being on the planet, along with Wonder Woman, J'onn J'onzz, and numerous others? It would be more likely that Atlantis would lose this war and the city would be destroyed, so Arthur would never have been king at all as the throne and the people would no longer exist.

Also, whichever side lost, how does he know Aquaman's response to finding out this was all to manipulate him into taking the throne, would be to take the throne? It'd make more sense that he would refuse any claim to the throne forever based off of the bloodshed this war has caused. And, once again, Atlantis is ruled by a good king, Orm, who is reacting to an act of war (a bit too reactively but then Johns isn't writing him with much intelligence) - Aquaman could well say, Orm is the king, he is my brother, I'm in the Justice League, let's all just learn to get along, ok? And next time, let's TALK FIRST before doing anything rash!

Maybe you're thinking, well, clearly Vulko's crazy, that's why his plan doesn't make a lick of sense - you can't rationally explain a madman's ideas. And you'd be right, except that Aquaman validates Vulko's insane plan by accepting the throne of Atlantis and returning to be the king!! His reaction when he finds out that Vulko was behind everything is basically: "You did all of this just to get me back on the throne - do you have any idea HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE DIED?!?! I accept". Wait - what?! So I guess Vulko was right to do what he did? His plan did work. (To be fair, the scene where Aquaman yells "I AM YOUR KING!!!" is really funny so it was kinda worth it)

Meanwhile, Orm, whom I felt more sympathetic towards after re-reading parts of the book, gets locked up on land while Vulko goes to an Atlantean jail - why? Vulko's by far the worse of the two - he should be punished the most by staying on land. Already Arthur's first decision as new king is questionable - it'd be amazing if he turned out to be a worse ruler than Orm!

Everything about the plot of this book makes no sense when you stop and think about it for a moment. It's just a lazy excuse to have a giant fight between the Justice League and the Atlantean army because big, dumb, loud action scenes sell comics. This is why Johns is the comic book Michael Bay - they both choose mindless action over everything else.

Like a Transformers movie, you can appreciate the energy and effort that's gone into making the book look flashy and attractive but look beneath the surface and it's a staggeringly stupid and failed attempt at good storytelling.

(All that, and I didn't even mention how bizarre it was that Orm managed to defeat Superman, Wonder Woman AND Batman in one go!! And there's a Justice League/Throne of Atlantis book? The whole story is right here in this volume! What, they throw in a couple extra Justice League issues and then duplicate this volume for a whole "new" volume? What a ripoff! Cynical, cynical DC.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Directors cut, 27 Sept. 2014
By 
Allan Benzies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After collecting the first two JL graphic novels I had read that the third book continued a story which had been build up in Aquaman series. I therefore bought the first two collections of Aquaman which were fantastic! I then read JL Throne of Atlantis and found it a bit disjointed. I decided to pick up Aquaman Throne of Atlantis even with the understanding that 3 of the 6 issues published inside I already had. However Aquamans TOA was like watching an excellent directors cut. Instead of being disjointed it was like one big story ark.
The Aquaman series has really been terrific (I was never a fan before) and this was a great climax.
I would highly recommend this over JL TOA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Truly Love the New Aquaman, 9 Mar. 2014
By 
Volume 3 collects issues #0, #14-16, along with three issues of Justice League. What that means for me and any other collector/reader of both series is that the only new material in the book is the first two issues #0 and #14; the rest of it is repeat material from The Justice League Vol. 3. Fortunately for me, I am buying the JL volumes and using the library for AQM, otherwise I would have been pretty annoyed at spending money on this heavy duplication published merely weeks apart from each other. Publisher's greed aside, I can't fault the actual book with any of this, so have only lowered my rating to a 4 because of the need for a person to be informed of this and to possibly make the decision which of the two volumes to buy .

#0 & #14 were great additions to the story for me as it explained the whole why of what happens in Justice League Vol. 3. First we go back into Arthur's past at the time when his father dies and we learn his reluctance to ever enter the water until his father gives him his dying wish. In my JL3 review I mentioned "some guy" who pops up and here we get his and Arthur's background with each other, so when he does pop up later we know who he actually is. We also learn the past history of Orm, how he became Aurthur's little brother, what happened to their mother, the feelings between the two brothers and it all sets the stage for the final issues which I talk about in my review of Justice League Vol 3: Throne of Atlantis. I really truly love Aquaman and at this point may just start buying trades. DC could have done better to publish one book instead called something like "Justice League & Aquaman Present Vol. 3: Throne of Atlantis" which would have filled the Vol. 3 spot for both AQM and JL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
no damage so happy with comic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, but don't buy if you've already brought justice league vol 3!, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aquaman Vol. 3: Throne of Atlantis (Aquaman Series) (Kindle Edition)
This is a very good story. I downloaded it along with Justice League volume 3 only to find they were exactly the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aquaman volume 3, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read ' just can not seem to put the novel down until read from start to finish !
if you like Aquaman get all volumes of the new 52 ' top read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good, 13 Feb. 2014
By 
D. Burkmar (hampshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
even better than the last two volumes, honestly the art is fantastic and the story is amazing, love this bok so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aquaman's time to shine, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant Aquaman story with some Justice League gems thrown in as well. Seeing Aquaman getting a crossover like this with the Justice League is something I never thought I'd see. And while he is definitely the hero of this story, other characters have some great moments here as well, particularly Cyborg. The Flash and Green Lantern make no appearance in this story to make room for Aquaman's supporting cast, who jell nicely with the rest of the League. And it must be said, Ocean Master is a fantastic and sympathetic villain, who I look forward to seeing more of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews